TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2012, 12:24 PM   #1
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 209
Advantages of a Series3?

So I'm thinking of selling my 1 TB upgraded Series3 for an XL4. Are there any advantages or exclusives to the Series3 that I'd be giving up? The only thing that comes to mind is that the S3 is the only model to display the name of the shows recording on the front OLED panel display.
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:34 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
So I'm thinking of selling my 1 TB upgraded Series3 for an XL4. Are there any advantages or exclusives to the Series3 that I'd be giving up? The only thing that comes to mind is that the S3 is the only model to display the name of the shows recording on the front OLED panel display.
There appear to be those of the opinion that the over the air tuners on that model are superior to those on the various Series 4 models.

See if TiVo will sell you a lifetime sub for that S3 for $99 if you buy an S4.

Ask them before you buy, while you have leverage.

If so, that increases the resale value of the S3 more than $100 worth, since if someone can't get the deal they have to pay $400 or $500 for lifetime.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:01 AM   #3
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
See if TiVo will sell you a lifetime sub for that S3 for $99 if you buy an S4.

Ask them before you buy, while you have leverage.
I have lifetime on the Series3. What should I be asking for it?
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:52 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
I have lifetime on the Series3. What should I be asking for it?
That depends on whether you're selling it to me or just to some stranger.


__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:56 PM   #5
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 627
The S3 is hackable. In every other way my Premiere seems to work better.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:02 PM   #6
thomb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
The S3 is hackable...
And that is why I'd rather have an S3. Able to share ALL recorded programs from 1 tivo to another.
thomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 08:44 PM   #7
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
The S3 is hackable.
Which in my estimation is huge. The features potentially enabled by this are myriad and some are extremely important, IMO. Indeed, for me it is an absolute deal breaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
In every other way my Premiere seems to work better.
Not at all. The Premier is inferior in a number of ways. First of all, the search functions, by far among the very most important feature set of the TiVo, have been badly gutted. Even if the Premier were hackable, there are at least two search areas that would also be deal breakers. The Premier does not seem to be as stable. Certainly the one I have suffers from more intermittent issues than the two S3 and one THD I have.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 08:47 PM   #8
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomb View Post
And that is why I'd rather have an S3. Able to share ALL recorded programs from 1 tivo to another.
Or to any device. The ability to archive programs to a server is absolutely essential.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:25 AM   #9
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Which in my estimation is huge. The features potentially enabled by this are myriad and some are extremely important, IMO. Indeed, for me it is an absolute deal breaker.


Not at all. The Premier is inferior in a number of ways. First of all, the search functions, by far among the very most important feature set of the TiVo, have been badly gutted. Even if the Premier were hackable, there are at least two search areas that would also be deal breakers. The Premier does not seem to be as stable. Certainly the one I have suffers from more intermittent issues than the two S3 and one THD I have.
+1
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:52 AM   #10
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
The S3 is hackable. In every other way my Premiere seems to work better.
I have a S3. How is it "hackable"? Is this referring to both pyTivo and streambaby? I use both with my S3 and they work great. A good addition, but maybe there are more that I am not aware of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Or to any device. The ability to archive programs to a server is absolutely essential.
does this "ability to archive programs to a server" basically mean when a S3 is used in conjunction with TiVo desktop software? I know there is also a certified NETGAR NAS device that can archive programs as needed. Or is there another method to archive programs to a server?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:43 AM   #11
Stormspace
Electrocuted by TiVo
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hartsville, SC
Posts: 4,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Or to any device. The ability to archive programs to a server is absolutely essential.
+1
__________________
137hr DTS2
20/180hr HD
166hr DTS2
180hr S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stormspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:40 PM   #12
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I have a S3. How is it "hackable"?
Via a EEPROM mod. One of the hacks allows the encryption key to be disabled, but we can't talk about the methodology here.

Hackability was the main reason why I chose Tivo over every other DVR that was available prior to the S3. It wasn't always my favorite DVR, but the ability to add features you couldn't get elsewhere was what sold me. Unfortunately, the current models have been rendered inert with respect to any hacking attempts from what I gather, making them not at all attractive to me. The S3 was the last model I purchased and I doubt I'll be buying another.

What's ironic is that most of Tivo's better features were born from the hacking community. Tivo just rolled them into their later OS releases with newer models and then blocked any future attempts at hacking. Talk about biting the hand that feeds you.
mr.unnatural is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 10:07 PM   #13
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
What's ironic is that most of Tivo's better features were born from the hacking community.
Like?

The only one I can think of is adding "support" (the special phone # prefix) for the S1 Ethernet adapters. Speaking of that, do you have details about getting ftp support on a s1? I'd like to use that to get some of the ancient shows off my Tivo, instead of just burning them realtime to a DVD. (I have tried googling, but haven't found any of the specific instructions around anymore.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 10:56 PM   #14
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Like?

The only one I can think of is adding "support" (the special phone # prefix) for the S1 Ethernet adapters. Speaking of that, do you have details about getting ftp support on a s1? I'd like to use that to get some of the ancient shows off my Tivo, instead of just burning them realtime to a DVD. (I have tried googling, but haven't found any of the specific instructions around anymore.)
Hacking let people export recordings from S1s.

TiVo Desktop lets me do it with my S2s without having to do any hacking.

Perhaps enough people did that with S1s, without trying to "steal service" from TiVo itself, that they got the idea it would be a good selling point to be able to do it easily with an S2.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 11:02 PM   #15
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
...Speaking of that, do you have details about getting ftp support on a s1? ...
Start here

http://tivo.stevejenkins.com/network_cd.html
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 11:27 AM   #16
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I started there and then installed mfs_ftp on my S1 to get some old shows off. Used mfs_ftp to download the shows as .ty+ format and then tytotivo to convert them.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 12:43 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
There appear to be those of the opinion that the over the air tuners on that model are superior to those on the various Series 4 models.
The XL4 doesn't do OTA so I don't think that will be an issue for the OP.

Another MAJOR advantage to the XL4 compared to the S3 OLED is that it only requires 1 CableCARD to record 4 things. You'd need two S3 units with 4 CableCARDs (and possibly 2 Tuning Adapters) to accomplish the same thing, which would be significantly more expensive in terms of TiVo service fees and CableCARD fees. It's also nice to have all 4 tuners in one box because it limits the amount you have to manage the To Do List to prevent conflicts.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:19 PM   #18
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 209
I decided to keep my S3 afterall. I found the XL4 interface to be slow and hideous, and the only time I would be using all 4 tuners is on Tuesday nights. There are other, legal ways to watch the other shows that I can't Tivo, so I cancelled the Lifetime service on the new unit and shipped the XL4 back. No regrets.

I <3 my Series 3 with its OLED display and sleek black and silver exterior. I'm not giving up my baby ever again, haha.
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:30 PM   #19
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
I decided to keep my S3 afterall. I found the XL4 interface to be slow and hideous, and the only time I would be using all 4 tuners is on Tuesday nights. There are other, legal ways to watch the other shows that I can't Tivo, so I cancelled the Lifetime service on the new unit and shipped the XL4 back. No regrets.

I <3 my Series 3 with its OLED display and sleek black and silver exterior. I'm not giving up my baby ever again, haha.
I think the original S3 would look good in walnut and gold anodized, like an old Fisher stereo from the 50s/60s.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:49 AM   #20
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
It is definitely one of a kind.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:39 AM   #21
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 627
Too late now but you know you can put the new TiVos in the old menu mode, right? My premiere is actually faster than my S3 this way, but I miss animated TiVo Guy when I use it.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |