TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2012, 12:26 AM   #1
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
Tivo & Pace Team Up on 6-tuner Gateway

http://www.multichannel.com/article/...eo_Gateway.php

Boston — TiVo and Pace are providing details of their first jointly developed product, the Pace XG1, a six-tuner hybrid QAM/IP video gateway featuring TiVo's user interface to be available to operators in the Americas later this year.

The companies announced their partnership in February 2012 to develop set-tops and gateways. TiVo and Pace expect to follow the XG1 with additional solutions for domestic and international operators.

The Pace XG1 includes six tuners, an integrated DOCSIS 3.0 modem, and at least 500 Gigabytes of on-board storage. It will use TiVo's whole-home capabilities, such as multiroom streaming and support for both traditional set-top boxes and the potential for IP client devices, as well as support for TiVo's mobile and tablet applications.

The gateway runs on Broadcom's BCM7425 dual high-definition, dual-transcoding hybrid gateway set-top box system-on-a-chip that offers 3000 DMIPS (Dhrystone million instructions per second) of processing power. The Pace XG1 will support Multimedia over Coax Alliance (MoCA) 2.0 and includes Broadcom's BCM3383 DOCSIS 3.0 8-by-4 chip for up to 320 Mbps down and 120 Mbps upstream.

"This partnership will make the TiVo experience easily accessible to more cable operators than ever before," David Sandford, vice president and general manager of TiVo's service provider business, said in a statement. "It will provide operators a best-in-class advanced television solution that they can quickly and cost-effectively deploy and will serve as the gateway to a rapidly expanding choice of content across multiple screens through TiVo's whole-home solutions."

Tim O'Loughlin, president of Pace Americas, added, "There is no denying that the current climate for operators is immensely competitive, and we have been hearing more and more frequently from this community that TiVo is a user experience that they want to offer."

U.S. operators currently deploying TiVo offerings to their customers include Charter Communications, DirecTV, Suddenlink Communications, RCN and Grande Communications, and European operators include the U.K.'s Virgin Media and Spain's ONO.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 12:30 AM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
In a nutshell, this sounds like a Pace box driven by Tivo software, like the Virgin and DTV boxes.

This box has some power to it. More than twice that of the Premiere's chip. MoCA 2.0, DOCSIS 3.0...

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 05-21-2012 at 12:39 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:53 AM   #3
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,839
6 tuners makes sense for a whole house cable solution as one cable card (and tuning adapter if required) can support the 6 tuners. Maybe not so good for stand alone users as this equipment will likely never be sold retail.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:33 AM   #4
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,398
With the recent change if the elite to XL4 I think it bodes well that we may see an XL6 at retail. Maybe at the old elite price.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:40 AM   #5
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
With the recent change if the elite to XL4 I think it bodes well that we may see an XL6 at retail.
Doubt it.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:42 AM   #6
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
With the recent change if the elite to XL4 I think it bodes well that we may see an XL6 at retail. Maybe at the old elite price.
Similar to Dave Zatz, I doubt this very much. Tuning adapters only support 4 tuners.
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:47 AM   #7
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
Doubt it.
Unfortunate since a 6 tuner TiVo is the only product that interests me from today's news.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:52 AM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,024
It sounds like an expensive box if it ever went to retail. The monthly fees alone from a cable operator will probably be high. And of course since it's aimed at cable operators it has a paltry 500GB hard drive for six tuners which is an insanely low capacity for that many tuners.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 09:13 AM   #9
stlbluesfan74
Mike
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 50
Agreed, 500gb is pretty weak. No mention of an OTA tuner either.
stlbluesfan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 11:46 AM   #10
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stlbluesfan74 View Post
Agreed, 500gb is pretty weak. No mention of an OTA tuner either.
Why would there be? This is a cable co solution.
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:27 PM   #11
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,868
http://www.multichannel.com/blog/BIT...Vo_Stream_.php

Quote:
Meanwhile, TiVo is working with two specific U.S. MSO customers to develop the six-tuner Pace XG1 gateway; Klugman declined to identify the customers.
Any bets on who the two are?
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:33 PM   #12
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
The super safe bets would be RCN and Suddenlink. Although Charter seems to be gaining momentum. And I still think Cox is dead.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:33 PM   #13
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
The super safe bets would be RCN and Suddenlink. Although Charter seems to be gaining momentum. And I still think Cox is dead.
Agreed. Now that Rutledge is in charge of Charter, he's pushing to eliminate the STB all together similar to these idiotic statements from TWC's CEO,

Quote:
Cable set-tops will become extinct, and eventually be replaced by smart TVs and other IP-connected devices such as gaming consoles, Time Warner Cable CEO Glenn Britt told attendees at the opening session here at The Cable Show.
TiVo is long overdue to announce a new US MSO deal so I'm guessing there is one deal predicated on this new six-tuner box. We also know that CableOne hasn't announced their new STB plan now that they ditched Echostar.

I still don't think Cox is dead. They could be one of the MSOs as well.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:15 PM   #14
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
i was looking at the banner on my elite the other day and literally thought to myself that the font that shows what the 4 tuners are doing in perfectly sized/spaced to add another 2 at the bottom and fit the space perfectly. (probably all the speculation recently of xl2, xl4 would mean xl6 made my mind wander...) So i was guessing they planned at one point to go 6 tuners in the software but this is faster than i thought.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:03 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by socrplyr View Post
Similar to Dave Zatz, I doubt this very much. Tuning adapters only support 4 tuners.
Not true. Tuning adapters support up to 6 tuners. In fact Ceton is going to release a 6 tuner retail DVR later this year that will use one CableCARD and one tuning adapter for all 6 tuners. Nothing would prevent TiVo from doing the same except maybe costs. (people expect the Ceton DVR to cost somewhere close to $1K)

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:57 PM   #16
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Is this something that would work for AT&T Uverse?
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:08 PM   #17
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
Interesting question. It might in theory. This box enables a lot of theoretical things, including elimination of a tuning adapter and more readily available access to cableco VOD.

But since it's technically a Pace box, geared towards MSO buyers, we might not be able to find out.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:08 PM   #18
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
The super safe bets would be RCN and Suddenlink. Although Charter seems to be gaining momentum. And I still think Cox is dead.
Well. RCN is ruled out as one of the two MSOs mentioned.

https://twitter.com/jnealis/status/204709376127275009
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:11 PM   #19
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Interesting question. It might in theory. This box enables a lot of theoretical things, including elimination of a tuning adapter (thanks to the DOCSIS chip) and more readily available access to cableco VOD.

But since it's technically a Pace box, geared towards MSO buyers, we might not be able to find out.
Unless some open(ish) spec is produced, the ability for two way communication doesn't necessarily mean you can actually communicate on any given network... without that operator's assistance. It wouldn't be plug 'n play as things currently stand.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:32 PM   #20
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
Yes, hence theoretical. I strongly stress theoretical.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 09:34 AM   #21
JosephB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Is this something that would work for AT&T Uverse?
No. Uverse is pure IPTV and is based on a Microsoft platform. This box is QAM/cable, even the IP stuff is picked up via it's internal cable modem. Physically it couldn't connect to Uverse, not to mention the software.
__________________
Current: TiVo HD w/lifetime, 2 x 2 Tuner Premieres

Former: S1, S2 TiVos, UltimateTV, SD DirecTiVo (x3), SA 8300HD w/Passport Echo, DirecTV HR-24 (x2) , DISH 722k, DirecTV Genie + 2 mini
JosephB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 06:55 AM   #22
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
Deployment begins

http://www.pace.com/universal/news-e...atform-launch/

Although the first post in this thread summarizes many of the technical specs of the Pace XG1 hardware, it may also be helpful to look here:

http://www.pace.com/Documents/Products/Am/STB/xg1.pdf

For example, one feature of the XG1 that I had overlooked was a removable HDD.
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:09 AM   #23
SullyND
L:27-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,634
I wonder if it's intended to be user removable, or for easy servicing. Maybe TiVo OS is stored in flash? How does the HDMI input work? Seems like a pretty cool DVR.

It even has a clock!
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:25 AM   #24
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND View Post
.............

It even has a clock!

__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:15 AM   #25
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,839
So am I to assume this will be working with TiVo Minis?
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:34 AM   #26
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
So am I to assume this will be working with TiVo Minis?
Or the (MSO-only) TiVo Previews. Not clear which.

The most important news in this announcement to the larger TiVo community is that TiVo has deployed a version of their software that runs on the Broadcom BCM 7425.
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 04:10 PM   #27
Johncv
Registered User
 
Johncv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
Unfortunate since a 6 tuner TiVo is the only product that interests me from today's news.
Move to Alaska.

http://www.fiercecable.com/story/gci...ource=internal

Anyone from Alaska can confirm this and post pics?
__________________
Johncv

HDTiVo
27-inch iMac with i7 quad core processor
Johncv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 04:20 PM   #28
Johncv
Registered User
 
Johncv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND View Post
I wonder if it's intended to be user removable, or for easy servicing. Maybe TiVo OS is stored in flash? How does the HDMI input work? Seems like a pretty cool DVR.

It even has a clock!
I would think that one that use the TiVo software would likely have the TiVo logo on it. Why is everyone so hung-up on having clock?
__________________
Johncv

HDTiVo
27-inch iMac with i7 quad core processor
Johncv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 04:29 PM   #29
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johncv View Post
I would think that one that use the TiVo software would likely have the TiVo logo on it. Why is everyone so hung-up on having clock?
For me, I don't like having a clock since just about every device already has a clock. one button press and I can see the timeon my TiVo.
I guess as long as there is a way to turn off the display, I'm not opposed to it though.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 04:40 PM   #30
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
We have a large analog atomic clock hanging behind the TV so I have no need for a clock on any of my devices.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |