TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2012, 10:12 AM   #1
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 428
1000 hr Tivo Premiere advertisement: real?

I've seen a few Tivo advertisements for a 1000 hour "family" or family size Premiere. I don't remember if it said 4 tuner, but I think so.

WHen I clicked the ad, it went to tivo.com - no specific device linked. Is this a sign of what is coming soon? Did someone make a mistake on the advertising side?
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:06 AM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,404
Link to the advertisement?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:29 AM   #3
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Discussed several months ago.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=485624
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:48 PM   #4
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,679
I can get over 2700 hours of recordings from my Elites with a 2TB drive. Although to get that many hours from a 2TB drive the recordings would need to be in SD. With HD recorded from MPEG2 it's over 300 hour hours. MPEG4 would be over 600 hours.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:11 PM   #5
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Sounds like my local cable company advertising any room DVR and recording of up to 8 shows at a time. Since they offer just the basic Premiere at this time I guess that means you have to rent four of them. Maybe that was in the fine print that no one can read.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 05:40 PM   #6
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
my tivo premiere xl can do 157 hours of HD recording or 1,375 hours of SD recording so no its not a mistake! thats how the tivo xl premier with 2 tuners come. I think the newer tivo xl 4 and elite may have more recording capability, But the new tivo 4 only has 75 hour HD recording space i dont know about the SD recoding space on the tivo 4
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:58 PM   #7
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
TiVo always advertises the maximum hours the DVR can record.
SD vs. HD is not an important factor when it comes to this number.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |