TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2012, 01:19 AM   #1
Tivo II Jack
Registered User
 
Tivo II Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 358
closed captioning

I have 2 Tivo HD units (HD 20hr R65216) with 1TB HD’s each connected via HDMI to the same two TV sets. Also connected to the same main TV set with composite cables is a Tivo Toshiba Humax unit with DVD.

On certain channels I do not get closed captioning from either HD unit on either TV. If I record the same shows from the HD channels with the Toshiba, the closed captioning is fine most of the time. BBC America shows often have jumbled cc.

Two of the channels affected are CBS and WPIX (NYC). I know the cc is there because at times a line of dialogue will appear but then freeze so that that one line remains on screen as the show progresses until it is replaced by a newer line later on.

I looked at the ALL the previous strings discussing loss of cc going back to 2006 before sending this and I did see some discussions saying that cc could not be carried with HDMI cables. My ccing is just fine on most other channels with the HDMI cables.

This is annoying because I have all HD equipment but must revert to the non HD Toshiba recordings when I watch shows on these channels.
Tivo II Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:44 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,650
My THD (652) works fine with CC on HDMI. Are you using the digital CC and not the older analog CC (check in CC setting menu.)

I think Digital CC is not widely used yet.

Also, if you are using the onscreen clock hack, that may interfere with CC on screen.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:20 PM   #3
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Are you using the digital CC and not the older analog CC (check in CC setting menu.)
99% of the time when you are having CC problems, it is this.

Go into Caption settings, and turn OFF digital captions, and turn ON analog captions.

Hopefully, you will be stunned how quickly that solves your problem.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
Tivo II Jack
Registered User
 
Tivo II Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
My THD (652) works fine with CC on HDMI. Are you using the digital CC and not the older analog CC (check in CC setting menu.)

I think Digital CC is not widely used yet.

Also, if you are using the onscreen clock hack, that may interfere with CC on screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
99% of the time when you are having CC problems, it is this.

Go into Caption settings, and turn OFF digital captions, and turn ON analog captions.

Hopefully, you will be stunned how quickly that solves your problem.

Thanks guys but I think you have both missed one very important detail here. I am pretty sure my clock is OFF. Both units are set to
Closed Captions: On
Digital Captions: DTVCC!

The main TV was set to
Standard Captions: None while the other was set to CC1. Both are now set to CC1.

I know I have switched from digital to analog and back a few times in the past, but there was no change in the CC's.

The important detail I mentioned is that the CC's are working just fine on most channels (Almost ALL) and the problem is only with the few channels such as CBS and WPIX. Also on BBC but I think their problem is home grown.

If these problems were being caused by my settings, it would be occurring with all channels. The two HD Tivos are using a single Time Warner Cable Card while the Toshiba Humax is connected to a digital non-HD Cable Box.

That is why I mentioned the HDMI cables. The Composite connected Toshiba does get the CC (Except on the BBC Channel). I guess I need to remove the HDMI cables and try the Composites on each unit to see if that is causing the problem.
Tivo II Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:50 PM   #5
wbertram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 35
As I understand it:

CC information will be sent over the Composite cables, and the TV will insert the text into the picture.

With either HDMI or Component cables, NO CC information can be sent over the cables. The text must be inserted into the picture by the STB or TiVo. So the CC settings on the TV never come into the picture. And yes, the "Digital CC" should be turned OFF, and "Analog CC" turned on! That solved all my CC problems with my TiVo Primier.
wbertram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:43 PM   #6
Tivo II Jack
Registered User
 
Tivo II Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbertram View Post
And yes, the "Digital CC" should be turned OFF, and "Analog CC" turned on! That solved all my CC problems with my TiVo Primier.
I read your note and shook my head thinking, doesn't this guy understand this is not happening on ALL channels, just on very few channels? I then decided to waste my time and humor you so I set both boxes to analog CC only.

DUH! The CC is now up and running on CBS, WPIX and even BBC America.

THANK YOU!
Tivo II Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:06 PM   #7
Donni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newark, NJ, USA
Posts: 12
BBC America HD closed caption setting

Quote:
Originally Posted by wbertram View Post
And yes, the "Digital CC" should be turned OFF, and "Analog CC" turned on! That solved all my CC problems with my TiVo Primier.
Except for BBC America HD, "Digital CC" should be turn on and "Analog CC" turn off. If you don't do that, the BBC America HD closed caption doesn't show correctly. I got this information from RickNY at dslreports.com. Based on info from here: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r272...icing~start=40
Donni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 08:47 PM   #8
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donni View Post
Except for BBC America HD, "Digital CC" should be turn on and "Analog CC" turn off. If you don't do that, the BBC America HD closed caption doesn't show correctly. I got this information from RickNY at dslreports.com. Based on info from here: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r272...icing~start=40
This is not universally true. It may work, or be needed, in some areas, but certainly not all.

In Houston, we get BBCA-HD on Comcast (ch 730), and the captions are spot-on using the normal settings (analog CC on, digital CC off).

I've been testing this over the last week with a variety of BBCA-HD shows--movies, series, specials, etc. In every case, captions were perfect.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |