TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2012, 04:53 PM   #121
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTaxpayer View Post
Yes, I know, if I wanted to see "Face the Nation" I should have recorded "Face The Nation."
But anyway, at 11:20, i happened to turn on the TV, to watch a show I did record, and this happened to be on. It's an hour show, 10:30 to 11:30.
I hit record, and the "my shows" told me I had the first 50 minutes all set.
I don't use suggestions. This seems to tell me this TiVo is running a longer buffer.
As noted earlier (ref. post #30), the Tivo actually allocates more than 30 minutes of content to memory for Live TV. TiVo is 'playing it safe' that no matter how the video is encoded, they will always have a 30 minute Live TV buffer.
The sooner you hit Record on Live TV, the better chance you have of capturing more content.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:23 AM   #122
brian1269
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Such a long thread over something that has little value. I'd hate to see TiVo waste time on this. However, they eventually caved on the FSI so it wouldn't surprise me.

I guess if such a feature has to be forced down everyone then at the very least make it configurable. I don't want to waste my hard drive space with needed size that would need to accompany the larger buffers.
Maybe useless to you, but obviously not to many others. We should have a choice. Some of us have larger hard drives than others and would love to have a larger buffer. And yes, it should be configurable so you can have a choice between no buffer at all (for you apparently) to 90 minutes or two hours for the one or two of us that would like one.
brian1269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:42 AM   #123
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian1269

Maybe useless to you, but obviously not to many others. We should have a choice. Some of us have larger hard drives than others and would love to have a larger buffer. And yes, it should be configurable so you can have a choice between no buffer at all (for you apparently) to 90 minutes or two hours for the one or two of us that would like one.
Yep, when you compare it to other features that TiVo should/could work on... Then yes it's pretty useless to change this feature (configurable or otherwise).
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:32 PM   #124
brian1269
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Yep, when you compare it to other features that TiVo should/could work on... Then yes it's pretty useless to change this feature (configurable or otherwise).
Absolutely no reason they can't do it along with other pressing issues, which I agree are more important. But it's a line of code. Right now it tells it to record 30 minutes. It could very easily be changed to either an hour (the length of the majority shows on TV) or add a few more lines of code to make it configurable. This is not a matter or resources, it is just a matter of whether they want to do it or not. And no, I'm not a programmer, but I but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. Or maybe I just consulted with some programmers I know and asked just how difficult it would be to make a change like this.
brian1269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:45 PM   #125
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian1269 View Post
But it's a line of code. Right now it tells it to record 30 minutes. It could very easily be changed to either an hour (the length of the majority shows on TV) or add a few more lines of code to make it configurable. This is not a matter or resources, it is just a matter of whether they want to do it or not.
Oh, so you know the ins and outs of the TiVo software?
The people in the underground forum could use a guy like you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian1269 View Post
Or maybe I just consulted with some programmers I know and asked just how difficult it would be to make a change like this.
Do they also know the ins and outs of the TiVo software?
I doubt it.
Of course, I'm not a programmer so I may not know what I'm talking about.



__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:48 PM   #126
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,034
Of course a few changes or additions in a few lines of code won't have any effect on anything else.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:08 PM   #127
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian1269 View Post
Absolutely no reason they can't do it along with other pressing issues, which I agree are more important. But it's a line of code. Right now it tells it to record 30 minutes. It could very easily be changed to either an hour (the length of the majority shows on TV) or add a few more lines of code to make it configurable. This is not a matter or resources, it is just a matter of whether they want to do it or not. And no, I'm not a programmer, but I but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. Or maybe I just consulted with some programmers I know and asked just how difficult it would be to make a change like this.
Among things most often said in a problem analysis meeting: "But I only changed one line (of code)!".
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:14 PM   #128
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
I love it. It's just one line of code. It should only take you like less than 5 minutes to change.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:42 PM   #129
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus
I love it. It's just one line of code. It should only take you like less than 5 minutes to change.
I think 1 line of code is considered about 3 man hours of work at my job, but then we actually test our code.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |