TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2012, 02:58 PM   #1
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,050
Transfer TSN

How hard is it to transfer a Tvo into my account that does not have service? It was cleared and deleted when I powered it up.

Does a service plan need to be added at the same time of transfer?
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
How hard is it to transfer a Tvo into my account that does not have service? It was cleared and deleted when I powered it up.

Does a service plan need to be added at the same time of transfer?
A TiVo without service can't be in any account as what would be the point as such a tiVo can't do much, and can't be controlled in any TiVo account. When you active a TiVo you do so in your TiVo account, until then its just a door stop.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
A TiVo without service can't be in any account as what would be the point as such a tiVo can't do much, and can't be controlled in any TiVo account. When you active a TiVo you do so in your TiVo account, until then its just a door stop.
I can't add the TSN it's on a different account according to the activate website, but the box has no service. If I call and they say they can transfer to my account then I would add service on the call?

I bought from Amazon.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:06 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
I can't add the TSN it's on a different account according to the activate website, but the box has no service. If I call and they say they can transfer to my account then I would add service on the call?

I bought from Amazon.
Yes, if you plan to add service, then they can add the box to your account at that time. I've found that any box that has ever been activated requires a phone call to Tivo to get it on your account. Seems like the online version is only for never been activated boxes.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:30 PM   #5
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
How hard is it to transfer a Tvo into my account that does not have service? It was cleared and deleted when I powered it up.

Does a service plan need to be added at the same time of transfer?
???
If the tivo has no service now, you are not transferring anything, you are adding it to your account and by doing so, you are subscribing it.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:09 AM   #6
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Yes, if you plan to add service, then they can add the box to your account at that time. I've found that any box that has ever been activated requires a phone call to Tivo to get it on your account. Seems like the online version is only for never been activated boxes.
Any TiVo without service (new or having service in the past) can have service put on it in any TiVo account on line (you have to pay for that service). If the TiVo can't be activated than it already has some type of service on it and you must call TiVo to xfer that service to your account, if the service is monthly just make sure it is month to month because you don't want to take on any old contract that may have been on the TiVo unless it was prepaid.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |