TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 10:13 AM   #1
gcsheph
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 65
HD stream from Netflix through Tivo- HELP!

Streaming non-– HD from Netflix through TiVo works okay. However, with HD you get sound and only a gray screen. This is been tried with multiple programs with the same result so it does not appear to be related to any individual Netflix program.

We tried changing out the wireless connection to the TiVo for a cat 5 cable – no change. The TiVo is connected via HDMI to a Yamaha RXV-1900 receiver and on to a Sony TV via another HDMI cable. (By the way, the TV shows the resolution of 720 P HD.) The Netflix people suggest that maybe there's some copy protection thing going on at the receiver side that is blanking out the picture, and that maybe by routing the TiVo to the TV and back to the receiver (which would be a mess) might help. Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions or experience with this type of situation to offer, it will be most appreciated! This is a very frustrating problem. Many thanks!
gcsheph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:12 PM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,940
Try running HDMI directly from TiVo to TV as a test.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:47 PM   #3
V7Goose
Verizon FiOS
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 268
I can't solve your problem, but I do want to assure you that it is not some problem specific to the TiVo. I used Netflix for close to a year with both my THD and S3 TiVo boxes, with no problems at all for HD programs. I finally got tired of the terrible Netflix service (really crappy streaming during all prime time), so I canceled the service.

There are lots of things that can affect Netflix performance, including server load, Internet traffic, your local ISP, your router, and your LAN. But I do not know of anything that would give you the gray screen you describe. I suppose it could be related to extremely low bandwidth or network speed, but since you did not provide any information in those areas, I cannot speculate. I hope you get it sorted out.
__________________
TiVo HD - 2TB internal - 318 HD/2777 SD
Series 3 - 1TB+1TB Apricorn DVR Xpander - 265 HD/2512 SD
Series 2 - 2 drives, no svc - threw it away 'cause PQ sucks after HD!
V7Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |