TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2012, 07:40 PM   #1
cmshep222
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 155
Got a letter from Fios (in VA). Hello Copy Protection!

From Fios today..."On or after July 31st, 2012, Verizon will begin to implement copy protection requirements that will prohibit the copying of recorded content to more than one recorder".

Oh well...It's been a fun NO COPY PROTECTION ride on Fios for 3 years. All good things must come to an end!
cmshep222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:58 PM   #2
jay_man2
jay_man-also
 
jay_man2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,938
Same here. Did the cable card reactivation as instructed in the letter.
__________________
Verizon FiOS, two Premiere Elites
jay_man2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:31 AM   #3
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 631
If it didn't break MRV it wouldn't be such a big deal. TiVo should have sued TW over this since boxes are allowed to do multi room. Of course now that the premiere has MRS it just pushes more revenue for TiVo too.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 05:03 PM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,076
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=489184
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:13 PM   #5
Joe-user21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Got letter; nightmare trying to "activate"

So, I got the letter (SE PA) regarding needing to "properly activate" my cable cards. I have two Series 3's (4 cc's) - that has been running with FIOS for years.

I tuned to 131, and of course could not receive the channel - got the "pairing" screen. Checked here, saw a couple people who did the phone activation in like 5 minutes with no problem - thought - lemme do this now, get a jump when they lock it down on July 31st.

So I tried the phone system. It read back my 4 cards - I entered the data - thought "great!". Sent the "hits". One Tivo locked up, the other went "gray screen". Rebooted both - now no reception on any channel on any cc - they have the channel list, but just gray screen.

Went through the phone menu several more times - and each time it read back a different subset of cards - thought I had 2, then 3 - so went to a rep.

He worked with me for about an hour and a half. We ended up getting 1 cc in each Tivo working. The other only showing "gray screen" (status NOT_SUBSCRIBED).

He said there seemed to be a problem between their equipment and provisioning databases. One system showed all 4 cc's were activated (paired?), the other had conflicting data. He tried valiantly, but was unable to delete and re-add the other 2 cc's to all the systems and keep them in sync.

Net is - he's sending me two new cable cards, that he provisioned from scratch. He said that was the only way left he knew how to get them added to ALL the Verizon databases, in sync.

Apparently since Verizon was lax about pairing in the past, these cc's were never provisioned 100% properly. And that bit me now.

Just wanted to post this cautionary note..

P.S. Of the two working cards, one shows 131 ok, but the other does not (both show SUBSCRIBED in status). The rep said that shouldn't be a problem, but I have a funny feeling come July 31st that working card will also crap out.
Joe-user21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:29 PM   #6
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
It was at least an hour on the phone for 3 premieres
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:09 PM   #7
Joe-user21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Quick follow-up to "Nightmare with non-provisioned cc's" - Rcv'd 2 new cc's from Verizon (with prepaid mailers to return the 2 non-provisioned). These came with a welcome letter and a "fast path" activation code. Used that on the activation website - the 2 new cards came up correctly, I entered the pairing data, Verizon sent the hits - worked like a charm with no further drama.
Joe-user21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 01:48 PM   #8
DocNo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bristow, VA
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmshep222
From Fios today..."On or after July 31st, 2012, Verizon will begin to implement copy protection requirements that will prohibit the copying of recorded content to more than one recorder".
That's annoying! They are finishing the physical installation of fibre in my neighborhood now

Oh well - I guess I should thank them. Now even if I stay with Comcast or switch to FIOS, I'll likely drop cable - cable card has been a huge PITA and I won't miss it. My HD antenna is working great and there are a ton of over the air channels here in northern VA. The few things I like that aren't OTA I can cherry pick on DVD, iTunes, Netflix or elsewhere far cheaper. Time to finish wiring the house and ditch cable TV once and for all!
__________________
Tivo Roamio and Tivo Mini - woot!
Tivo Premiere - probably to be replaced by another Mini
Series 3 - On the way out the door
Tivo HD - On the way out the door
DocNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 02:07 PM   #9
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocNo View Post
That's annoying! They are finishing the physical installation of fibre in my neighborhood now

Oh well - I guess I should thank them. Now even if I stay with Comcast or switch to FIOS, I'll likely drop cable - cable card has been a huge PITA and I won't miss it. My HD antenna is working great and there are a ton of over the air channels here in northern VA. The few things I like that aren't OTA I can cherry pick on DVD, iTunes, Netflix or elsewhere far cheaper. Time to finish wiring the house and ditch cable TV once and for all!
The copy protection at this point is only for HBO, FIOS and all providers are being forced by HBO to implement this. I suspect the remainder of the Premium channels (Cinimax, Showtime, etc... will also require carriers to implement it soon as weel)

But FIOS is for the going to be a lot less restrictive then other providers - Comcast restricts everything but local, not because they are required to, but because it is easier.

I am not recommending that you stay with Cable, just making sure you understand what is being implemented.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 02:13 PM   #10
DocNo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bristow, VA
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys
The copy protection at this point is only for HBO, FIOS and all providers are being forced by HBO to implement this. I suspect the remainder of the Premium channels (Cinimax, Showtime, etc... will also require carriers to implement it soon as weel)
Thanks for the clarification. The OP didn't specify so I just assumed Comcast level of "nuke everything" - this is much more reasonable and I don't have an issue with the commercial free premium channels being protected.

I just hope that's where it ends.... It will sure make me wary of any deals with a contracted time period...
__________________
Tivo Roamio and Tivo Mini - woot!
Tivo Premiere - probably to be replaced by another Mini
Series 3 - On the way out the door
Tivo HD - On the way out the door
DocNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 02:39 PM   #11
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,525
MOST Comcast localities only protect the premium channels. SOME Comcast localities are more locked down. TW is the one that locks down nearly everything in nearly every market.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #12
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
The copy protection at this point is only for HBO, FIOS and all providers are being forced by HBO to implement this. I suspect the remainder of the Premium channels (Cinimax, Showtime, etc... will also require carriers to implement it soon as weel)
HBO owns Cinemax, so Cinemax will do whatever HBO does.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |