TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 01:47 AM   #1
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
No Dolby Digital 5.1 with Netflix

I get DD 5.1 when using my TiVo Premiere XL with Comcast. However, I am not getting 5.1 when viewing a Netflix show which is indicated to be 5.1. I am hooked up to my Denon AV receiver with optical. Is this a Netflix app bug?
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,577
5.1 DD+ can't be sent over a legacy optical connection. It needs to be HDMI 1.3 or later.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
tedrik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fburgerod View Post
I get DD 5.1 when using my TiVo Premiere XL with Comcast. However, I am not getting 5.1 when viewing a Netflix show which is indicated to be 5.1. I am hooked up to my Denon AV receiver with optical. Is this a Netflix app bug?
If the netflix movie is 5.1 dolby digital-I receive it with optical cable to my Yamaha and Pioneer receivers-make sure in the tivo settings/audio that you have dolby selected (not "other" which will output only PCM)
tedrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:38 PM   #4
tedrik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
If the netflix movie is 5.1 dolby digital-I receive it with optical cable to my Yamaha and Pioneer receivers-make sure in the tivo settings/audio that you have dolby selected (not "other" which will output only PCM)
ALSO- I have 2 optical inputs on my receivers. When I 1st hooked up the TIVO I was getting Netflix through the TV optical OUT to the AV1 input on the receiver(optical 1 input as an example). I was getting PCM sound only (I guess it was like a PASS THRU) from the TV to the receiver. I soon discovered I was not receiving 5.1 Digital. I then used the 2nd optical cable from the TIVO optical OUTPUT to the 2nd Receiver OPTICAL INPUT (AV2).

BOTTOM LINE: You must use the optical ouput on the TIVO to the optical input on the receiver and switch to that receiver input when viewing NETFLIX. If your receiver doesn't have 2 optical inputs then you should ONLY use the one from the TIVO to the receiver (your cable and netflix etc should output 5.1 digital.
tedrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:50 PM   #5
Kingpcgeek
Couch Potato
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
5.1 DD+ can't be sent over a legacy optical connection. It needs to be HDMI 1.3 or later.
The OP didn't say 5.1 DD+. He(she) was only talking about plain vanilla 5.1 Dolby Digital which can most definitely be carried over optical.
Kingpcgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:01 AM   #6
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks. I am talking about 5.1 vanilla. I have Dolby set on the Tivo sound setup. Yet even though I get Dolby 5.1 on TV broadcasts using my Denon receiver, it switches to non DD with Netflix, using same setup. Any ideas?

Thanks
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:52 AM   #7
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingpcgeek View Post
The OP didn't say 5.1 DD+. He(she) was only talking about plain vanilla 5.1 Dolby Digital which can most definitely be carried over optical.
The problem is most of the Netflix 5.1 is in DD+. But what is inconsistent is sometimes the TiVo will output it as DD and sometimes as DD+. (While some of the other netflix devices I have will output DD+ all the time for the 5.1 content.)

And maybe that is why the OP has issues with it. If the TiVo is sending out DD+, it will not go over the optical connection, so there will be no audio. While if it sends out DD you will get audio from the optical connection. The TiVo has been inconsistent with it's audio output from Netflix since the upgrade to the new APP which allows for DD+ output.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:53 PM   #8
tedrik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fburgerod View Post
Thanks. I am talking about 5.1 vanilla. I have Dolby set on the Tivo sound setup. Yet even though I get Dolby 5.1 on TV broadcasts using my Denon receiver, it switches to non DD with Netflix, using same setup. Any ideas?

Thanks
I guess my initial reply was a bit disjointed (hard to understand). I had the same problem. When I hooked up my Tivo's I assumed that since I already had the Optical output from my TV to the receiver that I would get 5.1 DD since the TIVO broadcast video signal runs through the TV-NOT SO. I (like you) would get 5.1 DD from the TV programs (because the optical output from the TV is connected to an optical input on the receiver) but not from NETFLIX (unless I used my SMART TV wireless dongle instead of TIVO for my Netflix). So, again-you MUST connect an OPTICAL CABLE FROM your TIVO optical output and to another OPTICAL INPUT on your RECEIVER- I then received 5.1 DD on NETFLIX-TV- all! (if program is 5.1 DD of course)

I still have the optical out from the TV to the other optical input on the receiver in case I would rather use my SMART TV for streaming-then I just switch to that input on the receiver. Also, I have the TIVO HDMI ouput to a different HDMI input( HDMI 2) on the tv. I have it configured this way so that I can turn off the receiver on occasion and just listen through the TV speakers. I hope this helps-depending on your receivers inputs/outputs and your TV's you may have to experiment-but right now I'm thinking that you DO NOT have an optical cable running from your TIVO to your receiver ( your TV optical out to your receiver-won't work (you will, however, get PCM pass-through and can set up pseudo-fake surround utilizing your receiver features-which I don't care for)- except for TV broadcasts which will output 5.1 DD.

Last edited by tedrik : 08-30-2012 at 02:13 PM.
tedrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:12 AM   #9
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks for the 'input' on my "output", Tedrik. I currently have the optical output on the TiVo going directly to the Denon. Always bypass the TV. Since I do have two optical inputs on the Denon, I will switch to the other one and see if that works. Maybe it is the case that those programs I've been streaming (like White Collar) are actually DD 5.1+ and not passing thru for that reason. I shall report back.
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:18 AM   #10
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
OK, just tried streaming Parks and Rec...it is DD! Tried White Collar again...it is not passing DD, so I am assuming it is DD+ and not passing thru the optical output.
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:02 AM   #11
tenthplanet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by fburgerod View Post
OK, just tried streaming Parks and Rec...it is DD! Tried White Collar again...it is not passing DD, so I am assuming it is DD+ and not passing thru the optical output.
What season of White Collar did you try, the early episodes are not in DD on Netflix. Try an episode from season 3 and I think you'll get DD.
__________________
"It's tough thinking of something clever to write down here, I don't know how Chuck Lorre does it..."
tenthplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:38 AM   #12
tedrik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fburgerod View Post
OK, just tried streaming Parks and Rec...it is DD! Tried White Collar again...it is not passing DD, so I am assuming it is DD+ and not pass
ing thru the optical outpu
t.
Seems like you had it hooked up correctly from the start=
I haven't noticed anything on netflix that's DD+- if it indicates 5.1 DD then my receiver lights up "Dolby Digital" on the display. If the show/movie does not indicate 5.1 DD my receiver will indicate PCM and then I simply adjust the audio signal to Dolby Pro logic movie mode/ neo 6 Cinema/ 5 channel stereo etc.. (not as great as pure 5.1 DD but tolerable). I also have the option of running the HDMI cable through my receiver from the TIVO and out to the TV, but for some reason the picture is a bit degraded (my receivers are new and 3D capable). You would think that with a digital signal it's either there or not-must be a bandwidth issue. Great picture with the HDMI from TIVO directly to the TV (we are only OTA since we dumped Dish network after MANY years). Sorry-a bit off subject!

Last edited by tedrik : 08-31-2012 at 09:46 AM.
tedrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:54 AM   #13
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedrik View Post
Seems like you had it hooked up correctly from the start=
I haven't noticed anything on netflix that's DD+- if it indicates 5.1 DD then my receiver lights up "Dolby Digital" on the display. If the show/movie does not indicate 5.1 DD my receiver will indicate PCM and then I simply adjust the audio signal to Dolby Pro logic movie mode/ neo 6 Cinema/ 5 channel stereo etc.. (not as great as pure 5.1 DD but tolerable). I also have the option of running the HDMI cable through my receiver from the TIVO and out to the TV, but for some reason the picture is a bit degraded (my receivers are new and 3D capable). You would think that with a digital signal it's either there or not-must be a bandwidth issue. Great picture with the HDMI from TIVO directly to the TIVO (we are only OTA since we dumped Dish network after MANY years). Sorry-a bit off subject!
Everything I watch on Netflix with 5.1 is in DD+ from my Roku2 . What is weird is that sometimes the TiVo will send out 5.1 DD like it is getting a DD track from somewhere and sometimes it will send out 5.1 DD+ from the same title. Like the title has a DD+ and a DD track but the user only has the option to choose stereo and 5.1. They don't have an option to choose DD or DD+.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:21 PM   #14
fburgerod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
OK. Isolated the problem. Thank you tenthplanet (BTW did you hear about Pluto? --That's messed up.)

White Collar (48 episodes) is indicated as being in 5.1, BUT, that does not apply to all seasons, only season 3. That is why I could not get season 2 in DD. It is a NETFLIX labeling problem on the app.

Thanks, Netflix. And thank you all on TCM for your help in solving this!

Frank
fburgerod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |