TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2012, 09:03 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Display; bottom of screen with pause

When I am watching a movie with occasionally captioned dialog the caption often disappears too fast; so, anticipating this, I hit the pause button. But immediately the green time lapse indicator bar pops up and covers the text so I have to hit the exit button to clear it out of the way. It's annoying

Is there a way to stop that bar from poping up automatically, or making it pop up at the top of the screen instead of at the bottom?

TiVo PremiereXL
mikekox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #2
joined the 10k club
windracer's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,414
You can't change the trickplay bar's location. Your only options are to press Clear, like you're doing, or use the Select-Play-Select-Pause-Select code to enable the fast clear (you'll need to do this from a Showcase video or on a recording that has a Pause ad).

840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 11:49 PM   #3
TiVoholic by the bay
ThAbtO's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,848
If you are talking about closed captions, it will show on few various speeds other than just PLAY, 1xFF, pause, slow. You can scroll through fast captions under SLOW if its flashing through too fast. 1xFF if you can speed read through.

Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)


The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 06:13 PM   #4
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,633
That is dependent upon which TiVo you have. captions no longer appear in 1xFF on a premiere, not sure about slow.

The only other option I have seen is to get a harmony, and program a clear in with the pause button.

TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.
Page generated in 0.12338710 seconds (45.59% PHP - 54.41% MySQL) with 18 queries