TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
wrp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 21
American Idol Not Recorded!?

We've had a season pass to AI since the beginning of the season, but tonight (May 3) we see that it's not getting recorded - there are no conflicts and nothing else has changed. Any hints why season pass shows don't get recorded? Or did Fox do a deal with Tivo to kill recordings?
wrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,869
Yes, check the recording history (first item in the to do list), which the vast majority of the reason will tell you a good reason why it wasn't recorded.. ("no signal", a higher priority program was recorded, etc..)

Once in a while it will give you a bogus reason (and I'd consider that a bug), but the recording history page is very valuable, IMHO.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 11:21 PM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,620
I guess it's possible someone could pay off Tribune to manipulate their guide data so that DVRs wouldn't automatically record a certain show.
Of course, their efforts would be thwarted by OCD people who double check their to do list to make sure their favorite show is going to record.

__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 11:30 PM   #4
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,461
It recorded for me...
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:43 AM   #5
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 619
Obligatory "Your TiVo has good taste" joke...

But seriously... maybe it was marked as a rerun by mistake in the guide for your area? The "to-done" list will say why it didn't record.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:08 AM   #6
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
I guess it's possible someone could pay off Tribune to manipulate their guide data so that DVRs wouldn't automatically record a certain show.
Of course, their efforts would be thwarted by OCD people who double check their to do list to make sure their favorite show is going to record.
Try looking at the quoted post while NOT logged in to the forum. On my system, at least, the words "favorite show" are turned into a link in red type and clicking on it pops up a Windows ad. Wow, making new progress in yet more annoying ads! And the ad content doesn't even relate to the idea of a "favorite show".
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 06:03 AM   #7
Samantha Kirk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
It recorded for me...
Yup, i didn't have any problem with the recording. It recorded for me too. Might be a bug..
Samantha Kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 06:34 AM   #8
heatherprotz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
bradleys, Would you be kind enough to elaborate that for me?
heatherprotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |