TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2012, 02:31 AM   #1
jg167
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Just lost channel favorites list

This is a series2, std def Philips unit. (I know I know, I'm about to upgrade) Was working fine earlier today, just turned it on and my favorites channels list is gone (which is really annoying). I did a reset and got the "can not acquire sat info" error. All the channels including local ones appear to be present, so not sure what that error is about or how it correlates to losing the favorites. Its running 6.4a01-2-101 but I don't know when that update occurred.

Any ideas?
jg167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
imaref
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
Same here. Had to redo all of my favorite channels this morning. Not sure why or if they pushed some kind of an update to the units.
imaref is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:16 PM   #3
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,018
Perhaps they've done something to fix the v6.4a updating issue, and that's cleared the Favorite Channels list?
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:11 AM   #4
Barmstro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
The same thing just happened on my RCA DVR40. I'm glad to hear it's not just me; I feared maybe it was a sign the old dear was dying...
It would be nice to know what caused this tho. Clearly DirecTV doesn't bother testing how their changes affect these older units...
Barmstro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:30 AM   #5
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmstro View Post
The same thing just happened on my RCA DVR40. I'm glad to hear it's not just me; I feared maybe it was a sign the old dear was dying...
It would be nice to know what caused this tho. Clearly DirecTV doesn't bother testing how their changes affect these older units...
It was caused when DirecTV made some changes in the broadcast signals to accommodate new "secondary audio services" for those stations. Tivo software prior to v6.4a was not able to handled this properly. And since that software was rolled out a few years ago, DirecTV probably assumed that vast majority of Series 2 Tivos had v6.4a software (probably a safe assumption). But clearly this change stung some folks that stuck with older software for whatever reason.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:05 PM   #6
Barmstro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks for the info, but just for the record, my TiVo has had 6.4a ever since it came out back in 2008 (and the original poster said his is 6.4a as well), so it's clearly not limited to older versions of the software.
Barmstro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:31 AM   #7
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmstro View Post
Thanks for the info, but just for the record, my TiVo has had 6.4a ever since it came out back in 2008 (and the original poster said his is 6.4a as well), so it's clearly not limited to older versions of the software.
I don't think that matters. Whatever change they made to help non-v6.4a Tivos may have affected Tivos that already had v6.4a.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:55 AM   #8
JackS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by imaref View Post
Same here. Had to redo all of my favorite channels this morning. Not sure why or if they pushed some kind of an update to the units.
Likewise for my HDVR2 running 6.4a in the Los Angeles area. Yesterday
nothing in the channel guide because the favorite channels were lost.
After recreating the favorite channels list, the guide has data once again.

And the local channel 4 KNBC is back again, after a two month absense.
Whatever DTV pushed down from satellite seems to fix all local channels
here.
-Jack
JackS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |