TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
aindik
Registered User
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 27,351
Premiere XL4 Total Capacity

What is the total capacity a TiVo Premiere XL4 can recognize? IOW, if I plug in a 1 TB MyDVR external drive into an XL4 with an internal 2 TB hard drive, will it see all 3 TB as usable space or is there a limit lower than 3 TB?
aindik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:04 AM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,354
http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-ac...age/index.html
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:10 AM   #3
aindik
Registered User
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 27,351
It says it's compatible. It doesn't say the XL 4 will see all of the space.
aindik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:48 AM   #4
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by aindik View Post
It says it's compatible. It doesn't say the XL 4 will see all of the space.
Well it doesn't say you will see all of the space for any of the TiVos listed as compatible. But I would assume you will see the same amount of recording time added regardless of which TiVo you add it too. We know that Weaknees is selling them with a total of 4TB (2 internal & 2 external) and claims you will get 640 hours of HD so using/seeing 3TB shouldn't be any problem.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 06:22 PM   #5
retiredqwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by aindik View Post
What is the total capacity a TiVo Premiere XL4 can recognize? IOW, if I plug in a 1 TB MyDVR external drive into an XL4 with an internal 2 TB hard drive, will it see all 3 TB as usable space or is there a limit lower than 3 TB?
I hooked up my 1TB Mydvr expander to an XL4 758 series and it totaled 463 hours HD...... then I disconnected it.

was just curious..... if it would even recognize it!
__________________
I'm not retired... I'm a professional grandparent.

THD 1.5TB Seagate = 237 hrs HD
Premiere WD20EVDS = 317 hrs HD.
XL4 = 318 hrs HD
retiredqwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:40 AM   #6
jwmccnn99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Does anyone know if you can use any eSata connectable hard drive to expand a Tivo Premier XL4?....or does it need to be the one you can buy on Tivo.com?
jwmccnn99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:17 PM   #7
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmccnn99 View Post
Does anyone know if you can use any eSata connectable hard drive to expand a Tivo Premier XL4?....or does it need to be the one you can buy on Tivo.com?
Simple answer is it requires the exact Western digital model being sold by TiVo.

Complex answer is some people have the ability to mate other hard drives to it but it requires they have your TiVos original drive to do so.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:28 PM   #8
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 206
Does the XL4 have a free space indicator? Why TiVo has been so reluctant to implement that feature is beyond me.
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:30 PM   #9
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
Does the XL4 have a free space indicator? Why TiVo has been so reluctant to implement that feature is beyond me.
Yes all Premiere models.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
Does the XL4 have a free space indicator? Why TiVo has been so reluctant to implement that feature is beyond me.
Because it doesn't mean a whole lot.
An hour HD show can take up varying amounts of space. I've seen from as little as 1.5GB to over 8GB. So if a space meter shows a certain percentage of space there is really no way to know how many shows you have space for.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |