TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2012, 07:23 AM   #1
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
Pre-purchase questions

1. Has the software been updated to use both processors yet?

2. How many M cards and tuning adapters does the XL4 need? (TWC RDU)

3. I currently have TWC whole house DVR, but it stinks. Besides the weak features, the DVRs and other receivers frequently fail to tune a channel and the get message that it's not currently available. Last night it was happening on several channels simultaneously, both HD and SD. I had always thought this was a symptom of over extended SDV, but a reboot seemed to clear it up (the TWC hardware needs rebooting at least once a week). Is "channel not available" common with the Tivos on TWC SDV?

4. Are there new Tivo models on the near horizon?

I've used Tivo in the past and loved them, but the copy protection TWC inflicted killed the multi room feature, which is a big must have for us. I'm about ready to invest in the Premiere's, but I want to make sure there are no outstanding issues or new models worth waiting for.
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:26 AM   #2
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by scole250 View Post
1. Has the software been updated to use both processors yet?

2. How many M cards and tuning adapters does the XL4 need? (TWC RDU)

3. I currently have TWC whole house DVR, but it stinks. Besides the weak features, the DVRs and other receivers frequently fail to tune a channel and the get message that it's not currently available. Last night it was happening on several channels simultaneously, both HD and SD. I had always thought this was a symptom of over extended SDV, but a reboot seemed to clear it up (the TWC hardware needs rebooting at least once a week). Is "channel not available" common with the Tivos on TWC SDV?

4. Are there new Tivo models on the near horizon?

I've used Tivo in the past and loved them, but the copy protection TWC inflicted killed the multi room feature, which is a big must have for us. I'm about ready to invest in the Premiere's, but I want to make sure there are no outstanding issues or new models worth waiting for.
I can answer a couple.

Yes Both CPU's have been enabled since Last Fall

You only need 1 Card and TA


There is rumors there may be a new model next year with the built in streaming box that comes out in the fall
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:51 AM   #3
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
What's the built in streaming box and how is that different than the streaming already supported by the Premieres?
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:01 AM   #4
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by scole250 View Post
What's the built in streaming box and how is that different than the streaming already supported by the Premieres?
on the main page of this website you can see a preview of Tivo Stream. For now it will be a box that attaches to your network to allow you to stream your recorded shows to tablets, smartphones etc. on your network


There is rumor it will get built into the box next year
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:08 AM   #5
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
I have TWC, who copy protects everything except local channels. Can you stream the copy protected recordings to other Tivos for viewing?
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:33 AM   #6
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by scole250 View Post
I have TWC, who copy protects everything except local channels. Can you stream the copy protected recordings to other Tivos for viewing?
Stream Yes, Transfer No
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:23 AM   #7
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
Stream Yes, Transfer No
And only to other Series 4 units (Premiere/Elite/XL4), not Series 3 or earlier that don't support streaming.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |