TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2012, 09:49 PM   #1
dowlingg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Arrow Problem with upcoming Optimum change

I recently received this letter from Cablevision (Optimum) --

"Important Information About Your Cable Service: As of
August 21, 2012, all of your televisions will require a digital
cable box in order to continue to receive service. Without a
digital cable box, your TV cannot access iO TV (access is
limited with a CableCARD)."

I have 2 Tivo's in my house -- but what concerns me is my "older" one (Series 2 DT DVR). It is currently set up with two inputs -- one directly via coax to the DVR, and the other through the cable box to the DVR. That allows me to tape 2 shows simultaneously (which has become more common in the past few seasons). As of 8/21, the direct connection will no longer work. I had this verified by the cable rep.

It sounds to me there are only 2 options left to me (unless I am missing something here) -- either purchase a 2nd cable box (which Cablevision will provide free for 1 year) or upgrade this Tivo to a new one. This particular TV is not a HDTV... yet.

Thoughts?
dowlingg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 02:11 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,560
Your Series 2 (dual or single tuner) will not be able to use 2 cable boxes. It can only control 1 cable box. Your DT will become a single tuner Tivo. If you upgrade to a Series 3/HD or Premiere (Series 4), they use a multi-stream cable card, with exception of the Series 3 OLED which uses 2 cable cards. You can put the 2nd cable box on the TV directly so you can watch while the Tivo is recording something else.
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:04 PM   #3
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
What is iO TV? And what limits will be on the cablecard? Maybe SDV/TA?

You may want to wait and see what happens. Many cable providers send this message out and then continue to provide the analog version of the local OTA channels.
__________________
Comcast, Cox, TW, Charter and BHN are cabal companies.
(That is not a spelling error. Check the definition.
)
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:25 PM   #4
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm01 View Post
What is iO TV?
I believe it's just what Optimum calls its cable tv service like Comcast now calls theirs Xfinity.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:16 PM   #5
Krellion
...
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm01 View Post
And what limits will be on the cablecard? Maybe SDV/TA?
Usually they will say CableCARD has limited access due to its lack of support for video on demand and pay-per-view.

A tuning adapter (TA) may be needed if channels you want are on switched digital video (SDV). These are only used with Series 3/4 TiVos and CableCARDs.
__________________
Sony SVR-2000 (S1) @ 160GB (retired)
TiVo TCD648250B (S3, Lifetime) @ 1TB (thanks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
TiVo HD XL (S3, Lifetime) @ 1TB - CableCARD/TA
TiVo Premiere XL4/Elite (S4, Lifetime) @ 2TB - CableCARD/TA
Krellion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:43 PM   #6
rlefevre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Back to Dowlingg's original question

I'm using Cablevision in Arizona and they switched us to digital signals in July.
They gave us small adapter/tuner boxes that go between the cable and my Tivo series 2 DT unit.
These Adapter/tuner boxes don't allow the use of the builtin Tivo tuner, so the only thing my Tivo can do is record whatever channel the adapter/tuner box is set for. I'm currently looking for something that will convert the digital signals and allow Tivo to select the digital channel.
Right before the digital signal change i had done the "$99 for life" upgrade.
Anyone know of some piece of equipment that converts the digital signal and allows Tivo to change the channels?

Last edited by rlefevre : 08-08-2012 at 03:10 PM. Reason: clarification
rlefevre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 03:11 PM   #7
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlefevre View Post
I'm using Cablevision in Arizona and they switched us to digital signals in July.
They gave us small adapter/tuner boxes that go between the cable and my Tivo unit.
These units don't allow the use of the builtin Tivo tuner, so the only thing my Tivo can do is record whatever channel the adapter/tuner box is set for. I'm currently looking for something that will convert the digital signals and allow Tivo to select the digital channel.
Right before the digital signal change i had done the "$99 for life" upgrade.
Anyone know of some piece of equipment that converts the digital signal and allows Tivo to change the channels?
It depends on what model Tivo you are using. With the Premiere, or an older Series 3/HD, you need cable cards and maybe a tuning adapter.
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |