TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2012, 11:19 AM   #1
noone3000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 43
TiVo Premiere menus- why can't they all look good?

I have noticed that when you drill into a menu, such as to the Season Pass sub-menu, the text and lettering gets real large. They look like SD menus up converted to HD. Why can't they make it all look congruent?
noone3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:33 AM   #2
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Tivo is still in the process of converting them.. Many threads here on that. I believe almost all of them will be done in the Fall Update
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:41 AM   #3
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,529
I'd be happy if they weren't still laggy and buggy on my Elite after the fall update. Losing pause/resume points and locking up in SD sub-menus led to a quick switch back to SDUI for me. That sucked, because I really like the new guide in HD.

My guess is that the HDUI will never be fast enough, however, even if they fix the bugs and update all the menus. Using Flash on the existing hardware was the wrong choice, or the programmers don't know how to tune code to make it run better.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:43 AM   #4
noone3000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 43
Fall Update, eh?

I'll have to look into that.
noone3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:15 PM   #5
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
I'd be happy if they weren't still laggy and buggy on my Elite after the fall update. Losing pause/resume points and locking up in SD sub-menus led to a quick switch back to SDUI for me. That sucked, because I really like the new guide in HD.

My guess is that the HDUI will never be fast enough, however, even if they fix the bugs and update all the menus. Using Flash on the existing hardware was the wrong choice, or the programmers don't know how to tune code to make it run better.
Sorry you are having those issues but i have been running the HDUI since September and have had no issues on my 2 premieres
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:36 PM   #6
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,452
The To Do list, Season Pass Manager, and the (multi-room) My Shows screens will be updated next.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:21 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
I really can't believe it's taken them so long. The Premiere was released over 2 years ago. I understood why they had to release it half finished, (they had a deadline) but why has it taken them 2+ years to update the other screens. Heck until the update that just hit in Jan/Feb of this year nothing had really changed at all since the initial release. I'm glad to see that they seem to be back on track, but I still wonder why it took so long.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:05 PM   #8
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
Sorry you are having those issues but i have been running the HDUI since September and have had no issues on my 2 premieres
Been running them on 3 premieres also and they are quite slow compared to the SD menus or HD menus of other providers like directv.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:07 PM   #9
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
I'd be happy if they weren't still laggy and buggy on my Elite after the fall update. Losing pause/resume points and locking up in SD sub-menus led to a quick switch back to SDUI for me. That sucked, because I really like the new guide in HD.

My guess is that the HDUI will never be fast enough, however, even if they fix the bugs and update all the menus. Using Flash on the existing hardware was the wrong choice, or the programmers don't know how to tune code to make it run better.
I think you are correct. The processor is a dog that will never be speedy in HD menus.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:39 PM   #10
Davedude
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
Been running them on 3 premieres also and they are quite slow compared to the SD menus or HD menus of other providers like directv.
I am sorry but I have to disagree about Directv. I just left them after 10 years because their DVRs would not respond for up to 20 seconds after a remote key press. I had 3 HR21s and they were so frustrating, their firmware was so buggy. I now have 3 premieres and I love them! They are very fast for me in HD menus and full of great features. My whole family is glad we switched.
Davedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 09:02 PM   #11
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
I love Direct TV also but there new HD Interface is horribly slow. LOTS of complaints over at dbstalk.com on all HR models the HD interface is slower than the old
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:50 AM   #12
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davedude View Post
I am sorry but I have to disagree about Directv. I just left them after 10 years because their DVRs would not respond for up to 20 seconds after a remote key press. I had 3 HR21s and they were so frustrating, their firmware was so buggy. I now have 3 premieres and I love them! They are very fast for me in HD menus and full of great features. My whole family is glad we switched.
'Very fast' and 'HD menus' don't belong in the same sentence for any Premiere. But compared to the buggy D* DVRs, yeah I guess you could say that based on your experience.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:03 AM   #13
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,452
It's unfortunate, because the January update actually brought a fair bit of additional performance to the Premiere (it wasn't great but it was enough to convince me to switch to the HDUI). But then they basically took 50% of the gains back with the May update for some reason. Ugh. The Elite in particular is a bit of a slog.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 12:39 AM   #14
Adaptel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I really can't believe it's taken them so long. The Premiere was released over 2 years ago. I understood why they had to release it half finished, (they had a deadline) but why has it taken them 2+ years to update the other screens. Heck until the update that just hit in Jan/Feb of this year nothing had really changed at all since the initial release. I'm glad to see that they seem to be back on track, but I still wonder why it took so long.

Dan
I agree wholeheartedly with this statement. It really seems like every once & a while Tivo decides its product is embarrasingly lacking in many areas, hires some temp programmers, adds a few new features.....but never finishes anything and leaves all functionality half-done. I just realized that i have personally paid tivo $2500.00 in monthly fees over the years and spent another $2000.00 in purchasing their hardware. I have to ask myself...is it worth it? Will there ever be a point where I can say WOW, this is a great product? They seem to have good intentions, but can never pull it all together in the execution (like the new XFinity OnDemand feature). I was excited about this, but there are sooooooooo many bugs and quirks with it...don't get me started! I will go on the record ot say that 2 years from now, the OnDemand "Search" feature still won't work.
Adaptel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:02 AM   #15
noone3000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adaptel View Post
I agree wholeheartedly with this statement. It really seems like every once & a while Tivo decides its product is embarrasingly lacking in many areas, hires some temp programmers, adds a few new features.....but never finishes anything and leaves all functionality half-done. I just realized that i have personally paid tivo $2500.00 in monthly fees over the years and spent another $2000.00 in purchasing their hardware. I have to ask myself...is it worth it? Will there ever be a point where I can say WOW, this is a great product? They seem to have good intentions, but can never pull it all together in the execution (like the new XFinity OnDemand feature). I was excited about this, but there are sooooooooo many bugs and quirks with it...don't get me started! I will go on the record ot say that 2 years from now, the OnDemand "Search" feature still won't work.
I'd say it's in this state because TiVo has no competition pushing them to improve and compete.
noone3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:04 AM   #16
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by noone3000 View Post
I'd say it's in this state because TiVo has no competition pushing them to improve and compete.
I dont think that is true. Direct TV has updated there GUI, So has Verizon and Comcast and cablevision are next
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:59 AM   #17
noone3000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 43
I just saw this in another post which hints that there will only be 2 menus converted to HD, Grid Guide and Live Guide.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r273...-we-are-going-

So it sounds like Wish Lists and my main beef, multi-room tivo selection, will NOT be in HD.

Let's hope this post indicates only of changes for the RCN TiVo, and that more changes are planned for the public Tivo Premiere.

Bummer.

Last edited by noone3000 : 08-06-2012 at 12:06 PM.
noone3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:25 PM   #18
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,395
Read the software versions.

Tivo has been updating ahead of RCN updates. It appears RCN units are basically getting the new guide interface that everyone with a purchased Tivo has had for months.

The "fall update" is different, it is Tivo updating software for owned units. I assume RCN will get that eventually.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:05 PM   #19
SWFan
Registered User
 
SWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by noone3000 View Post
I'd say it's in this state because TiVo has no competition pushing them to improve and compete.
I guess if you don't include all the DVR's the cable companies have as competition then you'd be correct.

However I do include those all as competition. Tivo needs a product that blows those out of the water, otherwise if its just a little better customers will just opt for the crap-box the cable provider provides for $10/mo or free.
__________________
XBox Live gamertag = dougcpa

Captain Kirk: "Once again we've saved civilization as we know it."
Dr. McCoy: "And the good news is they're not going to prosecute."
SWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:03 PM   #20
noone3000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWFan View Post
I guess if you don't include all the DVR's the cable companies have as competition then you'd be correct.

However I do include those all as competition. Tivo needs a product that blows those out of the water, otherwise if its just a little better customers will just opt for the crap-box the cable provider provides for $10/mo or free.
Good point I hadn't earlier considered.

Still, Comcast in my area charges 16.95 per HD DVR rental. If I could rent one for $10/month, I probably would.
noone3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:50 PM   #21
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,647
I could have had a free DVR from FiOS. That's nowhere near enough of an incentive for me to use it though. They would need to pay me alot each month(like free service and more) to use it and actually rely on it.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 07:49 AM   #22
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I could have had a free DVR from FiOS. That's nowhere near enough of an incentive for me to use it though. They would need to pay me alot each month(like free service and more) to use it and actually rely on it.

I agree. My cable company uses that I Guide POS. I could care less how fast it was. it sucked.
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |