TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2012, 09:35 AM   #1
opus472
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 222
audio problems with a/v connection

When I do an a/v connection directly to the TV, the video works fine, but the audio is muted - if I max out the TV volume, can just barely hear sound. If I move the a/v cables from the Tivo to a DVD player, audio works normally. Previously had a/v connected thru a receiver, no audio problems (would prefer not to use a receiver and speakers due to temporary space limitations)

I've contacted tech support, and they're stumped. Tried both Dolby Digital and PCM settings, no change. Tried rebooting several times, briefly got sound on one of the reboots, then lost it again.

Any ideas? Thanks!
opus472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:36 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by opus472 View Post
When I do an a/v connection directly to the TV, the video works fine, but the audio is muted - if I max out the TV volume, can just barely hear sound. If I move the a/v cables from the Tivo to a DVD player, audio works normally. Previously had a/v connected thru a receiver, no audio problems (would prefer not to use a receiver and speakers due to temporary space limitations)

I've contacted tech support, and they're stumped. Tried both Dolby Digital and PCM settings, no change. Tried rebooting several times, briefly got sound on one of the reboots, then lost it again.

Any ideas? Thanks!
It's not impossible that a power supply going bad is to blame.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:15 PM   #3
opus472
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 222
Thanks unitron. Everything works ok using HDMI, it's only the a/v connection that's causing problems. I just tried it thru a soundbar, same thing. I can hear it, just barely, so it's getting thru, but at almost no volume. I've tried disconnecting HDMI from both ends, no change.
opus472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:36 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by opus472 View Post
Thanks unitron. Everything works ok using HDMI, it's only the a/v connection that's causing problems. I just tried it thru a soundbar, same thing. I can hear it, just barely, so it's getting thru, but at almost no volume. I've tried disconnecting HDMI from both ends, no change.
S2 and S3 TiVos are known for having power supply problems due to "capacitor plague", and these failing power supplies are known for causing strange symptoms, like one tuner works and the other one doesn't, or you get random reboots, and stuff.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 08:54 PM   #5
opus472
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 222
This is a Tivo HD, purchased at Costco in early 2008. What would the next step be, in determining whether it's actually a bum power supply? Does Tivo have a swap-out arrangement?
opus472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:33 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by opus472 View Post
This is a Tivo HD, purchased at Costco in early 2008. What would the next step be, in determining whether it's actually a bum power supply? Does Tivo have a swap-out arrangement?
Sorry, I never got email notice of your reply like I should have.

Go read the wikipedia article on "capacitor plague" and then use this site's search feature to look for "power supply capacitor", and especially look for the thread titled "broken" for a really good photo of how subtle the visual difference might be between good and bad caps.

You can replace any bad ones yourself for about $10 in parts.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |