TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 09:47 AM   #1
Sheffield Steve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
Smile THR-22 - I Found a 2TB drive that actually works

OK, so I decided to update from my series 2 to the new THR-22 and after a couple of weeks of use realized that the 500GB drive would not cut it and I needed to upgrade it.

So I though I would use a video surveillance HD I had; the Seagate ST2000VX000.

This upgrade resulted in the pixelation people have reported and slow menu response too. (Even after a couple of weeks of use)

So then I tried the Seagate Pipeline HD (ST2000VM002), this had less of a problem but still did not work flawlessly like the original 500GB pipeline drive.

So I did a bit of research and decided to try the Hitachi Deskstar (H3D20006472S) as it was a highly rated 7200 rpm drive, used older, none-AF technology and a 6Gb/s interface. (Although our Tivo's can only use the 3Gb/s mode, I knew the drive itself have to be fast to be able to feed the 6Gb interface)

This drive worked flawlessly from the moment I installed it. No waiting for it to settle down and menu response was fast too. The drive is a available for around $100.

I also ran some test on the drives and here are the results using tests by Spinrite:

Burst Transfer Rate
Hitachi H3D20006472S = 88,896,060
Seagate ST2000VX000 = 64,984,160
Seagate ST2000VM002 = 51,225,989

Sustained Transfer rate
Hitachi H3D20006472S = 124,624,287
Seagate ST2000VX000 = 117,498,617
Seagate ST2000VM002 = 109,157,670

Random Sector Access
Hitachi H3D20006472S = 12.263
Seagate ST2000VX000 = 9.189
Seagate ST2000VM002 = 13.703

I tried testing the original 500GB drive but for some reason Sprinrite would not recognize it. (I wonder if it is modified in some way?)

Last edited by Sheffield Steve : 09-16-2012 at 09:58 PM.
Sheffield Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:38 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheffield Steve View Post
OK, so I decided to update from my series 2 to the new THR-22 and after a couple of weeks of use realized that the 500GB drive would not cut it and I needed to upgrade it.

So I though I would use a video surveillance HD I had; the Seagate ST2000VX000.

This upgrade resulted in the pixelation people have reported and slow menu response too. (Even after a couple of weeks of use)

So then I tried the Seagate Pipeline HD (ST2000VM002), this had less of a problem but still did not work flawlessly like the original 500GB pipeline drive.

So I did a bit of research and decided to try the Hitachi Deskstar (H3D20006472S) as it was rated highly, used older, none-AF technology and used a 6Gb/s interface. (Although our Tivo's can only use the 3Gb/s mode, I knew the drive itself have to be fast to be able to feed the 6Gb interface)

This drive worked flawlessly from the moment I installed it. No waiting for it to settle down and menu response was fast too. The drive is a available for around $100.

I also ran some test on the drives and here are the results using tests by Spinrite:

Burst Transfer Rate
Hitachi H3D20006472S = 88,896,060
Seagate ST2000VX000 = 64,984,160
Seagate ST2000VM002 = 51,225,989

Sustained Transfer rate
Hitachi H3D20006472S = 124,624,287
Seagate ST2000VX000 = 117,498,617
Seagate ST2000VM002 = 109,157,670

Random Sector Access
Hitachi H3D20006472S = 12.263
Seagate ST2000VX000 = 9.189
Seagate ST2000VM002 = 13.703

I tried testing the original 500GB drive but for some reason Sprinrite would not recognize it. (I wonder if it is modified in some way?)

What software did you use to copy and expand?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #3
Sheffield Steve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
ddrescue

Sorry, I can't post a link - not enough posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
What software did you use to copy and expand?

Sheffield Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 04:33 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheffield Steve View Post
ddrescue

Sorry, I can't post a link - not enough posts.
ddrescue

just like

dd_rescue

and their predecessor, the venerable and still deadly if you make a keyboard mistake

dd

will all copy, but none of them know how to expand a TiVo drive.


Perhaps you used comer's

jmfs

which I believe uses

ddrescue

for the copying part of things, and then something comer wrote for the expanding by adding a partition part.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:50 AM   #5
Sheffield Steve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
There were all 2TB drives so I didn't need to expand.

I was going to try Ghost in forensic mode. Which should also work on drives on the same size
Sheffield Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:04 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheffield Steve View Post
There were all 2TB drives so I didn't need to expand.

I was going to try Ghost in forensic mode. Which should also work on drives on the same size
You can use jmfs to just copy.

Although for trying to copy a failing drive I prefer

dd_rescue

so far.

I did a little Googling to learn about Ghost forensic mode and it sounds like there's entirely too much chance of doing it wrong.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:23 AM   #7
Sheffield Steve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
I have used Ghost for years. It's really simply and you can change the settings via a GUI. Or just run it with the Forensic switches -IR -FNF

Having said that, when cloning disks you have to be careful for sure. I have seen people clone the disks the wrong way destroying all the data. It's better to clone to an image first. (If you have the space)
Sheffield Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |