TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2012, 11:41 AM   #1
tennisknight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Question External Hard Drive

I currently have Directv with an added external hard drive via an eSATA cable. Can I take that hard drive and use it in a Premiere Tivo so I can watch my pre-recorded shows on that?

Thanks for anyone's help in advance!

Last edited by tennisknight : 06-07-2012 at 11:42 AM. Reason: add icon
tennisknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
logicman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
I believe the only external drive compatible with the Premiere is the Western Digital My Book AV which is once again available.
__________________
Premiere Elite
HD S3 with DIY 750 GB external expander
Comcast
logicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 12:52 PM   #3
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisknight View Post
I currently have Directv with an added external hard drive via an eSATA cable. Can I take that hard drive and use it in a Premiere Tivo so I can watch my pre-recorded shows on that?

Thanks for anyone's help in advance!
I believe that recordings on any TiVo hard drive are viewable only on the particular TiVo that recorded them. So if you mean could you watch old shows already recorded on your external drive by connecting it to a Premiere, then no. And there's also the compatibility issue mentioned by logicman.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 03:46 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,982
Your recordings will be deleted when you remove the drive the Tivo.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 04:20 PM   #5
jrlbc06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
If I'm upgrading from HD to Premiere XL4, can I remove the drive from the HD and plug it into the Premiere to expand its capacity? I know the recordings won't transfer. Does it need to be formatted first to erase the current content?

Is it worth doing if the drive is > 2 years old or would I likely be running the risk of it failing shortly and losing the recordings.
jrlbc06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 09:11 AM   #6
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
No, this will not work. As noted above in post #2, ONLY the Western Digital My Book AV external drive solution works with a Premiere.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:16 AM   #7
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 247
Drive

You didn't say if you have a WD drive. If you do then yes you can move it to the premier, it will format itself when you plug it in. Dives can last far more than 2 years, their downfall is generally heat so make sure it has circulation around it.




Quote:
Originally Posted by jrlbc06 View Post
If I'm upgrading from HD to Premiere XL4, can I remove the drive from the HD and plug it into the Premiere to expand its capacity? I know the recordings won't transfer. Does it need to be formatted first to erase the current content?

Is it worth doing if the drive is > 2 years old or would I likely be running the risk of it failing shortly and losing the recordings.

__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:34 AM   #8
jrlbc06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Sorry yeah I wasn't clear.

I do have the WD expander on the HD and that was what I was talking about moving. Thanks.
jrlbc06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:50 AM   #9
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
The additional clarity helps address your question, but it still would not work. The TiVo looks at the total storage as one big drive, and shows are saved across both of the drives (internal/external). Once disconnected, it is treated as being empty when connecting to a new unit.

If you have the rights, you can save to a PC or keep both units active for a period and transfer the content.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 08:30 PM   #10
jrlbc06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
As I said in my original question, I am not looking to transfer content. I am simply asking if I can use the drive to expand the capacity of the new Tivo.
jrlbc06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 01:54 AM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrlbc06 View Post
As I said in my original question, I am not looking to transfer content. I am simply asking if I can use the drive to expand the capacity of the new Tivo.
I seem to recall seeing something a few months back about two different models of WD eSATA externals that were extremely similar and one was for DTV boxes and one was the TiVo one, and the one for DTV boxes would not be accepted by the TiVo.

So get the exact model number from tivo.com and see if it matches exactly with what you've got.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 07:17 AM   #12
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I seem to recall seeing something a few months back about two different models of WD eSATA externals that were extremely similar and one was for DTV boxes and one was the TiVo one, and the one for DTV boxes would not be accepted by the TiVo.

So get the exact model number from tivo.com and see if it matches exactly with what you've got.
He was already using it on an S3 so it's the right one.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 07:33 AM   #13
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
He was already using it on an S3 so it's the right one.
I didn't notice that jrlbc06 had piggybacked onto tennisknight's original post, and when jrtroo says "No, this will not work." I'm not absolutely certain to which one *he*'s replying.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 09:36 AM   #14
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
Yes, the piggybacking threw me off too. I went to the top, read the OP, and answered.

I'll note that the poster jrlbc06 stated they knew the recordings would not "transfer" (in this context this appeared to mean recordings on the external drive), but did not note anything about intentions to transfer generally. ("won't transfer" is different than "I have no plans to transfer")
__________________
TiVo Owner

Last edited by jrtroo : 06-09-2012 at 09:44 AM.
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 08:50 PM   #15
jrlbc06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Sorry for the confusion, didn't want to start a new thread. I appreciate the advice anyway!
jrlbc06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |