TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2012, 10:43 AM   #1
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Xl, Cablecard & Comcast Limited Basic

I did a search but just wanted to get some more clarification because I didn't fully process what I read LOL!

I have Comcast limited basic package & a TiVo PXL; transitioned from a S2 this past weekend. Cable comes straight from the wall. Also split that signal to get the other channels that leak out from Comcast via a digital migration SD box from Comcast.

After doing a scan on the PXL - like I do on my HDTV - I can pick up HD quality channels above just the locals (like FOODNetwork HD, Natl Geographic, HD MLB HD etc.).

However, I cannot obviously get the guide data from TiVo even though I pay TiVo monthly. The manual recording is so 80's VCR like LOL!

Went to local Comcast & they refused to give me a cablecard because I already have their free digital migration tuner box (SD output - eeeash) & I am not on expanded digital or some higher price package

Question:
1) Do I need to use a Cablecard to get TiVo guide data?
2) Anything I can say to Comcast to change their attitude?

Thanks in advance for the insights!

Last edited by NoVa : 06-04-2012 at 10:48 AM.
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:08 PM   #2
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoVa View Post
I did a search but just wanted to get some more clarification because I didn't fully process what I read LOL!

I have Comcast limited basic package & a TiVo PXL; transitioned from a S2 this past weekend. Cable comes straight from the wall. Also split that signal to get the other channels that leak out from Comcast via a digital migration SD box from Comcast.

After doing a scan on the PXL - like I do on my HDTV - I can pick up HD quality channels above just the locals (like FOODNetwork HD, Natl Geographic, HD MLB HD etc.).

However, I cannot obviously get the guide data from TiVo even though I pay TiVo monthly. The manual recording is so 80's VCR like LOL!

Went to local Comcast & they refused to give me a cablecard because I already have their free digital migration tuner box (SD output - eeeash) & I am not on expanded digital or some higher price package

Question:
1) Do I need to use a Cablecard to get TiVo guide data?
2) Anything I can say to Comcast to change their attitude?

Thanks in advance for the insights!
Well from the Cable card stand point, looks like you just got an idiot... You pay for the card and can have as many as you want to pay for... I would just try again

Regarding number 1, no you dont need the card to get Guide Data.. however it will not match up with a Clear QAM Scan. You will need the CC to have the channels mapped correctly to what the guide states. I would suggest getting the card and running the guided set up again to confirm your channel line up on the box
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:27 PM   #3
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,193
I don't know exactly what you mean by "PXL".. Premiere XL?

YES, you NEED a cablecard to use it.. You CANNOT get guide data without a cable card.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 10:14 PM   #4
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
I don't know exactly what you mean by "PXL".. Premiere XL?
yep!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
YES, you NEED a cablecard to use it.. You CANNOT get guide data without a cable card.
you mean I can't get the guided data to match the intended Comcast channel mappings.

Cause i still get guided data but it doesn't match to my QAM scan.
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 10:14 PM   #5
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
Well from the Cable card stand point, looks like you just got an idiot... You pay for the card and can have as many as you want to pay for... I would just try again

Regarding number 1, no you dont need the card to get Guide Data.. however it will not match up with a Clear QAM Scan. You will need the CC to have the channels mapped correctly to what the guide states. I would suggest getting the card and running the guided set up again to confirm your channel line up on the box
that's what I thought. Thanks for the confirm!
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 09:14 PM   #6
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoVa View Post
you mean I can't get the guided data to match the intended Comcast channel mappings.

Cause i still get guided data but it doesn't match to my QAM scan.
Yes, what I mean is that you can't go to channel 3 and it tell you that America's Got Talent is on.. without a cablecard.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |