TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > Forum Operations Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2012, 07:09 AM   #1
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,328
Announcement not viewable when logged in...

The announcement "New TiVoCommunity Homepage Arriving Soon" cannot be viewed when I am logged in. If I log out I can view it.

When logged in I get:

Quote:
$bbuserinfo[username], you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

Is your account awaiting activation? If you did not receive the activation e-mail after you registered, or changed your e-mail address, please CLICK HERE to request it to be resent to you. (Check your SPAM filters.)

Your e-mail address is not correct, or not valid, and you need to change it. Please CLICK HERE to enter into the USER CP area and update your e-mail address. (We suspend the account if so much e-mail bounces back. Spam filters? Old Address? ISP Blocking AVS Mail?)

Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?

The administrator may have disabled your account for abuse.

__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 02:13 PM   #2
loganasu
I'm a lurker
 
loganasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 276
I am getting the same thing. Don't know about others, but I always get them for these announcements.
loganasu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 02:47 PM   #3
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganasu View Post
I am getting the same thing. Don't know about others, but I always get them for these announcements.
Yeah, seems hit or miss. The new announcements from TiVo have the same issue.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,328
This is happening with the custom new posts search announcement now too.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:05 AM   #5
Peter Redmer
Administrator
 
Peter Redmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 310
We're going to check this out.

What browsers are you using?
__________________
Peter Redmer
Administrator, Capable Networks

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Peter Redmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,328
I'm usually in Chrome. Happens PC and Mac. Will try IE.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:38 AM   #7
allan
I survived the Mayan
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND View Post
I'm usually in Chrome. Happens PC and Mac. Will try IE.
I just got the same message in FF 13 on Win XP.
__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:55 AM   #8
loganasu
I'm a lurker
 
loganasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 276
I found it in chrome, Firefox, and IE on vista, win 7 and Ubuntu (not IE for the last one =)
loganasu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 03:51 PM   #9
Peter Redmer
Administrator
 
Peter Redmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 310
We can't seem to duplicate this here-- tried both Chrome and FF, two separate tests with regular accounts (on two different machines) tried in both verified and unverified logged in states, and it seems to work fine.

This sounds very basic (and I apologize up front if you've already tried this) but you could try clearing cache/history and a browser restart, just to rule that out as a potential cause. Otherwise, we're not sure what is causing this yet, we'll keep testing.
__________________
Peter Redmer
Administrator, Capable Networks

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Peter Redmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 04:33 PM   #10
allan
I survived the Mayan
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Redmer View Post
We can't seem to duplicate this here-- tried both Chrome and FF, two separate tests with regular accounts (on two different machines) tried in both verified and unverified logged in states, and it seems to work fine.

This sounds very basic (and I apologize up front if you've already tried this) but you could try clearing cache/history and a browser restart, just to rule that out as a potential cause. Otherwise, we're not sure what is causing this yet, we'll keep testing.
I cleared cache, restarted the browser, and still got the error message when I clicked from "New Posts". But when I clicked from the Forum Operations Center, I saw the announcement.
__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:36 AM   #11
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,328
Still happening with the Announcement from TiVo that they're monitoring their own forums to benefit the "community". (Their forums don't seem to have community in the URL).
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:26 AM   #12
Eddief66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 755
It happens to me when clicking the links at the top of the regular forums. Clicking the stickies at the top of this forum works though. I'm using firefox BTW.
Eddief66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:57 AM   #13
nyjklein
J-E-T-S JetsJetsJets
 
nyjklein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Bergen, NJ
Posts: 141
Same thing happening to me using Chrome. I can see the thread from this forum but not when it's at the top of a search.

P.S. Peter, sorry for the PM on this topic. I should have searched and found this thread first.

Jeff
nyjklein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:48 AM   #14
Merle Corey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Mount Prospect, IL, US
Posts: 64
Clicking the announcement sends you to a link ending in: f=28&a=112

Clicking the link at the top of Forum Operations Center sends you to a link ending in: f=20&a=112

f=20 is obviously the FOC. f=28 is something I don't have access to while logged in.

*edit*: Apparently f=28 isn't consistent. I see it from my bookmarked new messages search (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...39,59,63,15,31) and can't read announcements from there. I currently can read announcements from other forums (e.g., f=3, f=35).

Last edited by Merle Corey : 06-29-2012 at 09:53 AM.
Merle Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |