TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2012, 09:30 AM   #1
jcostom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 28
THD on FiOS, would like to swap out for an M-card

Hello all..

I've had a happily running THD on FiOS for years now. When we got it, there were no multi-stream cards, so we have two single-stream cards.

What's the process look like to swap out for a single M-Card? I figure if it's not difficult, might as well reclaim that $4 a month.

Obviously, they'll send someone out to do the swap, but is it as simple as pull the old cards out, pair the new one and that's it?
__________________
TiVo HD -> 1TB Internal HD
TiVo Premiere XL
jcostom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
Martin Tupper
Pontiff Emeritus
 
Martin Tupper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,322
I swapped mine out the weekend before last.

I called customer support and said that I wanted to swap out (4) single-tuner cards for (2) multituner cards. They didn't understand what I was asking. Their system only shows one type of cable card and it apparently made no mention of S-Card vs. M-Card.

I ordered (2) new cards over the phone, which I was able to pickup at a local Verizon store. The new cards were red and white, and clearly labeled "M-Card". I got home, popped them in the TiVos, activated them online, and was up and running in about 5 minutes.

I waited until I got everything working before returning the S-Cards to the Verizon store. Knowing what I know, I would have taken the S-Cards with me on the first trip. After verifying that the new cards said "M-Card", I would have immediately returned the S-Cards

Last edited by Martin Tupper : 07-24-2012 at 10:34 AM.
Martin Tupper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:35 PM   #3
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,954
Yeah, I'd just trade cards at the store. That's what I did recently when replacing an S3 with a Premiere. They don't need to send anyone to you.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |