TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2012, 11:51 PM   #1
Saqqara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Connecting to TiVo with mobile broadband Vs Modem

Hi there,

I recently changed broadband providers and have gone from an
ADSL 2 router (which I previously used to connect to TiVo) to a portable
dongle that plugs into a USB port on my computer.

When I changed from Telstra to Optus I did not even consider the impact
it would have on TiVo, but now I am unsure what to do.

Tivo Guide just says "TO BE ADVISED" and I need to connect so that I
can update the guide.

I plugged my Optus mobile broadband dongle into a USB port on the back
of TiVo and attempted to connect, but it was not successful.

Any advice please??
Saqqara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:30 AM   #2
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
The modem is not designed to work directly with a Linux host, although Linux in general certainly can be used with 3G modems. The Tivo, however, is not designed to work with the modem, either. You are going to need a router. If you are unable or unwilling to build your own, then you will need to buy one. Zoom makes a nice, economical 3G router, the 4501. They also make a travel router, the 4506, and they make a mobile hotspot / modem combination that might work with your service. The modem compatibility list for the 4501 and 4506 is here. I do not see "Optus" on the list, but chances are the modem is not made by the service provider. You should be able to find a manufacturer and model number on the modem, and the chances are it will be on that list. It may even work if it is not on the list.

Assuming you are running Windows and your version is XP Pro or W7, hypothetically, you could set up your PC as a router / internet gateway by activating Microsoft's Internet Connection Sharing protocol, but I suggest you take my advice and don't bother.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:39 AM   #3
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,933
Using Internet Connection Sharing worked great for me in the past. I was stuck in an apartment with horrible internet access for 4 months, so I just tethered my phone to the PC and used its ethernet jack to feed a switch that all of my TiVos were connected to.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |