TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2012, 11:20 PM   #1
crombiecrunch
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
How do i stop the spam ads on my Tivo?

Ok so since that last major update a couple of months back every time now when I press my pause button or stop a program and go to delete it, I get spammed with ads for woollight or staying at the hilton or some other crap I dont want to see.

Im sorry but I pay 20 bucks a month times 3 TiVo Premieres, I do not want to be pushed ads. Especially since 2 of the boxes are used by my 6 year old that clicks on the by mistake.

And you cant say well Tivo needs it to make money. I would rather them up my bill by a couple of bucks then get spammed with ads.

Ive already called customer care and they scratch their heads because they show me as opt'd out for them. I press the down arrow on the but that just temporarily hides them.

I had my boxes 8 months prior to that last big update and never had this problem. Ive searched and can not find away to do away with them.
crombiecrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:30 PM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
You will want to use the backdoor code that eliminates the pause ads.

First, pause the program and press the down arrow to hide the ad.

Next on the remote, enter [Select] [Play] [Select] [Pause] [Select].

If you have a Premiere and are using the HDUI, you might need an extra [Select] at the beginning of the sequence.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 02:42 AM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
You cannot remove those Pause Ads, only hide them.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:01 PM   #4
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,877
You cancel the TiVo service, that's how. They are part of the TiVo terms of service.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:04 PM   #5
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,698
Use a Windows Media Center PC for recording. We don't suffer from that kind of crap (nor do we have to pay extra for the privilege).
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 05:29 PM   #6
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by crombiecrunch View Post
I would rather them up my bill by a couple of bucks then get spammed with ads.
This doesn't make sense considering your disdain for the ads. Why would you want to receive ads after paying more each month on the subscriptions?
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:08 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
This doesn't make sense considering your disdain for the ads. Why would you want to receive ads after paying more each month on the subscriptions?
What he said is that he would pay more to NOT have the ads
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:36 PM   #8
Richierod
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
What he said is that he would pay more to NOT have the ads
I know that everyone hates the grammar police, but Scandia101 has it right. Had the OP said than instead of then, it would have shown what was intended. No hijacking or fingerpointing intended, just pointed out the misuse of then and than. Lots of other words too, but we'll wait for another day.
Richierod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:49 PM   #9
marqattacks
Registered User
 
marqattacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
Are these the ads that show up on the bottom of the pause menu, or full screen ads? I only get the ones below the bottom part green play bar.
marqattacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:28 AM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richierod View Post
I know that everyone hates the grammar police, but Scandia101 has it right. Had the OP said than instead of then, it would have shown what was intended. No hijacking or fingerpointing intended, just pointed out the misuse of then and than. Lots of other words too, but we'll wait for another day.
But most of knew what he wanted to say, but technically you are correct.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 08:11 AM   #11
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 5,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
This doesn't make sense considering your disdain for the ads. Why would you want to receive ads after paying more each month on the subscriptions?
That's funny, usually I don't like the literal interpretations of what was stated jokes but this one works well.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:27 AM   #12
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
Sometimes the words are important. I had to read the initial post a few times to understand what the OP was trying to say. I normally just roll with it, but this was a case where several meanings were changed by poor grammar.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:47 PM   #13
snarler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 45
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
This doesn't make sense considering your disdain for the ads. Why would you want to receive ads after paying more each month on the subscriptions?
Maybe he meant it would be okay if TiVo raised his rates, then TiVo gets spammed with ads instead of him
snarler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 03:40 PM   #14
Richierod
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
You will want to use the backdoor code that eliminates the pause ads.

First, pause the program and press the down arrow to hide the ad.

Next on the remote, enter [Select] [Play] [Select] [Pause] [Select].

If you have a Premiere and are using the HDUI, you might need an extra [Select] at the beginning of the sequence.
That worked well, but how do you reverse it? I thought this method would only get rid of the ad but, the green bar also went away.
Richierod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 03:53 PM   #15
Grakthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Use a Windows Media Center PC for recording. We don't suffer from that kind of crap (nor do we have to pay extra for the privilege).
When someone says "How do I make my X not do Y?" if you respond with "don't use X" then you're the ******* in the thread.

In case you didn't know that already.
Grakthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:54 PM   #16
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by crombiecrunch View Post
Ok so since that last major update a couple of months back every time now when I press my pause button or stop a program and go to delete it, I get spammed with ads for woollight or staying at the hilton or some other crap I dont want to see.

Im sorry but I pay 20 bucks a month times 3 TiVo Premieres,
With the Premier, you are pretty much hosed. That's one more reason I don't recommend the Premier or the Elite.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 06:22 PM   #17
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richierod View Post
That worked well, but how do you reverse it? I thought this method would only get rid of the ad but, the green bar also went away.
Yeah that annoyed me too, at first. But anytime you press Play while the video is playing, that brings up the green progress bar.
When I pause, I want the screen cleared quickly (because I am usually looking at a detail in the show) and this feature does that.

Repeating the code should toggle it back.
This feature does not survive a reboot so worst case, a reboot will do it.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 09:48 PM   #18
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 5,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grakthis View Post
When someone says "How do I make my X not do Y?" if you respond with "don't use X" then you're the ******* in the thread.

In case you didn't know that already.
He has been told this often so I am sure he knows it isn't a helpful or meaningful post as it regards this thread.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:23 PM   #19
GoEagles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks, I think I did this right. Paused my recording a couple of times and haven't seen any stupid ads for Woolite and the Cayman Islands.

EDIT: Never mind, they popped back up.

Last edited by GoEagles : 05-14-2012 at 10:39 PM.
GoEagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:19 AM   #20
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 5,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by crombiecrunch View Post
Im sorry but I pay 20 bucks a month times 3 TiVo Premieres, I do not want to be pushed ads.
Does anybody really do this? I sure doubt it.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:56 AM   #21
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Gerhard View Post
Does anybody really do this? I sure doubt it.
If you got the TP free from TiVo your monthly cost would be $19.99.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #22
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grakthis View Post
When someone says "How do I make my X not do Y?" if you respond with "don't use X" then you're the ******* in the thread.

In case you didn't know that already.
Patient: Doctor, it hurts when I do this.
Doctor: Don't do that.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |