TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2012, 12:11 PM   #31
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
I'm not sure where you're getting that it's been a recurring issue because I've never run out of guide data with WMC.
I'm too lazy to go look up all the threads at thegreenbutton.tv for you again, but it's been an ongoing issue for a while now. Ceton has gotten involved with MS on multiple occasions to get the problem resolved, and in some cases it's come with folks only having 2-3 days of guide data left. You can thank the folks there and Ceton's excellent reps for making sure that we never ran out of data.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 03:27 PM   #32
stcaudle12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Tivo

Good luck! I like the fact that Tivo is sending updates constantly and it works like it's supposed to. PC's are a pain.
stcaudle12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 03:36 PM   #33
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,251
See ya
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:49 PM   #34
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
I'm set in my ways now and have no desire to learn a different system. The Tivo *just works*.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 05:53 PM   #35
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
I tried a PC tuner and WMC but ran into several issues just with the cable connection. Pixelation was a constant issue (maybe it's the tuner's fault) but I also have to manually input the channel lineup and have no guide data for them. Don't really have an option for OTA where I'm at.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 08:01 AM   #36
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
I'm too lazy to go look up all the threads at thegreenbutton.tv for you again, but it's been an ongoing issue for a while now. Ceton has gotten involved with MS on multiple occasions to get the problem resolved, and in some cases it's come with folks only having 2-3 days of guide data left. You can thank the folks there and Ceton's excellent reps for making sure that we never ran out of data.
So exactly how much guide data do you need? While it's nice to be able to set up recordings days or even weeks in advance, as long as the guide data is present on the day a program airs, season passes will pick them up and record them automatically. My point was that I never missed a recording due to lack of guide data. I only record single shows on an occasional basis and have season passes set up for 99% of my recordings.

FWIW, I didn't make the transition from Tivo to HTPC overnight. I started off using my HTPC with OTA tuners to record locals because DirecTV didn't carry all of them. I watch a lot of network TV and I found myself using the HTPC for recording as much as my Tivos. I eventually switched to FIOS when it became available and bought a couple of S3 Tivos at $600 a pop. My recording chores were pretty much evenly split between cable and OTA at this point.

When the Ceton tuner became available I upgraded my HTPC to Windows 7 Media Center. I used both the Tivos and the WMC PC for recording cable programs for several months, mainly as a backup in case the HTPC didn't work the way I wanted. WMC turned out to be extremely reliable and I eventually stopped using the Tivos altogether.

The total transition from Tivo to HTPC spanned over several years so it's not something I just jumped into lightly. I had growing pains with the HTPC, but the vast majority of problems I experienced were hardware related. The current hardware and drivers are extremely stable to the point where just about anyone can put together a stable HTPC without a lot of effort. That's not to say you still won't have issues, but chances are they'll be fewer and farther between than using systems from several years ago.

HTPCs are a hobby, not an appliance. If you want a security blanket, get a Tivo. If you like to tinker and enjoy the satisfaction of building something yourself that works amazingly well, consider an HTPC. It's up to the individual to decide what's important to them.

Last edited by mr.unnatural : 07-26-2012 at 08:20 AM.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:40 PM   #37
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Jeez Louise, why does every post of yours turn into a tout about how great HTPCs are, no matter what else anyone says about possible issues with WMC?

We get it.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:53 PM   #38
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Jeez Louise, why does every post of yours turn into a tout about how great HTPCs are, no matter what else anyone says about possible issues with WMC?

We get it.
I just put him on ignore. He doesn't have a TiVo and just trolls here.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 02:26 PM   #39
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Actually, I've got quite a few Tivos. I just don't use them anymore.

FYI, if you don't like my posts I don't see anyone forcing you to read them.

What's funny is that these forums are full of people complaining about problems with Tivos. You guys are raving about how great Tivos are and ignoring the issues you have with your own hardware and software. When an alternative solution is mentioned all the Tivo fanboys jump on the bandwagon and trash it. In case you hadn't noticed, this thread is about the OP ditching Tivo in favor of an HTPC. My posts have been in keeping with the original topic.

The point is that anything electronic has issues from time to time. Some people have Tivos that work, others don't. Same goes for HTPCs. You use whatever suits your fancy.

Last edited by mr.unnatural : 07-26-2012 at 02:48 PM.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 01:18 AM   #40
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Jeez Louise, why does every post of yours turn into a tout about how great HTPCs are, no matter what else anyone says about possible issues with WMC?

We get it.
At least he admits that HTPCs are really just for tinkerers. If he'd put that disclaimer on every post we'd have fewer issues.

Then again, anyone foolish enough to want another Windows PC in their life deserves to have another Windows PC in their life so at least he's helping to meet out just punishment for fools.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:38 PM   #41
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Congrats! You just referred to about 95% of the forum membership as fools. If I put the disclaimer in every post then you guys would be griping that I'm being too repetitive. Like it or not, Windows PCs are here to stay. The vast majority of the population uses them and virtually every large business uses them, regardless of what you think about them. I'm no fan of anything Microsoft but I have to admit that Windows 7 is the best thing that's come out of Redmond in decades. It's more stable than any version I've used in the past. Media Center is just icing on the cake.

I use a Windows PC every day at work. I've also used Unix workstations, Linux-based systems, and Macs. Frankly, a Windows PC does everything I need it to and I rarely have issues with them. I've been using the same Windows PC at home for years without so much as a single glitch that was software related. I've also got a Hackintosh that I built that I haven't even turned on in over a year. I stick with my Windows PC because it's what I'm used to, same as you guys are with your Tivos. It's just something that resides within your comfort zone.

I'd be curious to know what impact Win 7 with Media Center has on Tivo's subscriber numbers based on this article. Tivo's subscriber base has apparently shrunk from a peak of 4.36 million in January of 2006 to a level of 1.93 million as of July 2011. Sounds to me like there aren't as many happy Tivo customers as there used to be.

Last edited by mr.unnatural : 07-27-2012 at 07:47 PM.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 08:47 PM   #42
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Congrats! You just referred to about 95% of the forum membership as fools.
Nah, I give them the benefit of a doubt and assume that many of those who have one really don't want another.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 09:21 PM   #43
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,500
I definitely want another. I will certainly be upgrading at least four of my systems to Windows 8.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:07 PM   #44
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 955
I just got my second ceton card installed in a second computer. now i just need a ceton echo for my bedroom.

There is one thing i like about wmc is watching the olympics in fast forward with sound.

on thing i dont like about wmc is the power use. my computer uses 100watts recording shows and upto 600 watts when playing games.
but its hibernates about 10 hours aday.
tootal2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 10:01 AM   #45
emphasis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
b

bye and good luck
emphasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:14 AM   #46
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc View Post
Nah, I give them the benefit of a doubt and assume that many of those who have one really don't want another.
Let me guess. You own a Mac, right? If that's the case then it's no wonder you don't have a problem paying outrageous fees for proprietary hardware and software with little or no upgradeability. Nice computers, but completely overpriced and overhyped.

Last edited by mr.unnatural : 07-30-2012 at 08:20 AM.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 10:29 PM   #47
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,641
You don't know what you're talking about.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:44 AM   #48
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 955
You forgot macs are also bad at gaming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Let me guess. You own a Mac, right? If that's the case then it's no wonder you don't have a problem paying outrageous fees for proprietary hardware and software with little or no upgradeability. Nice computers, but completely overpriced and overhyped.

tootal2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 03:18 AM   #49
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Let me guess. You own a Mac, right? If that's the case then it's no wonder you don't have a problem paying outrageous fees for proprietary hardware and software with little or no upgradeability. Nice computers, but completely overpriced and overhyped.
Nope, Linux. The only Apple product I've ever purchased was a refurb iPod to run Rockbox. But I don't disagree that Apple products would probably be better for most consumers than Windows PCs.

A MS advocate complaining about Apple's proprietary hardware and software is very much a pot/kettle scenario.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:03 PM   #50
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 955
Gamers do not use macs! I used redhat fedroa linux for about a year before windows 7 came out. and i like windows 7 a lot better. I did think that cube thing was kind of neat in linux.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc View Post
Nope, Linux. The only Apple product I've ever purchased was a refurb iPod to run Rockbox. But I don't disagree that Apple products would probably be better for most consumers than Windows PCs.

A MS advocate complaining about Apple's proprietary hardware and software is very much a pot/kettle scenario.

tootal2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:27 PM   #51
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc View Post
Nope, Linux. The only Apple product I've ever purchased was a refurb iPod to run Rockbox. But I don't disagree that Apple products would probably be better for most consumers than Windows PCs.

A MS advocate complaining about Apple's proprietary hardware and software is very much a pot/kettle scenario.
Who you calling a MS advocate? I can't stand Microsoft, regardless of what I think about Windows 7 and Media Center. I also don't like any company that hamstrings the consumer with a system that only allows the use of hardware and software they provide at ridiculous prices. I use Windows because it's what I'm used to and it also allows me a lot more choices.

Linux would have been my next guess. You're still somewhat restricted by hardware and software choices unless you know how to write your own drivers. Still, it's a bit more flexible in some ways than the Mac OS.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:50 PM   #52
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
You don't know what you're talking about.
Really? Last time I checked I couldn't just buy a new motherboard, CPU, and memory from Newegg to upgrade a Mac to the latest and greatest. It requires purchasing an entirely new Mac. I can rejuvenate my PC with a minimal investment of only $200-300 whereas a new Mac would probably cost at least 5-6 times that.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:04 PM   #53
dan0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I definitely want another. I will certainly be upgrading at least four of my systems to Windows 8.
I hope you dont use windows media center
Quote:
News is circulating around the Internet that Microsoft is taking Windows Media Center out of Windows 8 and offering it as a separate paid add-on for Windows 8 Pro users. Many are not happy about the decision.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/25662...e_preview.html
http://www.pcworld.com/article/25506...windows_8.html
http://pcper.com/news/General-Tech/W...ture-Windows-8
dan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:46 PM   #54
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,500
No I don't use WMC. I used it some a long time ago with XP but that was it.

Sent from my HTC ReZound using Forum Runner
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 09:31 PM   #55
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
Microsoft will be offering Windows 8 Professional as an upgrade for $39.99 through January 31 of 2013 and will be including Media Center as a free download. The fact that many people are not happy about the decision indicates the popularity of Media Center among enthusiasts. Sadly, this is so typical of Microsoft to abandon a product that many consumers have embraced.

Considering that Windows 7 should be around for at least another 7-8 years and probably longer there's no reason to panic about the loss of Media Center. Chances are at least one third party software developer will bite the bullet and get certified by CableLabs to support the various tuners currently available.

Last edited by mr.unnatural : 08-01-2012 at 09:40 PM.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 12:08 AM   #56
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 955
Its going to cost 39.99 to upgrade to windows 8 with windows media center included. you have upgrade online to get this deal.

you can even upgrade xp to windows 8 for 39.99.



tootal2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:24 AM   #57
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,699
You have the option to install from the website or download the files to your PC so you can burn it to a DVD or put it on a flash drive and install it from there. I believe they provide instructions for installing from a flash drive.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:38 AM   #58
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Desktop PCs aren't going anywhere.
Yeah, by definition...and by the same definition laptops are designed to go everywhere!!!

'Sorry, I just couldn't resist. The target was just too easy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Laptops aren't practical for many purposes
Frankly, I consider laptops impractical for almost any use. They make unacceptable compromises to accomplish unnecessary things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
and tablets have limited uses.
They do? I find it hard to think of any use for a tablet, "use" being defined as "something I would ever want to do".

'An exaggeration, of course, but not by much. They do make pretty good book readers, but my Kindle makes a better one for one whole heck of a lot less money.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Desktops are less expensive and easier to maintain and upgrade.
Faster, more powerful, more storage, more flexible, support a vastly greater number of peripherals, have a screen that is actually usable, are practical to use for controlling external devices, are vastly more ergonomic, support multiple optical drives, are far, far less fail, are practical for use in a RAID system, are harder to steal and essentially impossible to lose, stand up better to prolonged use...

Should I continue?

Last edited by lrhorer : 08-03-2012 at 12:56 AM.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:01 AM   #59
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc View Post
Nah, I give them the benefit of a doubt and assume that many of those who have one really don't want another.
Unfortunately I am stuck with quite a few. I don't want any at all.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:23 AM   #60
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Linux would have been my next guess. You're still somewhat restricted by hardware and software choices
Not so much, really. Almost every Windows app has one or more Linux analogs. Many have ports for both. Most Windows apps will run directly under wine or dosbox. There are a few - very few - exceptions. Unfortunately VideoRedo is one. Some people have reportedly gotten it to run under wine, but I haven't. I have experienced far more intractable hardware problems with Windows (especially XP and Windows 7) than with Linux.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
unless you know how to write your own drivers.
I'm about a hair's breadth from being inclined to say no one who can't write a driver should be allowed anywhere near a PC. It would surely make my life a hell of a lot easier and less stressful. OTOH, one of the great beauties of Linux is the developers are almost all easily accessible, so one does not need to know how to write a program or driver one's self. With a Mac or Windows, if I have a problem I cannot fix myself, my only recourse is to either abandon the project or else wait forever on hold on the phone so I can pay a huge amount of money to speak to some flunky who knows less about the PC than my dog... and then abandon the project. If I have a problem with a Linux app, I either submit a bug report using reportbug, or fire off an email to the mail list, or else fire off an email to the primary developer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Still, it's a bit more flexible in some ways than the Mac OS.
And both are obscenely rigid compared to Linux. IMO - and this time I am not kidding - I think it should be illegal to distribute any software that is not open source.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |