TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2012, 12:52 PM   #1
MaBud
Registered User
 
MaBud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mating old with new equip. advice

Looking for best way to mate following equipment. I have audio/video experience but am not that familiar with all the modern technology. Advice Please and Thank You...

Tivo Series 2
Pace RNG110 HD cable box
Seiki SC391TS LCD-HD tv
Sony STR-K740P surround

Anything special or problems that I should know.?? Standard hook-up enough.??
Have componet, s-video, hdmi cables.... Any others needed.????

Thanks for your time...... Mabud---

Last edited by MaBud : 09-07-2012 at 12:57 PM.
MaBud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:03 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
Series 2 is not new tech and you need to connect the cable box to the composite (yellow) and audio (white/red) inputs. You would not get good video quality on a HDTV, but under best recording quality it may not be as bad.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:14 AM   #3
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,044
I would recommend using s-video instead of composite for the connection from the cable box to the TiVo, and from there to the TV. It makes a huge difference on my 55" LG.

My TV didn't come with S-video so I picked up a Toshiba DR430KU DVD recorder and use it to upscale. As long as the power is turned on all of the inputs are live and it outputs 1080p on HDMI to the TV.

In my experience the difference between High and Best isn't really noticeable. YMMV.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:33 AM   #4
MaBud
Registered User
 
MaBud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks for thoughts.......

Here's what I did.....

VIDEO:
HD cbl.box(new) to HD/LCDtv(new)......... hdmi cbl
cbl.box to Tivo(old)...... RCA comp
Tivo to tv......... RCA comp
AUDIO:
RCA.... one from cbl.box..... one from Tivo to Sony(old)

I wanted to use S-video, but cable box only has hdmi & RCA comp. Since video quality would diminish immediatly, I didn't see the point later. I figure I get the best of both worlds this way..... Direct A/V to tv for high quality, and the best I can get from older tivo. It does everything it was designed for. (I've gotten hooked on the 2 tuner thing with 30 min. recording time). So far everything is working great......
MaBud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |