TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2012, 06:47 AM   #31
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy86 View Post
My concern is when the hard drive stops working. I am not a computer expert so I am not comfortable buying a hard drive and following the steps to get it to work with Tivo so to buy one ready from weaknees will be expensive
It's really easy, if you can learn ahead about anything you might have to do so your computer will be able use the copying program.

Yes, you can pay a $60 to $100 premium for true plug & play.

Maybe I should let you buy a hard drive and ship it to me , I could do it for $45...

This was a joke but sound kind of cool.
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 07:47 AM   #32
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon WIlkinson View Post
It's really easy, if you can learn ahead about anything you might have to do so your computer will be able use the copying program.

Yes, you can pay a $60 to $100 premium for true plug & play.

Maybe I should let you buy a hard drive and ship it to me , I could do it for $45...

This was a joke but sound kind of cool.
Well, that is essentially what the people selling the drives are doing. They have an image of a drive and restore it to a new drive: They unbox the drive, connect it to a computer, click on a button, it copies for a few minutes, they disconnect and repack the drive.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 02:07 AM   #33
agredon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerpBE View Post
I remember having an internship in college, and one day the IT guy came in with a 1 GB hard drive. I remember thinking, "Wow...how will anybody ever fill that up?"

Your perspective will change in a few months.
I'm already at 13 Terabytes [on my PC] and counting !!! That's not a typo: (3 x 2 TB) + (2 x 3 TB) + Assorted Old HDDs (60 GB - 500 GB in Size). Only ~ 3 TB of that is Movies. The rest is mostly TV Shows.
agredon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 04:20 AM   #34
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by agredon View Post
I'm already at 13 Terabytes [on my PC] and counting !!! That's not a typo: (3 x 2 TB) + (2 x 3 TB) + Assorted Old HDDs (60 GB - 500 GB in Size). Only ~ 3 TB of that is Movies. The rest is mostly TV Shows.
Jeez. And here I thought my 5 TB (a 1 TB + 2TB in the PC and 2 TB in the Tivo) was excessive.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 05:18 AM   #35
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,569
I guess the 100+TB I have in storage is excessive then?

I've got 56TB in my WHS, 32TB in my first unRAID, 7TB in my second unRAID, and around 10TB in my other NAS devices and desktop PCs.

I guess if you add the TiVos that is even more storage.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:17 PM   #36
agredon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I guess the 100+TB I have in storage is excessive then?

I've got 56TB in my WHS, 32TB in my first unRAID, 7TB in my second unRAID, and around 10TB in my other NAS devices and desktop PCs.

I guess if you add the TiVos that is even more storage.
If I had the money, I'd build myself at least one of these.

http://blog.backblaze.com/2009/09/01...cloud-storage/

If I used 3 TB HDDs, each server would have a capacity of 135 TB.
agredon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |