TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2012, 07:16 PM   #31
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Do you have cable TV cable already run to that room?

If so, go learn about MoCA

http://www.mocalliance.org/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multime..._Coax_Alliance

and MoCA adapters.

I think the new Elite already has it built in, not sure about the orginal S4s.
Yes Elite or xl4 does according to TiVo.
Problem is finding the moca adapters at a reasonable price.
Another problem (pet peeve of mine) is more wall warts... with moca.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:51 PM   #32
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Yes Elite or xl4 does according to TiVo.
Problem is finding the moca adapters at a reasonable price.
Another problem (pet peeve of mine) is more wall warts... with moca.
What do you mean by wall warts?
atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:48 PM   #33
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomarchio View Post
What do you mean by wall warts?
Transformers you plug into a 120V AC wall outlet with a cord that runs to the equipment itself carrying lower voltage, sometimes AC, usually converted to DC.

They're the things that are always just enough too big to let you use all of your outlets.

And when plugged in, you've got a dark, unattractive lump on the wall, hence the name.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:19 PM   #34
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,467
A Wireless Bridge Works

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomarchio View Post
To get the best performance, do you think I should purchase Tivo's wireless N adapter?
i use a linksys wet610n wireless bridge (802.11n for gaming & video), with great results on premiere xl, 300 Mbps transfer rate with 65% signal. mine is configured for dual band operation (if your router/gateway supports)

I have no issues streaming netflix, amazon or hulu in hd, and internet radio goes all day, no buffering or quality issues, and good times on software downloads too.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |