TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2012, 02:36 AM   #1
sAe23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Drive died, need help!

I hope this is an appropriate forum to post this to.
I have read through various threads but would like an opportunity to present my specific situation.

I have a S3 HD (652160).
The hard drive died.
I read various posts about using 2TB drives but decided to try.
I am using a Hitachi Deskstar (I can't find a "model" number on it).
I downloaded "652_gset.tbk" from a link in a thread on this forum, and got WinMFS.

DURING the process, I told it NOT to limit the partition size.
I also supersized it.

I'm in TWC country, and have a multi cable card and tuning adapter.

When first powered up, it seemed happy.
It got as far as asking my zip code, and downloading guide info.
It then rebooted when I pressed select to move on.

After several attempts, it finally stated there was a hardware problem (this was in a "messages and settings" menu section.

I tried rebooting with the cable card removed but it just kept restarting during the "just a few more minutes" phase.

I tried kickstart codes 54, 57 and 58.
54 did the SMART test and the drive passed (good thing as it's brand new!).
58 installed an update (not sure if it actually finished).
57 did a GSOD and said it was going to try to fix the hardware issue.
I walked away since it said it might take several hours, but after about one hour, it was in a reboot cycle again.

So, to make a long inquiry short, should I have limited the partition size? Did I use the wrong backup file? Or is there something else I need to look into?

TIA

Steve
sAe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 04:42 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by sAe23 View Post
I hope this is an appropriate forum to post this to.
I have read through various threads but would like an opportunity to present my specific situation.

I have a S3 HD (652160).
The hard drive died.
I read various posts about using 2TB drives but decided to try.
I am using a Hitachi Deskstar (I can't find a "model" number on it).
I downloaded "652_gset.tbk" from a link in a thread on this forum, and got WinMFS.

DURING the process, I told it NOT to limit the partition size.
I also supersized it.

I'm in TWC country, and have a multi cable card and tuning adapter.

When first powered up, it seemed happy.
It got as far as asking my zip code, and downloading guide info.
It then rebooted when I pressed select to move on.

After several attempts, it finally stated there was a hardware problem (this was in a "messages and settings" menu section.

I tried rebooting with the cable card removed but it just kept restarting during the "just a few more minutes" phase.

I tried kickstart codes 54, 57 and 58.
54 did the SMART test and the drive passed (good thing as it's brand new!).
58 installed an update (not sure if it actually finished).
57 did a GSOD and said it was going to try to fix the hardware issue.
I walked away since it said it might take several hours, but after about one hour, it was in a reboot cycle again.

So, to make a long inquiry short, should I have limited the partition size? Did I use the wrong backup file? Or is there something else I need to look into?

TIA

Steve
Is that a 2TB Hitachi?

The model number should be on the sticker on the top of the drive.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,020
Did you do a "Clear & delete everything" at some point? That's required when using an image from one TiVo HD on a different TiVo HD.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:38 PM   #4
sAe23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
OK, the model appears to be HDS723020BLA642

As for performing a "clear and delete everything", if that is in "messages and settings" I never got that far. The reboots started during the initial setup. And the image seems to be for an HD, unless other models started with 652xxx?

Steve
sAe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:15 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by sAe23 View Post
OK, the model appears to be HDS723020BLA642

As for performing a "clear and delete everything", if that is in "messages and settings" I never got that far. The reboots started during the initial setup. And the image seems to be for an HD, unless other models started with 652xxx?

Steve
That image should start you out in Guided Setup (said the guy who created it).

It could be that particular drive and the TiVo are destined not to get along.

There is no official TiVo tested and approved replacement hard drive list, because they never intended for anyone to be replacing their own hard drives.

Do you have another hard drive you could use temporarily? One say about 750Gb to 1TB in size?

I have a "middleman" technique for putting a 2TB in an HD with the final expansion done by jmfs.

In the meantime hook that drive back up to the computer, open WinMFS again, and copy and paste (to here) the partition table from mfsinfo.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:24 AM   #6
sAe23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Here is the WinMFS info.
I am still looking for a spare drive to test with.
I'm also considering running the "Fix" utils in WinMFS, but will wait for your feedback...

Mfsinfo (Drive 1)

Boot Page
Boot Page: root=/dev/hda4
Active Boot Partition: 3 Active Root Partition: 4
Backup Boot Partition: 6 Backup Root Partition: 7

MFS Super Header
state=0 magic=ebbafeed
devlist=/dev/hda10 /dev/hda11 /dev/hda12 /dev/hda13 /dev/hda14 /dev/hda15
zonemap_ptr=1121 total_secs=3905175552

Zone Maps
Z0: type=0
map_start=1121 map_size=1 backup_map_start=589822
next_map_start=263266 next_map_size=6 next_backup_map_start=589816
zone_first=1122 zone_last=263265 zone_size=262144 min(chunk)=262144
free=262144 checksum=dac4bba1 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=1
Z1: type=2
map_start=263266 map_size=6 backup_map_start=589816
next_map_start=263272 next_map_size=34 next_backup_map_start=589782
zone_first=589824 zone_last=138215423 zone_size=137625600 min(chunk)=20480
free=134225920 checksum=3da83da4 logstamp=8681175 num_bitmap=14
Z2: type=1
map_start=263272 map_size=34 backup_map_start=589782
next_map_start=138219520 next_map_size=1 next_backup_map_start=138809343
zone_first=263306 zone_last=589777 zone_size=326472 min(chunk)=8
free=227056 checksum=bb089678 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=17
Z3: type=0
map_start=138219520 map_size=1 backup_map_start=138809343
next_map_start=138481665 next_map_size=10 next_backup_map_start=138809333
zone_first=138219521 zone_last=138481664 zone_size=262144 min(chunk)=262144
free=262144 checksum=fe815561 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=1
Z4: type=2
map_start=138481665 map_size=10 backup_map_start=138809333
next_map_start=138481675 next_map_size=34 next_backup_map_start=138809299
zone_first=138809344 zone_last=310718463 zone_size=171909120 min(chunk)=20480
free=170352640 checksum=b6e82ca1 logstamp=8681175 num_bitmap=15
Z5: type=1
map_start=138481675 map_size=34 backup_map_start=138809299
next_map_start=310728704 next_map_size=131 next_backup_map_start=310730621
zone_first=138481709 zone_last=138809292 zone_size=327584 min(chunk)=8
free=320112 checksum=e75e639c logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=17
Z6: type=2
map_start=310728704 map_size=131 backup_map_start=310730621
next_map_start=0 next_map_size=0 next_backup_map_start=0
zone_first=310730752 zone_last=3905175551 zone_size=3594444800 min(chunk)=20480
free=3594280960 checksum=e674ed20 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=19

Partition Maps
#: type name length base ( size )
1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63@1 ( 31.5K)
2 Image Bootstrap 1 1@309550766 ( 512.0 )
3 Image Kernel 1 8192@309550767 ( 4.0M)
4 Ext2 Root 1 524288@309558959 ( 256.0M)
5 Image Bootstrap 2 1@310083247 ( 512.0 )
6 Image Kernel 2 8192@310083248 ( 4.0M)
7 Ext2 Root 2 524288@310091440 ( 256.0M)
8 Swap Linux swap 262144@310615728 ( 128.0M)
9 Ext2 /var 524288@310877872 ( 256.0M)
10 MFS MFS application region 589824@311402160 ( 288.0M)
11 MFS MFS media region 137630712@171920054 ( 65.6G)
12 MFS MFS application region 2 589824@311991984 ( 288.0M)
13 MFS MFS media region 2 171919990@64 ( 82.0G)
14 MFS MFS App by Winmfs 2048@312581808 ( 1.0M)
15 MFS MFS Media by Winmfs 3594444800@312583856 ( 1.7T)

Total SA SD Hours: 2083 Total DTV SD Hours: 1818 100 % Free
Software: 11.0k-01-2-652 Tivo Model: TCD652160
sAe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:28 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by sAe23 View Post
Here is the WinMFS info.
I am still looking for a spare drive to test with.
I'm also considering running the "Fix" utils in WinMFS, but will wait for your feedback...

Mfsinfo (Drive 1)

Boot Page
Boot Page: root=/dev/hda4
Active Boot Partition: 3 Active Root Partition: 4
Backup Boot Partition: 6 Backup Root Partition: 7

MFS Super Header
state=0 magic=ebbafeed
devlist=/dev/hda10 /dev/hda11 /dev/hda12 /dev/hda13 /dev/hda14 /dev/hda15
zonemap_ptr=1121 total_secs=3905175552

Zone Maps
Z0: type=0
map_start=1121 map_size=1 backup_map_start=589822
next_map_start=263266 next_map_size=6 next_backup_map_start=589816
zone_first=1122 zone_last=263265 zone_size=262144 min(chunk)=262144
free=262144 checksum=dac4bba1 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=1
Z1: type=2
map_start=263266 map_size=6 backup_map_start=589816
next_map_start=263272 next_map_size=34 next_backup_map_start=589782
zone_first=589824 zone_last=138215423 zone_size=137625600 min(chunk)=20480
free=134225920 checksum=3da83da4 logstamp=8681175 num_bitmap=14
Z2: type=1
map_start=263272 map_size=34 backup_map_start=589782
next_map_start=138219520 next_map_size=1 next_backup_map_start=138809343
zone_first=263306 zone_last=589777 zone_size=326472 min(chunk)=8
free=227056 checksum=bb089678 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=17
Z3: type=0
map_start=138219520 map_size=1 backup_map_start=138809343
next_map_start=138481665 next_map_size=10 next_backup_map_start=138809333
zone_first=138219521 zone_last=138481664 zone_size=262144 min(chunk)=262144
free=262144 checksum=fe815561 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=1
Z4: type=2
map_start=138481665 map_size=10 backup_map_start=138809333
next_map_start=138481675 next_map_size=34 next_backup_map_start=138809299
zone_first=138809344 zone_last=310718463 zone_size=171909120 min(chunk)=20480
free=170352640 checksum=b6e82ca1 logstamp=8681175 num_bitmap=15
Z5: type=1
map_start=138481675 map_size=34 backup_map_start=138809299
next_map_start=310728704 next_map_size=131 next_backup_map_start=310730621
zone_first=138481709 zone_last=138809292 zone_size=327584 min(chunk)=8
free=320112 checksum=e75e639c logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=17
Z6: type=2
map_start=310728704 map_size=131 backup_map_start=310730621
next_map_start=0 next_map_size=0 next_backup_map_start=0
zone_first=310730752 zone_last=3905175551 zone_size=3594444800 min(chunk)=20480
free=3594280960 checksum=e674ed20 logstamp=8681169 num_bitmap=19

Partition Maps
#: type name length base ( size )
1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63@1 ( 31.5K)
2 Image Bootstrap 1 1@309550766 ( 512.0 )
3 Image Kernel 1 8192@309550767 ( 4.0M)
4 Ext2 Root 1 524288@309558959 ( 256.0M)
5 Image Bootstrap 2 1@310083247 ( 512.0 )
6 Image Kernel 2 8192@310083248 ( 4.0M)
7 Ext2 Root 2 524288@310091440 ( 256.0M)
8 Swap Linux swap 262144@310615728 ( 128.0M)
9 Ext2 /var 524288@310877872 ( 256.0M)
10 MFS MFS application region 589824@311402160 ( 288.0M)
11 MFS MFS media region 137630712@171920054 ( 65.6G)
12 MFS MFS application region 2 589824@311991984 ( 288.0M)
13 MFS MFS media region 2 171919990@64 ( 82.0G)
14 MFS MFS App by Winmfs 2048@312581808 ( 1.0M)
15 MFS MFS Media by Winmfs 3594444800@312583856 ( 1.7T)

Total SA SD Hours: 2083 Total DTV SD Hours: 1818 100 % Free
Software: 11.0k-01-2-652 Tivo Model: TCD652160
It may be choking on the size of partition 15.

But here's something you can try.

No guarantees.

Using that same 652_gset.tbk file, use WinMFS to restore it to the 2TB drive.

It'll overwrite what's on there now.

Just restore, do not expand.

That should put 13 partitions on there, plus a 14th "Apple Free" partition.

You should get a dialog box that offers something about whether you want the advanced partition layout or not.

I forget how it's worded so accept the option that does give you the advanced layout (it might be the default).

In that same box, there will be something about the swap partition size.

Let's go ahead and waste an entire 15 minutes of video worth of space on it, just to be on the safe side.

Enter 1000 or 1024, your choice.

When it finishes, your partition map should say that partition 8 is 1GB or 1000MB in size.

And don't bother with supersizing at this time.

When it finishes, click on mfsinfo, and you should have a big Apple Free partition (#14) on the end.

Take it out, see if it'll work in the TiVo.

If it does, let it contact the TiVo servers and update the software version.

You want 11.0.k

You'll have to go through Guided Setup again and let it reboot a lot, and somewhere in that process it should update the software.

It might take a day or 3.


When that's taken care of and the dust has settled and the drive is working properly (if it is, we still don't know if that model is compatible or not), then you can use WinMFS and click on mfsadd to see if it'll let you use the rest of the drive without having to do any special tricks.

Report back.


I'm basing this on something a guy did with an original S3, which wasn't supposed to be able to use a 2TB drive under any circumstances, but apparently with the latest version of the software it can.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:40 PM   #8
sAe23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Ok,
I re-did the restore as per your directions.
The MFS info looks like you described.

Tivo still reboots endlessly after finishing the guided setup.

I am in the process of freeing up a 1TB drive (don't know make/model yet as it's inside an external case).

Meanwhile, I found an MFS file for a 648250B.
Would this work for an HD?
Also, a friend has the image file from an instantcake CD for an HD.
Would I need to boot linux and type arcane magic to use it? <g>

Regardless, I'll wait and see if the 1TB drive works before trying the other files.

Steve
sAe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:42 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by sAe23 View Post
Ok,
I re-did the restore as per your directions.
The MFS info looks like you described.

Tivo still reboots endlessly after finishing the guided setup.

I am in the process of freeing up a 1TB drive (don't know make/model yet as it's inside an external case).

Meanwhile, I found an MFS file for a 648250B.
Would this work for an HD?
Also, a friend has the image file from an instantcake CD for an HD.
Would I need to boot linux and type arcane magic to use it? <g>

Regardless, I'll wait and see if the 1TB drive works before trying the other files.

Steve
That Hitachi goes all the way through GS?

But then gives trouble?

Anyway you need a TCD652160 image for a TCD6521260.

Go here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...01#post8831301


Further re-reading shows you already did but I'll leave that link there anyway.

Just for grins, run WinMFS on it again and select fix boot or boot fix or whatever it's called, it'll present you with option 1 and option 2.

You're already set at what option 1 would do for you, so choose option 2 and then put it back in the TiVo and try again.


According to the Hitachi spec sheet this thing uses the old non-advanced format 512 bytes per sector, or at least that's what it tells whatever's talking to it, so that part shouldn't be a problem.

Go here:

http://www.hgst.com/support/index-fi...gacy-downloads

and download the cd image for the

Drive Fitness Test

and the one for the

Feature Tool

just in case you wind up needing either one.

I looked to see if you needed to jumper it down from 6Gb/s to 3, or 1.5, but apparently that model is supposed to autonegotiate and any jumper block it has is for a different purpose.

As for that 1TB drive, if we're going to just use it as a middleman on the way to 2TB, you can leave it in the enclosure and not worry about what brand or model it is because it'll never actually go into the TiVo.

Here's the middleman technique.

Although I recommend that you go to mfslive.org and download the image for the MFS Live cd v1.4 and burn yourself a copy as an image onto a cd-r just to have it handy even if you don't own a TiVo, for this we're going to use WinMFS, because it doesn't seem to leave a small Apple Free partition the way MFS Live sometimes does, and that Apple Free partition, no matter how small, screws up what the jmfs 1.04 cd does.

So, restore the image to the 1TB using WinMFS, accepting the advanced partition layout and setting the swap partition size to 1GB (1000 or 1024, your choice, in the dialog box).

If it offers to expand when it finishes, let it.

Otherwise you can run mfsadd afterwards.

Check the partition map via mfsinfo, and make sure you only have a total of 15 partitions, and that 10-15 are MFS pairs.

Then get out of Windows, hook up both the 1TB and the 2TB (and if you have to unhook the Windows drive temporarily, that's not a problem at all if it isn't a GigaByte brand motherboard).

Then boot from the jmfs cd, and tell it to copy the 1TB to the 2TB, and be sure you know which drive is which and only specify the right ones.

When it finishes the copy, tell it to expand the 2TB.

That should do it.

Stick it in the TiVo which you're sure has no power supply problems, and boot it up and see if that model Hitachi works in TiVos.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:32 AM   #10
sAe23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
I've decided that if the 1TB drive works, it will stay in the TIVO and the 2TB drive will go into the external case or my readyNAS.
I just have to wait for the 500+ gigs of data to move off of the 1TB before I can start (it's down to 300 gig to go and 18+ hours in Windoze time).

Frustratingly enough, I tried to do the "fix boot" option but for some reason WinMFS no longer sees the drive. Once the data copies off the 1TB I'll reboot the PC and try again.

This is all cutting it very close as TWC is supposed to be here between noon and 2pm to deal with the cable cards... Had to wait 4 days for this appointment, don't want to have to wait another week
sAe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:41 AM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,424
Good luck!
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:09 PM   #12
sAe23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Follow Up

Hi,

I got the 1TB drive (samsung hd103uj) to work, but only after using the MFSlive boot CD. WinMFS kept giving me inode errors. I tested the drive with the samsung app and it passed smart and short tests.

I have had one spontaneous reboot so far
(Was changing channels to a time-sliced channel and while it was trying to acquire it, poof! Reboot!)
I plan on retesting the drive using the kickstart code to see if it passes.

I created a 512m swap and did not do anything to expand the capacity of the drive.
How many hours would I gain ??

I hindsight, I should have tested the 2TB drive with the live cd, if only to report the results here but it's serving a higher purpose now
Thanks for providing all of the helpful info!
sAe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |