TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
TiVoEvan74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,158
MOCA and remote controls?

I've been reading with interest the various threads around here pertaining to MOCA (media over cable).

What I keep missing, though, is any discussion of how one could control a device remotely. Shouldn't that be possible?

In other words, if you have a TiVo in one room of the house, is there a way of

1) using MOCA to see its contents on a TV in another room? and

2) to control it remotely (i.e., Now Playing, pick shows to watch, etc.)?

Hope this makes sense.

My suspicion is that some sort of IR extender, remote device would be needed for #2; unsure about what's needed to set up #1.
TiVoEvan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,627
MoCA as used by TiVo is just how you connect the box to your network.

For example I have FiOS which is a MoCA router and with an Elite/XL4, I would not need to use Ethernet or wireless for any connections; I would only connect the Coax cable and this box would be able to talk to other devices on my home network as well as download software updates and movies and such.

Hopefully this helps.
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Premier Elite
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:14 AM   #3
chimerax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoEvan74 View Post
I've been reading with interest the various threads around here pertaining to MOCA (media over cable).

What I keep missing, though, is any discussion of how one could control a device remotely. Shouldn't that be possible?

In other words, if you have a TiVo in one room of the house, is there a way of

1) using MOCA to see its contents on a TV in another room? and

2) to control it remotely (i.e., Now Playing, pick shows to watch, etc.)?

Hope this makes sense.

My suspicion is that some sort of IR extender, remote device would be needed for #2; unsure about what's needed to set up #1.
It is possible. MoCA is working on Multi Room DVR. With that you can view what is playing or recording on other DVR or TiVo. With MoCA Ethernet you can bridge or supply network and multimedia connectivity to a TV, computer, game console, laptop, etc. Devices with integrated MoCA support can interface directly without the use of an adapter.
chimerax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |