TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
JfNebraska
HD Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 106
Question Backlight feature - how dark does it need to be?

My theater room is pretty dark during the day. Of particular relevance here, it's too dark to see the keys on my slide remote very well. However, the backlight will not turn on. I had to go into an almost pitch black room to confirm that the backlight was even working.

Couple questions: 1) I assume there's no way to make the backlight come on sooner by adjusting the threshold or anything; 2) can I cover up the light sensor to get the backlight to come on and, if so, where is it?

Thanks.
JfNebraska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 02:25 AM   #2
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 669
Are the batteries FRESH and at close to full charge? I have found that the back light will drain the batteries (remember it lights EVERY time you press a button like the skip, so we a having that back light come on and stay on a lot) very quickly, and the back light will get NOTICEABLY DIM as very short time passes.

Fresh batteries can make glow nice and bright, and within a few days (if used a lot) will dim. I always try to put up with the dimmest I can tolerate before I put in fresh batteries and the thing glows bright again.

Best of luck
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,068
Put in a couple of Lithium AA batteries. They will last an extremely long time. I got my first TiVo BT remote last year in October and the Lithium batteries are still showing a 100% charge on the SYS info screen.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:58 AM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,243
According to this the sensor is on the front of the remote.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 04:28 AM   #5
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 669
I also stopped using it as often I used to because the remote thinks the room is dark in the room of one of my TiVo's that has a florescent bulb in the lamp. Now, I just activate the glow when it is night and the lamp is off. But, even then, the battery drains pretty fast if I use it a lot lack lots of skips.

I will look into Lithium batteries. Thanks for the tip.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |