TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2012, 10:04 AM   #1
dwynne
Registered User
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 481
HR10-250 with no sub / no access card. What will it do?

I have 3 HR10-250 DTivos that I own. If I remove them from service DTV is asking me to return the access cards.

Questions: What can I legally use my old Hr10s for? OTA recording? Watching already recorded shows later? OTA live TV with buffer? Do my options change if I keep the access card or return it?

The main thing for us is watching off the existing recordings, to be honest. 2nd would be watching live OTA TV when other options are not available. No access card used to put up a banner that you could not make go away, which would make this a boat anchor if I return the cards?

Thanks
dwynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,197
TC CLUB MEMBER
You can watch recorded shows. You can use it as an OTA tuner with a 30 minute buffer, No recording, The banner for no access card does eventually go away.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:35 AM   #3
dwynne
Registered User
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel View Post
eventually go away.
Thanks. Eventually is hours, day, weeks, or months ?
dwynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 12:19 PM   #4
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,197
TC CLUB MEMBER
In my experience, hours. But it has been a while since I tried it.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 07:04 PM   #5
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
There is a patch to make it go away.

Even deactivated, if you leave it hooked to a satellite, and stick any old access card in it, it will retain tivo functions for the OTA channels. This also makes the message go away, and requires no hacking.
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:12 AM   #6
dwynne
Registered User
 
dwynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashHD View Post
There is a patch to make it go away.

Even deactivated, if you leave it hooked to a satellite, and stick any old access card in it, it will retain tivo functions for the OTA channels. This also makes the message go away, and requires no hacking.
The only patch I could find to fix this required a box hack to work. Am I missing something?

Thanks
dwynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 05:19 PM   #7
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
No. There are two ways to make that message go away. One is to put a card in it (does not need to be an active card with a valid subscription, but does need to be an access card.

The other is to patch tivoapp, which does require the box to be hacked. Sorry, I did not think to specify that.
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:23 PM   #8
Wil
Senile Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwynne View Post
What can I legally use my old Hr10s for?
"Legally" is not a clearcut issue with an unsubbed HR10-250. With research and some work you can get quite a bit out of it, but it's an old model and most feel it's not worth the trouble.
Wil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:10 PM   #9
linrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 4
I think the ability to record over-the-air local channels in HD is very valuable. I'm on the threshold of dumping satellite service because all of my favorite shows are from the networks. The latest fiasco with the loss of locals for more than a week on all of the older units (my HDVR2 and HR10-250 included) was the last straw.
linrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:00 AM   #10
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by linrey View Post
I think the ability to record over-the-air local channels in HD is very valuable. I'm on the threshold of dumping satellite service because all of my favorite shows are from the networks. The latest fiasco with the loss of locals for more than a week on all of the older units (my HDVR2 and HR10-250 included) was the last straw.
Just realize that you'll have no Guide Data if you use your HR10-250 to record off-air channels without any satellite service.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:12 AM   #11
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
You can legally remove the hard drives and power supplies and sell them on eBay to other people who still use those things, and then use the rest of the unit as a boat anchor.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:16 AM   #12
videojanitor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 671
I found a great use for my old, deactivated HR10-250 -- I took it to the TV station where I work and installed it in Master Control. We use it to continually "buffer" what's on the air (OTA) -- if something bad happens, we can immediately rewind the TiVo to check it out. The beauty of it is, we have one tuner buffering our machine channel, and the other is buffering the subchannel, so can review problems on either one.

We connected it to a DirecTV dish and it continues to receive guide data as well, and it keeps the clock accurate, which is cool.
videojanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:07 PM   #13
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by videojanitor View Post
I found a great use for my old, deactivated HR10-250 -- I took it to the TV station where I work and installed it in Master Control. We use it to continually "buffer" what's on the air (OTA) -- if something bad happens, we can immediately rewind the TiVo to check it out. The beauty of it is, we have one tuner buffering our machine channel, and the other is buffering the subchannel, so can review problems on either one.

We connected it to a DirecTV dish and it continues to receive guide data as well, and it keeps the clock accurate, which is cool.
Clever!
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |