TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > DVD TiVo Units (Archive)
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2012, 04:11 PM   #1
replaytv
Lunatic Fringe
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,064
Toshiba hard drives interchangable?

I see a Toshiba SD-H400 Tivo with a bad hard drive on the internet. I have another model of Toshiba Tivo, can I 'clear and delete' on the other model and put it in the SDH400?
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:11 PM   #2
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,437
Yes.
__________________

Premiere-$99 Lifetime-OTA
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3 OLED-Lifetime-OTA
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 06:14 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
I see a Toshiba SD-H400 Tivo with a bad hard drive on the internet. I have another model of Toshiba Tivo, can I 'clear and delete' on the other model and put it in the SDH400?
Do you trust the seller to know for sure that the problem is only the hard drive and not something else?

If you mean you have a Toshiba TiVo with a different model number, that might be like putting a 540 drive into a 240, or a 649 drive into a 540.

Of course if you've got an SDH400 image, that's a horse of a different color.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 04:04 AM   #4
replaytv
Lunatic Fringe
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,064
I don't have a image for the needed Tivo. The Tivo is only $10, so not a big waste. Some day I will learn how to put a image on hard drive, but right now I only have DVD Toshibas with basic lifetime, and the broke DVD Toshiba Tivo has full lifetime, so that is why I want to transfer the hard drive. The donor Tivo is not the same model.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 05:45 AM   #5
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
Answer to the question in op is simply, no.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |