TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 09:22 PM   #1
soulie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Premiere Freezing and Flashing?

Hi,

Installed two Premieres about 2 weeks ago, so I know everything is plugged in correctly because one works perfectly

However, the OTHER one freezes. About 75% of the time when I turn on the TV the picture is frozen and non-responsive to the remote. I have to unplug the box and let it restart. Today I was streaming a program from another Premiere and the picture froze. After staying frozen for about 5 minutes, the screen started flashing. The flashing looked like the initial Tivo setup screen (the light blue one), but it never went any further; I had to unplug and restart the Premiere. Interestingly, when I finally got back to restart my program's streaming, it had paused at the point where it froze.

I have Comcast for cable, and a Tivo G adapter for wireless.

I have read a lot of other threads about freezing but I didn't see one that described the startup screen flashing that I saw. All help is appreciated.

Thanks all.
soulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:32 PM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
It's possible that you got a dud. That can happen with anything you buy these days. If you are still within the 30 day window for the warranty, definitely contact TiVo customer support to discuss your problem / arrange for a replacement.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:37 AM   #3
rainbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 190
I have been experiencing this issue w/my Premiere. Have had it about 2 yrs and it is still under warrenty.

Twice this past week, I have come home and it has effectively frozen. The other night I actually was able to watch 'Ellen" on nbc that was on at 3 or 4p. This was at 847p. It must have been stored on the hd, but broadcast as if it were live. I could not speed it up; i just sat there and watched it thru the end. Then it was real time again.

Last time it happened, I unplugged and re-plugged it.

Just wondering if this one is starting to fail? Is that an indicator of a failing HQ?
rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |