TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2012, 12:28 AM   #1
copwriter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Refurbished TiVo Premiere for $44.95

Woot has refurbished 45 hour TiVo Premieres for $44.95 + $5.00 shipping until 10:00 PM Central time on May 5, 2012 or supplies are exhausted. Woot is owned by Amazon, so if you pay sales tax on Amazon orders, you'll also pay sales tax to Woot.
copwriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:45 AM   #2
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,336
Bought one just for the remote and spare parts.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:16 AM   #3
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,336
Woot Stats - 1646 Sold

Interesting Stats

Total TiVo Premieres sold: 1646
One every 52.476 seconds avg

http://www.woot.com/Forums/ViewPost.aspx?PostID=4988325
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:22 PM   #4
nrnoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
I also bought one. I would like to upgrade the internal HDD drive.

1) Can person upgrade the internal HDD like previous models (I've upgraded S3)
2) What is the largest drive the Premiere supports?
3) Are there recommend HDD models, or HDD models to avoid?
__________________
Two Series 3 TiVos, One TiVo Premiere, all with lifetime subs.
One dedicated media server with Steambaby and other media services.
Use VideoRedo for editing TiVo files.
Tivo user since 1999.
nrnoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:24 PM   #5
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,515
Search for JMFS
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #6
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrnoble View Post
I also bought one. I would like to upgrade the internal HDD drive.

1) Can person upgrade the internal HDD like previous models (I've upgraded S3)
Yes it is very easy with jmfs Live CD
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=455968

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrnoble View Post
2) What is the largest drive the Premiere supports?
2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrnoble View Post
3) Are there recommend HDD models, or HDD models to avoid?
2TB is the best value, and no issues upgrading from a stock TiVo 320GB HDD.

1st Choice
WD20EURS, 2TB WD AV-GP same model in the Elite/XL4 - "Designed to last in always-on, streaming digital audio/video environments such as PVRs, DVRs and surveillance video recorders."
http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita.../dp/B0042AG9V8

2nd Choice
WD20EARX, 2TB Caviar Green Desktop Drive
http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digita.../dp/B004VFJ9MK
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:31 AM   #7
nrnoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions

One additional question:

If I upgrade the internal drive to 2TB, can I still add more extrenal storage? With my S3, once I max'ed out the internal with a 2TB drive, it was not possible to add external storage.
__________________
Two Series 3 TiVos, One TiVo Premiere, all with lifetime subs.
One dedicated media server with Steambaby and other media services.
Use VideoRedo for editing TiVo files.
Tivo user since 1999.

Last edited by nrnoble : 05-07-2012 at 01:13 AM.
nrnoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:22 AM   #8
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,336
I believe the answer is no, 2TB is the limit, only weeKnees has been able to expand on a 2TB upgraded internal drive.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 04:50 PM   #9
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,340
Crap, how did I miss this!!!
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:42 PM   #10
nrnoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
I believe the answer is no, 2TB is the limit, only weeKnees has been able to expand on a 2TB upgraded internal drive.
Thanks, I noticed that when I went to their website. They list being able to have 2TB internal drive, and a 2TB external drive.

Any idea what they are doing to get that to work? Its my impression most of the services they offer is using free software tools created by TiVo community, and they just offer it as an service for those who don't have the technical skills, or simply would rather pay to have it done..
__________________
Two Series 3 TiVos, One TiVo Premiere, all with lifetime subs.
One dedicated media server with Steambaby and other media services.
Use VideoRedo for editing TiVo files.
Tivo user since 1999.
nrnoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:27 AM   #11
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrnoble View Post
Thanks, I noticed that when I went to their website. They list being able to have 2TB internal drive, and a 2TB external drive.

Any idea what they are doing to get that to work? Its my impression most of the services they offer is using free software tools created by TiVo community, and they just offer it as an service for those who don't have the technical skills, or simply would rather pay to have it done..
See the extensive upgrade forums here. And no, no one's figured it out.

And no, you don't need 4TB. 2TB is tons.
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 01:12 AM   #12
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeSoFar View Post
And no, you don't need 4TB. 2TB is tons.
Unless you want to save more than you can watch.
I agree that 2TB holds a lot. If you use a computer to save shows for later, then 2TB in the Tivo is plenty.
If your stuck with a cable company that restricts transferring content to a computer for saving, the extra capacity is appealing.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:48 AM   #13
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Unless you want to save more than you can watch.
I agree that 2TB holds a lot. If you use a computer to save shows for later, then 2TB in the Tivo is plenty.
If your stuck with a cable company that restricts transferring content to a computer for saving, the extra capacity is appealing.
I suppose if you have just one TiVo, going to 4TB might make sense. But keep in mind a newish (refurbed) Premier is just $80, lifetime it for $400 more, add the second 2TB there and bingo-bango, you got your second 2TB AND you can have it on a second TV if you want (or not...).
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:29 PM   #14
jlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 62
I missed the deal. Is there any other dealers selling it near this price range?
jlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:33 PM   #15
ncted
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlin View Post
I missed the deal. Is there any other dealers selling it near this price range?
The cheapest I have been able to find them is $79.99 at Tivo.com. If someone knows of a better deal, please let me know.

-Ted
__________________
Slogging along with Dish Hopper for now.
ncted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |