TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2012, 10:42 PM   #1
smalis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Can I Ip control an unsubscribed Tivo?

I have a Tivo Series 3 that I control over IP, on my home wifi network, and it works great.

I am thinking of buying a used Tivo (HD or Series 3) for my bedroom, to use as a tuner (with a CableCard, without a Tivo subscription) for my bedroom TV - much less expensive than renting a set top box from RCN.

Does anyone know if I can connect an unsubscribed Tivo to my wifi network, and control it over IP?

Thanks.
smalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 11:06 PM   #2
True Colors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 384
Never gonna happen.

Without a subscription the HD Tivo is just an oversized doorstop.

TC
True Colors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 01:11 AM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,602
You can use an unsubscribed Tivo as a tuner only. It will be like using a dumb cable box. You will only be able to control it with the remote control. No guide data. You can only change channels using the up/down arrow key or by directly entering the channel number from the numeric keypad.

If you are going to do this, I recommend getting a Series 3/Tivo HD. At least that way, you will still have a 30 minute live TV buffer on both tuners.
The Premiere line has the live TV buffers disabled on boxes with no subscription.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!

Last edited by steve614 : 07-21-2012 at 01:27 AM.
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,299
You will get pop up screens nagging you about not having Tivo service.
__________________
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-OTA
Humax DRT800-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Toshiba SD-H400-Basic-Cable
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 11:50 AM   #5
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,753
I don't think we actually know the answer to this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 05:42 PM   #6
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I don't think we actually know the answer to this.
Yes we do.
The key to doing anything with a tivo remotely is the MAK. An unsub'd Tivo has no MAK. No MAK means you can't do a damn thing with it remotely.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:20 PM   #7
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,753
No, the MAK is not required for the IP-based remote control service. (I refer here to the old, "Crestron" interface, not the new, "iPad" interface. But that's the only one that works on a Series 3 anyway.) In fact there is no authentication at all for the remote control service. It just has to be enabled in the menus.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:54 AM   #8
replaytv
Caught in a eddy
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post

The Premiere line has the live TV buffers disabled on boxes with no subscription.
If you get a Premiere with old enough software you can still have the live TV buffers and manual recording, but it is a pain to work with. The time will be off too.

If you can put up with a standard definition box and what to go the cheapest with basic features, go with a Pioneer or Toshiba DVD/DVR for about $40 on ebay that has basic Tivo for free. It only has 3 days of TV guide and no internet features other than guide download, but much better than working with unsubscribed TiVo.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 03:28 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by smalis View Post
I have a Tivo Series 3 that I control over IP, on my home wifi network, and it works great.

I am thinking of buying a used Tivo (HD or Series 3) for my bedroom, to use as a tuner (with a CableCard, without a Tivo subscription) for my bedroom TV - much less expensive than renting a set top box from RCN.

Does anyone know if I can connect an unsubscribed Tivo to my wifi network, and control it over IP?

Thanks.
How long have you had your current unit?

Lifetimed or monthly payments?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |