TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2012, 01:15 AM   #1
mikengrove
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Angry Dreaming of Comast on demand zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Now that Stream has been released, it will be tivos new favorite thing. I have no hope of ever getting Comcast on demand in the Miami area. Going by past promises that we will soon be getting something new, there have been numerous broken promises and the wonderful feature or upgrade. Etc. fades into the past.
PLEASE TiVo, finish the Comcast on demand rollout to all your customers, and stop telling us it's in comcasts hands...May I suggest someone at TiVo call the neccessary people that know the answer at Comcast and send the answer to all tivos via new messages feature on TiVo box.
mikengrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:59 AM   #2
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,376
Uhm, but it is in comcasts hands. It's up to comcast not TiVo.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,149
Agreed.

But, in addition, Comcast did not make a promise to release this functionality nationwide, but only to "many of its largest markets."

I'm not sure what number of "large" markets is "many", but we are all at risk of being outside of that broad description...
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:56 AM   #4
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Agreed.

But, in addition, Comcast did not make a promise to release this functionality nationwide, but only to "many of its largest markets."

I'm not sure what number of "large" markets is "many", but we are all at risk of being outside of that broad description...
+1
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,011
at least Comcast offers it. Cox has announced it, but has not offered any more info, or launched it.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 11:23 AM   #6
csgraber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Comcast on Demand

So Comcast on Demand showed up on my Denver area Tivo last week. I find it interesting. . .but the interface sucks.

Its all folders upon folders upon folders of content. Unlike something like Netflix (beautiful) or HBO GO on my xbox. I mean Xfinity on demand on xbox is awesome, xfinity on Tivo - Crap. HBO GO on Xbox blows away Xfinity options from HBO in a heartbeat.

It is nice if you miss a show. Plus there are shows to catch up with (oh BBC Copper, maybe).
csgraber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:33 PM   #7
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgraber View Post
So Comcast on Demand showed up on my Denver area Tivo last week. I find it interesting. . .but the interface sucks.

Its all folders upon folders upon folders of content. Unlike something like Netflix (beautiful) or HBO GO on my xbox. I mean Xfinity on demand on xbox is awesome, xfinity on Tivo - Crap. HBO GO on Xbox blows away Xfinity options from HBO in a heartbeat.

It is nice if you miss a show. Plus there are shows to catch up with (oh BBC Copper, maybe).
At least you have access to it. I'm in the Denver area too and, so far, no one at Comcast can figure out why it isn't working.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:37 PM   #8
mike cip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
I live in Comcast country! At least that's what they tell us here in the Philadelphia area. No on demand either and we are a large market.. We should get stuff first as we have to look at the ugly office tower they put up in center city. Otherwise I do like my Comcast services with no complaints.
mike cip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:58 PM   #9
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgraber View Post
So Comcast on Demand showed up on my Denver area Tivo last week. I find it interesting. . .but the interface sucks.

Its all folders upon folders upon folders of content. Unlike something like Netflix (beautiful) or HBO GO on my xbox. I mean Xfinity on demand on xbox is awesome, xfinity on Tivo - Crap. HBO GO on Xbox blows away Xfinity options from HBO in a heartbeat.

It is nice if you miss a show. Plus there are shows to catch up with (oh BBC Copper, maybe).
I was very surprised by the lousy interface. It's nearly impossible to find anything in all those folders. Comcast blows.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 10:47 PM   #10
seattlewendell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgraber View Post
So Comcast on Demand showed up on my Denver area Tivo last week. I find it interesting. . .but the interface sucks.

Its all folders upon folders upon folders of content.
Folders? What about universal search?
seattlewendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 02:17 AM   #11
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by seattlewendell View Post
Folders? What about universal search?
You can use the Tivo search function. The Comcast search function within the app doesn't seem to work for me. It's just a blank screen. I can't believe how overwhelming the folders within the app are. There are thousands of them and they are not organized very well.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 02:31 AM   #12
dswallow
Save the Moderatоr
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 48,499
TC CLUB MEMBER
I bought an XBox 360. I now have Comcast On Demand. Simple. Even if the TiVo version were available here already, I'd have to replace my Series 3's with the Premiere models, probably an XL4, at least, and would need to buy lifetime for it, then deal with the CableCARD move-over hassle. And still have a half-finished HD interface.

So I kinda look at the XBox as both a more cost-effective solution, and one that provides more value, anyway. And it even lets me play with the idea of using Windows Media Center for TV.
__________________
¯\_(ツ)_/¯****************
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dswallow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:45 PM   #13
pcw132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Received an update a few weeks ago that gives me Comcast on demand on the tivo.. I love it! Its the one and only thing that i missed when replaced my comcast motorola dvr box with the tivo premiere. The only thing that would make me even happier would be a clock somewhere on the unit.
pcw132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:43 PM   #14
MsKTFantastico
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
I wish I would get this. Comcast has been so slow with this rollout. Especially if it isn't even designed well.

For those that have used it, once you connect to a show is playback ok? I've tried Netflix and Hulu on the premiere and it is horrible! Hulu plus rarely ever even connects, and Netflix stalls alot. I was not that concerned because I also have a Playstation 3 and an Apple TV so I have plenty of ways to connect to Netflix and Hulu, but limited access to Xfinity content, would be awesome to be able to use this before the year is out!
MsKTFantastico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 12:08 AM   #15
dswallow
Save the Moderatоr
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 48,499
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by MsKTFantastico View Post
I wish I would get this. Comcast has been so slow with this rollout. Especially if it isn't even designed well.

For those that have used it, once you connect to a show is playback ok? I've tried Netflix and Hulu on the premiere and it is horrible! Hulu plus rarely ever even connects, and Netflix stalls alot. I was not that concerned because I also have a Playstation 3 and an Apple TV so I have plenty of ways to connect to Netflix and Hulu, but limited access to Xfinity content, would be awesome to be able to use this before the year is out!
Xfinity OnDemand for the TiVo Premiere is delivered over QAM, just like is done for their own Motorola or Cisco/SA equipment, so there won;'t be any quality issues like you may encounter for IP-delivered video when the IP route can't support the necessary bandwidth.
__________________
¯\_(ツ)_/¯****************
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dswallow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:36 PM   #16
PrimeRisk
TechnoGeek
 
PrimeRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO (or there about)
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
At least you have access to it. I'm in the Denver area too and, so far, no one at Comcast can figure out why it isn't working.
I'm in Aurora and it just showed up after Labor Day and has been working (for the most part). Is the application showing up, but you can't connect or is the application just not showing up?
__________________
---
Retired: 2x S1, 1x HD, 6x S2 DTiVos, Stream
Active: 3x S2, 2x Premiere, Elite XL4, Roamio Pro, 2x Mini

Last edited by PrimeRisk : 09-13-2012 at 03:42 PM.
PrimeRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:41 PM   #17
PrimeRisk
TechnoGeek
 
PrimeRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO (or there about)
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by dswallow View Post
Xfinity OnDemand for the TiVo Premiere is delivered over QAM, just like is done for their own Motorola or Cisco/SA equipment, so there won;'t be any quality issues like you may encounter for IP-delivered video when the IP route can't support the necessary bandwidth.
Yeah, in theory there shouldn't be any issues, but there are. During peak-usage times I'm getting macro-blocking and audio drops. I've also received the following error a number of times:

"Service Error
We're sorry. We cannot process your order at this time. Plese try again. If problem persists please call 1-800-XFINITY (1-800-934-6489). Reference (CL-14) when calling. The locale code is (tivocardio-ch2-a2p.comcast.com)"

If I exit and re-enter it will then let me in. Calling Comcast with the above info just results in them asking you to try it again. If you push further they want you to reboot and try it again.
__________________
---
Retired: 2x S1, 1x HD, 6x S2 DTiVos, Stream
Active: 3x S2, 2x Premiere, Elite XL4, Roamio Pro, 2x Mini
PrimeRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:33 PM   #18
johnh123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Over there
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeRisk View Post
Yeah, in theory there shouldn't be any issues, but there are. During peak-usage times I'm getting macro-blocking and audio drops. I've also received the following error a number of times:

"Service Error
We're sorry. We cannot process your order at this time. Plese try again. If problem persists please call 1-800-XFINITY (1-800-934-6489). Reference (CL-14) when calling. The locale code is (tivocardio-ch2-a2p.comcast.com)"

If I exit and re-enter it will then let me in. Calling Comcast with the above info just results in them asking you to try it again. If you push further they want you to reboot and try it again.
This is standard stuff- it happens with my comcast dvr when trying to use ondemand sometimes.

More importantly, when is it coming to Chicago?
johnh123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:50 PM   #19
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadam101 View Post
I was very surprised by the lousy interface. It's nearly impossible to find anything in all those folders. Comcast blows.
In the bay area they have rolled out a HD interface for OnDemand, I definitely get the sense we are the beta market since its been updated once a week. I am sure once they finalize the UI it will go out to everyone.

Its loads better than the SD one and its actually very responsive!
__________________
Tivo Roamio Pro + 1TB Expansion + Slingbox.
TiVo iPad & iPhone App.
Tivo Mini
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:53 PM   #20
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnh123 View Post
More importantly, when is it coming to Chicago?
Heck, we don't know IF it is, much less WHEN it is.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:09 PM   #21
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettf View Post
Its loads better than the SD one and its actually very responsive!
I think the consensus is that the OnDemand experience on TiVo is better than on the Comcast set-top box/DVR. The video is the same (using the same mechanism), and the response time to trick-play requests is comparable to or better than the Comcast box.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:19 PM   #22
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeRisk View Post

I'm in Aurora and it just showed up after Labor Day and has been working (for the most part). Is the application showing up, but you can't connect or is the application just not showing up?
It has been working for me since Friday. The ap showed up around Labor Day; it just never launched. Trying to find out what Comcast did to fix the problem, so others in new rollout areas won't have to spend tens of hours on the phone.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:39 AM   #23
PrimeRisk
TechnoGeek
 
PrimeRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO (or there about)
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesH View Post
I think the consensus is that the OnDemand experience on TiVo is better than on the Comcast set-top box/DVR. The video is the same (using the same mechanism), and the response time to trick-play requests is comparable to or better than the Comcast box.
I'd agree with those statements.
__________________
---
Retired: 2x S1, 1x HD, 6x S2 DTiVos, Stream
Active: 3x S2, 2x Premiere, Elite XL4, Roamio Pro, 2x Mini
PrimeRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:42 AM   #24
PrimeRisk
TechnoGeek
 
PrimeRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO (or there about)
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
It has been working for me since Friday. The ap showed up around Labor Day; it just never launched. Trying to find out what Comcast did to fix the problem, so others in new rollout areas won't have to spend tens of hours on the phone.
Good luck with that one. The Comcast CSRs don't seem too keen on talking about TiVo OnDemand at all. I still get the occasional error message when launching but 90% of the time trying it again immediately gets me in. I'm wondering if the timeout on the TiVo is set shorter than the timeout on the Comcast branded boxes. I know that it seems that you wait for ever on the Comcast boxes sometimes.
__________________
---
Retired: 2x S1, 1x HD, 6x S2 DTiVos, Stream
Active: 3x S2, 2x Premiere, Elite XL4, Roamio Pro, 2x Mini
PrimeRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:19 AM   #25
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeRisk View Post

Good luck with that one. The Comcast CSRs don't seem too keen on talking about TiVo OnDemand at all. I still get the occasional error message when launching but 90% of the time trying it again immediately gets me in. I'm wondering if the timeout on the TiVo is set shorter than the timeout on the Comcast branded boxes. I know that it seems that you wait for ever on the Comcast boxes sometimes.
I don't expect to get any info from a CSR. I'm working through a field tech and level 2 management.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:46 AM   #26
swarto112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 36
u have a tivo..on demand is for losers wh dont know how to record their programs or to buy rediculously expensive programs. If its so important get a spare cable box and switch to that when you need to watch something that bad. Other than a exclusive event...most everything on demand is avalble thru You Tube, Hulu, or any other premium channels app.
__________________
XL4, Stream, HD XL

FIOS
swarto112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 09:20 AM   #27
heyted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 136
Keep in mind that if you do not have it on your tivo, it is still possible to watch Comcast movies and shows on demand without renting a cable box. I will never have it on my Premiere due to not having TiVo service, but I still watch Comcast on demand content on my tv by having a computer connected to my tv. http://xfinitytv.comcast.net/
heyted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |