TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,868
Android app cannot find Tivos

I am at wits end trying to get the Android Tivo app to find and connect to my Tivos. The network remote control is turned on. pyTivo and kmttg have no trouble finding both tivos. The tivo's find each other and stream fine. The app cannot find either one. Yes its on the same subnet on my home network.

Any other ideas what could be missing or wrongly configured?
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:33 AM   #2
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 189
Exclamation Must be connected to your LAN/WLAN not 3G/4G

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
I am at wits end trying to get the Android Tivo app to find and connect to my Tivos. The network remote control is turned on. pyTivo and kmttg have no trouble finding both tivos. The tivo's find each other and stream fine. The app cannot find either one. Yes its on the same subnet on my home network.

Any other ideas what could be missing or wrongly configured?
Your Android must be connected to the same network. While your Android is connected to 3G/4G no it won't find the TiVo's. You must turn on the WiFi on the phone and connect to the same WLAN that your TiVo's are on.
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:29 AM   #3
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCurry57 View Post
Your Android must be connected to the same network. While your Android is connected to 3G/4G no it won't find the TiVo's. You must turn on the WiFi on the phone and connect to the same WLAN that your TiVo's are on.
Thanks, but I said its on the same subnet on my home network. WiFi is on and working fine.

I think there is something wrong with Bonjour / zeroconf.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:53 AM   #4
chimerax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
TiVo Android app is not compatible with all the TiVo boxes. Check whether your box is compatible or not by visiting this link support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1984. If your box is compatible and your Android is not recognizing your TiVo try restarting your network router by unplugging it, waiting 30 seconds, and plugging it back in.
Restart your TiVo DVR. Hope this will help.
chimerax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:16 AM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by chimerax View Post
TiVo Android app is not compatible with all the TiVo boxes. Check whether your box is compatible or not by visiting this link support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1984. If your box is compatible and your Android is not recognizing your TiVo try restarting your network router by unplugging it, waiting 30 seconds, and plugging it back in.
Restart your TiVo DVR. Hope this will help.
You might want to read his sig line before you make any further posts in this thread.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:41 AM   #6
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,352
Is this a tablet or phone? I had a similar issue with my tablet and had to uninstall the phone app before it would connect properly.

What have you tried so far? I assume you have already tried rebooted everything. pytivo can see your shares and push a file to the units?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 04:45 PM   #7
Gadfly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 40
I had the same problem. It turned out that even though my tablet was on the same subnet as my TiVOs, I had another DHCP server+AP (using another subnet) on my network and somehow that got the Tivo app confused. Once I managed to turn off the DHCP server on this AP (I only needed wireless capability), then the app could find both Tivos without any problem.

Definitely a bug with the app.
Gadfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 12:24 AM   #8
bsmith1051
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post
I had another DHCP server+AP (using another subnet) on my network
Definitely a bug with the app.
sorry but I don't see how any app could be designed to deal with that situation.
bsmith1051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 02:40 AM   #9
Gadfly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsmith1051 View Post
sorry but I don't see how any app could be designed to deal with that situation.
I meant the app couldn't find the tivos even when it was on the same subnet as the tivos.
Gadfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |