TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2012, 11:13 AM   #1
fazct
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Do computers affect a TiVO remote?

I have a TiVo Premiere XL4 (with a Slide remote) in a room with three computers and the remote is very sluggish to respond. Sometimes it takes three or four clicks to register on the screen. Sometimes the clicks seem to queue up and get transmitted all at the same time. Sometimes the click gets stuck and keeps trying to go to the left/right, etc. (whatever button I pushed). I switched to a regular remote and have the same problem. This problem also was evident on the previous TiVo in this room (an HD). A have another TiVo in another room with no computers in it and am not having this problem. I think that maybe there is EM interference causing this. Any suggestions?
fazct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:26 AM   #2
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,763
If I were you I might look elsewhere for the cause of the problem
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:46 AM   #3
philw1776
Registered User
 
philw1776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 2,034
No problem with multiple computers and 2.4GHz wireless. The remote isn't a 2.4Ghz wireless device.

I had a network TiVo wireless adapter connection problem that had the side effect of making my remote slow so I suggest that you reboot router, any TiVo wireless adapter and if that doesn't fix, reboot the TiVo
philw1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:48 AM   #4
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,013
have you tried new batteries?
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:50 AM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,168
Does this slide do this in bluetooth mode and without the bluetooth dongle? If so, try moving the dongle to the front of the unit with the extender provided in the box. This helped me.

If you move the remotes to the other tivo, what happens? What happens when the three computers are turned OFF?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:59 PM   #6
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by philw1776 View Post
The remote isn't a 2.4Ghz wireless device.
The Slide is, in Bluetooth mode.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,634
Do you have remotes for other devices? Check the area to make sure all other remotes are accounted for and not transmitting (e.g. stuck button).

I've heard TVs with backlighting can cause remote interferance. Does your TV have this feature?
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:39 AM   #8
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 620
Did you try turning off the computers to see if it makes a difference?
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:46 PM   #9
philw1776
Registered User
 
philw1776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 2,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
The Slide is, in Bluetooth mode.
Yes. I stand corrected. Need to read the OP more carefully.
philw1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:41 PM   #10
fazct
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Thank you all for your responses.

FYI, the TV is a basic LG 26" LCD 60 Hz (not LED or plasma).

FYI, there is a dual-band wireless-N router in the room with the TiVo and the computers.

The slide remote has 86% battery power left so I do not think it is a battery issue.

I was already using the extender for the dongle and it was positioned at the front.

I turned off all of the computers in the room and the problem got about 75% better but did not completely go away.

I connected the slide remote to my other TiVo and the problem did not follow the remote to the other TiVo.

I put away the slide remote and used the glow remote that came with the XL4 and that remote works fine.

So, bottom line, something (maybe the computers, maybe the router, or something else) is interfering with just the bluetooth remote.
fazct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:55 AM   #11
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 620
It's the router. When the computers are off they're generating less network traffic and therefore less wireless activity. Try moving the router farther from the TiVo and your sitting position. Also maybe put them on different electrical outlets if you can.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:40 AM   #12
wkearney99
Bill Kearney
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,460
Or if the routers and the cards in the computers support it then configure them to use 5gHz N wifi instead. Or make sure they're all in at least G mode, disabling B entirely. Many also have a bluetooth compatibility mode, make sure it's enabled. But moving to 5gHz N would help the most.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 06:35 PM   #13
fazct
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
OK, thanks for the advice. I appreciate it.
fazct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:39 PM   #14
cuhulin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Are the other remotes also bluetooth devices? My S3 HD has developed this problem with its remote as well.
cuhulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:48 PM   #15
Jonathan_S
Registered User
 
Jonathan_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 13,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuhulin View Post
Are the other remotes also bluetooth devices? My S3 HD has developed this problem with its remote as well.
Only the slide remote is a bluetooth device. All the other Tivo remotes are IR devices.


But they can suffer from interference problems as well; just from lights or other remotes, rather that RF interference. A remote with something jamming a button down isn't that uncommon a reason for a TiVo to stop responding properly to its own remote
__________________
Xbox: MetalThreshkeen -- PSN: Threshkeen
TiVo Elite
Jonathan_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:10 PM   #16
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,189
I'll mention that when I first got my Slide remote, I hooked the dongle up without the extender cable. When I tried to use the Slide remote near my laptop, I ended up with all kinds of issues such as stuck or missing remote key presses and the like. I fixed this by using the extender cable to place the dongle off to the side on my Premiere.

So yes, any a computer can interfere with the Slide remote, if the signal is weak. Actually any electronics equipment can do that.

I highly recommend using the extender cable and move it as far away from any electronically equipment (including the TiVo) as possible.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |