TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2012, 10:10 PM   #1
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
Getting a lifetime sub on a S1 in 2012

Well first let me say hello again. I contributed a few posts to this forum a long time ago. Today I typed in my email address into the lost password form and amazingly enough my account still existed. And then I logged in.... Last login: 3/2002 the page says! So basically I have been in a 10 year lurk mode.

Anyway, I came back for some advice on my S1, a HDR31202 that I got way back in late 2001. My folks were using it up until last year when they got UVERSE. I was thinking about resurrecting it and giving it to a friend who just got analog basic cable. Since it has a relatively new 160gb drive and a trusty old TivoNet card, I figure that it is good to go for a few more years.

My question is this: Are there any deals to be had with Tivo if I want to get a lifetime subscription for an S1 in 2012? I see that Tivo just recently changed the prices and a lifetime now goes for a cool $499. Obviously this is out of the question for an S1 that might go up in smoke at any time. Or am I better off just getting another S1 that already has lifetime and using mine for parts?
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:30 PM   #2
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Probably get another S1 already with lifetime.. But if they're truly using only analog cable, might as well get a S2DT, so they'll have two tuners. (It does NOT work with two cable boxes for example, so largely loses its dual-tunerness in that way.)

Or even, heck, get a S3 or TivoHD.. Those will work fine with analog cable. (The Elite will not, I don't remember if the old Premiere will.)
I used my S3 (currently dead) and TivoHD with analog cable for quite a while. (I got them when they had lifetime upgrade offers years ago.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:49 PM   #3
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
Yea I can confirm that it is pure analog basic. Just the locals along with CSPAN, shopping, and maybe WGN & TBS too. So I was thinking that the S1s capabilities would be a good match there. And I hate wasting otherwise good hardware. I should have got the lifetime sub on the front end, but it seemed like a lot back then when I was still a student. Is there no way to get Tivo to bend on the price of a lifetime for the remainder of this old girl's life? After all it was subbed for almost 10 years, so its not like they didn't make money off of me!
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:36 AM   #4
tomm1079
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLobby View Post
Yea I can confirm that it is pure analog basic. Just the locals along with CSPAN, shopping, and maybe WGN & TBS too. So I was thinking that the S1s capabilities would be a good match there. And I hate wasting otherwise good hardware. I should have got the lifetime sub on the front end, but it seemed like a lot back then when I was still a student. Is there no way to get Tivo to bend on the price of a lifetime for the remainder of this old girl's life? After all it was subbed for almost 10 years, so its not like they didn't make money off of me!
give them a call and see what they say. Never know what they might tell you.
tomm1079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:54 AM   #5
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,877
I wouldn't get Product Lifetime on any but the latest model TiVos (Premiere and Elite) or maybe a TiVo HD, or go out of my way to get a Series 1 with Product Lifetime.

For analog cable (not that I'd do that, unless economically pushed), I would get a TiVo HD or Premiere, and hook an antenna up to get broadcast channels in HD, as well as analog cable. For just analog cable, a Series 2 would be better to get.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:34 AM   #6
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,596
Analog cable is on its way out, even the little cablecos will eventually change over. While they may have it NOW, there is no telling how long it will be until it disappears.

It is not a waste if you sell it/give it to someone who wants it.

I would get a lifetime series 2 if you really want to go with the analog only route. Otherwise, i would follow classicsat's advice.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
I managed to snag a good deal to upgrade my subbed S2 to lifetime last year by ..ahem.. negotiating with Tivo's retention folks. But in this case it is probably more of an uphill battle given that the S1 that I have is not currently subbed. I will go that route as a last resort. I should have tried the same tactic I did with the S2 on the S1. Damn you hindsight!

I agree that analog cable is on its way out. Around here I foresee basic 'lifeline' analog (that is locals + cspan, shopping, jesus, etc.) kicking around for at least several more years. 'Expanded' analog basic I agree is definitely on the endangered species list.

But as I said this customer is on my 'friends & family' freebie plan so my target price to get the deal done limited to the two figures range. I will keep on the lookout for a used lifetime S1 or S2 (dual tuner would be nice) on this board. Anything above that is overkill for the intended audience.
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:34 PM   #8
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,271
If you would buy my upgraded to 157 hr(1TB) TiVoHD,with lifetime for $450 ((just to let you know I used it with analog only)).

I will sell my S2 single tuner upgraded with a 160GB Hd with lifetime for $99, this box has to use a wireless adapter or landline

I will send with this deal 1 TiVo wireless G adapter and 1 TiVo C00210 TiVoGlo Premium Remote Control barely used.

The shipping we will have to work out.

S2
TiVoHD
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)

Last edited by Leon WIlkinson : 05-08-2012 at 01:43 PM.
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:16 PM   #9
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,596
In my area, there are no analog signals at all. Once they fully transition, they are 100% digital. I think that many cablecos want to get rid of the legacy equipment ASAP once their investment is in place.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:49 PM   #10
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
I agree that there are a lot fewer days ahead than behind for analog cable. But around here expanded basic in analog is still 75% alive. So my logic is that lifeline basic still has maybe 5 years left. By then almost all tvs in the field will have built in qam tuners and dtas will go for a song. Additionally, a lot of the old folks who would complain the most will have moved on too. In this case an S1 should serve well in the role to record from lifeline analog basic for a few years. That was the design criteria.
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:54 PM   #11
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
I'm surprised you still have analog cable today, let alone 5 years from now. Cable companies are rapidly killing all analog. Unless you have some mom&pop cable company, I wouldn't count on analog existing tomorrow.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:02 PM   #12
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
I'm not going to argue with you, just stating the facts that I have observed and the hypothesis that I have made based on those facts. The cable co in question is Charter, and their strategy has been to kill off analog channels one at a time, ever so slowly. They don't want the revolt that would occur if one day their analog customers woke up to static. So the way they are doing it is to gently nudge analog customers into signing up for digital boxes.... "I'm so sorry, but lifetime movie network is only available on digital now, would you like me to schedule an appointment to hook one up for you free of charge?"

Case in point, my folks had expanded basic with no digital boxes (and the lifetime lacking S1 Tivo :-) until last summer. Then one day they killed the speed channel on analog. My dad was not happy, so I explained the options which basically came down to Charter with their digital boxes/dvrs or UVERSE. Either way complexity and cost was going to increase, but in the end UVERSE won out for them.

So you can see that Charter is not going to pull the rug suddenly and have a bunch of pissed off customers leave them in a huff. And based on all my observations, in my market, I envision that expanded basic will die off in the next 2-3 years. While the last holdouts with 'lifeline basic' will probably have no more than 5 years left. And by the end of that time, they will probably only have a dozen channels to pick from.

Last edited by MikeLobby : 05-08-2012 at 07:30 PM. Reason: grammar
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:11 PM   #13
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
I'm surprised you still have analog cable today, let alone 5 years from now. Cable companies are rapidly killing all analog. Unless you have some mom&pop cable company, I wouldn't count on analog existing tomorrow.
I'm on Comcast cable in the SF Bay Area, and we have analog into the low 30-channels.. I think 33 or so. Mostly OTA channels, but a couple of other useful ones, e.g. Discovery.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:23 PM   #14
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,271
Mike I sent you a msg back.
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:06 AM   #15
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
No analog channel is useful. The faster they are killed, the less blocky the real channels are. This is 2012, not 1982.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:19 AM   #16
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
I'm on Comcast cable in the SF Bay Area, and we have analog into the low 30-channels.. I think 33 or so. Mostly OTA channels, but a couple of other useful ones, e.g. Discovery.
Enjoy it while you can. Comcast went all digital here April 9.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:34 PM   #17
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Enjoy it while you can. Comcast went all digital here April 9.
Did you CHECK?

We "switched to digital" a few years ago.. and what I said is here still remains.
BEFORE that, I used my S3 & TivoHD entirely as analog recorders.. (I got them back when the
lifetime transfers were happening). I got basically all of the "extended basic" channels I was used to in analog (MTV, CNN, E!, Comedy Central, etc..) I knew all along there were other digital channels I was missing, but the occasional glitch makes digital channels more annoying than analog ones, even though I realize that 99% of the time they look far better.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:11 PM   #18
cruiserandmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLobby View Post
Or am I better off just getting another S1 that already has lifetime and using mine for parts?
Bingo! That's what I'd do.
cruiserandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:24 PM   #19
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Did you CHECK?
No. I have no easy way to check. Even before the "official" switchover, I wasn't using any analog channels. The few remaining analog channels were simulcast in digital and my CableCARDed TiVos always used the digital ones.

I have no reason to doubt the validity of the letter they sent me announcing the switchover date as April 9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
We "switched to digital" a few years ago.. and what I said is here still remains.
BEFORE that, I used my S3 & TivoHD entirely as analog recorders.. (I got them back when the
lifetime transfers were happening). I got basically all of the "extended basic" channels I was used to in analog (MTV, CNN, E!, Comedy Central, etc..) I knew all along there were other digital channels I was missing, but the occasional glitch makes digital channels more annoying than analog ones, even though I realize that 99% of the time they look far better.
All we had left in analog was local stuff. And yes, I checked that. While I wouldn't put anything past Comcast, I can't think of any reason for them to announce this and not do it.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:35 PM   #20
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
On my cable system, we have only one analog channel. That channel tells you that you need a box to receive any channels, because they are all digital.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:47 AM   #21
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
I think the bottom line here is that YMMV with regards to analog. I can see Comcast having gone fully digital by now. They are, from what I hear, evil. Charter on the other hand is trying to work its way back from bankruptcy, so they can't really afford to be totally evil.

And just to stir the pot even more... I was in a resort town in Colorado in January that has community run cable. They still run HBO in the clear on analog channel 3. Mind boggling!
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:24 PM   #22
Techguy9707
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
I have a series on Philips DSR6000R DirecTv TIVO box, with lifetime. I don't know if this is useful or not too you but maybe we can work something out. It is currently in use (without local network channels) but it is planned on being retired on Tuesday morning when I retire from the TIVO fan club and get on the Microsoft Mediaroom train with a bundled plan for about what I pay for DirectTv alone today.

I may even have other Direct TIVOS in the garage.

send me an email at guy harr i son [at] gmail dot com (remove psaces and fix as standard email address.

As for cable, we used to have analog "limited basic": channels (local affiliates, PBSD and some basic satellite channels with CSPAN) for the "free" channel I got on my Comcast data connection but now they require a digital adapter to make it work and they would know I was getting limited basic for free and would charge me for it.
Techguy9707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:50 PM   #23
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
We still have cable channels under 99 available as analog versions on our cable system (Suddenlink). That covers most of the Extended Basic service.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:03 AM   #24
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techguy9707 View Post
I have a series on Philips DSR6000R DirecTv TIVO box, with lifetime. I don't know if this is useful or not too you but maybe we can work something out. It is currently in use (without local network channels) but it is planned on being retired on Tuesday morning when I retire from the TIVO fan club and get on the Microsoft Mediaroom train with a bundled plan for about what I pay for DirectTv alone today.

I may even have other Direct TIVOS in the garage.

send me an email at guy harr i son [at] gmail dot com (remove psaces and fix as standard email address.

As for cable, we used to have analog "limited basic": channels (local affiliates, PBSD and some basic satellite channels with CSPAN) for the "free" channel I got on my Comcast data connection but now they require a digital adapter to make it work and they would know I was getting limited basic for free and would charge me for it.
The Philips DSR6000 almost certainly can't even be activated on DirecTV for a new owner and absolutely certainly can't be used with anything else so it won't be of any benefit to the OP.

I won't try to change the OP's mind about using a Series 1 so my recommendation is simple if that is how he wants to proceed.

1. Call TiVo for best deal on lifetime, definitely don't pay over $100.
2. If that doesn't work, try to find the best deal on a Series 1 with lifetime, the one you own is a better risk since you know it works properly but don't pay over $100 to buy one either.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:35 PM   #25
MikeLobby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 22
I actually pulled the trigger on an S1 on ebay. I went a little over my target price, but still comfortably under the $100 mark. I figure that I ought to be able to keep it going for a while using my original S1 as a parts hulk.

Thanks to all the helpful replies.
MikeLobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |