TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2012, 09:41 AM   #1
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Revision 3 on Series 2

Is anyone else NOT getting Revision 3 shows on Series 2 Tivo's? This has only been happening for about a 2 Weeks and I can watch Rev 3 on my ROKU as well but I really do like the Rev 3 shows downloaded to me Tivo. I mostly watch Tekzilla and Destructoid.
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:20 PM   #2
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
I noticed this too. Too bad, because my WDTV Live doesn't support it and for some reason it doesn't correctly login to my google account to access my YT subs. I'd rather not watch it on a PC or tablet. It's a lot easier to see a 50" screen over a 7 month old than a 10" one.

This started to slowly happen back when they announced their multiple channel setup on Youtube and Rev3.

edit: Tivo's web video page still lists Scam School, tekzilla, and Destructoid as being avialable to S2s...

edit2: When you were getting their programming did you notice everything had a terrible hum in the background? All of the Rev3 shows had it, but NOTHING else I recorded from any other source exhibited it suggesting something up with their studio.

Last edited by max4677 : 04-26-2012 at 03:29 PM.
max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:43 PM   #3
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by max4677 View Post
This started to slowly happen back when they announced their multiple channel setup on Youtube and Rev3.


edit2: When you were getting their programming did you notice everything had a terrible hum in the background? All of the Rev3 shows had it, but NOTHING else I recorded from any other source exhibited it suggesting something up with their studio.
For me it's only been about two weeks although Tekzilla seemed to skip the Tuesday show fairly often. I never noticed a background hum, actually the sound quality was great I actually had to turn my TV volume down because it came it SO loud.
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
Odd about the sound thing... Doesn't really matter too much in the end I suppose. I sent an email to info AT revision3.com to see if anyone replies. I also stumbled across a 1 post thread in a Rev3 forum from the 21st with no replies.
max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:57 PM   #5
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Yeah I saw that Rev 3 post in the Forums. I also asked for help form Tivo & Rev 3 on REV 3 on Twitter I will keep you posted if I hear anything.
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:51 PM   #6
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Tivo replied to me via Twitter:


TiVo ‏ @TiVo


@TechMonkey74 Looking into this now as we do still support @Revision3 @tekzilla @dtoidshow content. Thanks for flagging!
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:48 PM   #7
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
I got this reply back from a rep at Rev3 (granted I'm not sure why he mentions S1 when my subject and message only say S2 - I sent a reply asking if he meant S2s)

Quote:
Thank you for your question and for watching Revision3.

If you are currently using a TiVo Series 1, you may be experiencing some problems with playing back longer format Revision3 content. TiVo Series 1 units use a file format (MPEG2 720x480 / 4000kbps) that is no longer fully supported by Revision3. While we will not turn this specific format off, we are no longer providing support resources to this specific encode should an encode for a specific episode fail.

While we understand that this is inconvenient for a small number of users, Revision3 has streamlined its supported file formats in order to service the largest number of devices available. The file formats that Revision3 fully supports are listed below.


H264 (in MP4 container):
1280x720
640x360
320x180
160x90

VP8 (in WebM container):
1280x720
640x360
320x180

Theora (in Ogg container):
1280x720
640x360
320x180

I hope this helps and thanks again for watching Revision3.

max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:10 PM   #8
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Hmmmmm I sent THIS forum link to the Tivo twitter so we will see what they say.
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:20 PM   #9
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Gotta Love Twitter! Thanks Tivo for getting Back to me:


TiVo ‏ @TiVo



@TechMonkey74 I'll share this link with the team and let you know what I hear back. Thanks for your patience!
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:18 AM   #10
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
Looks like they are targeting 720p HD and common resolutions for portable devices...
max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:37 AM   #11
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
I haven't been getting Revision 3 videos for about 2 weeks as well, and I use a Premiere Elite. I'm not sure the root problem is with resolutions as they're saying.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 04-29-2012 at 02:48 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:37 AM   #12
CherishDeo83
Registered User
 
CherishDeo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 1
computer tech services

From time to time you read a good post; this one is through the roof!
CherishDeo83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:11 AM   #13
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
<strike>I haven't heard anything since the initial email form Rev3... </strike>


"Our tech team did a bit more digging into this problem and it seems like the issue is on Tivo's end.

We have reached out to Tivo because it seems their player is no longer understanding our feed information. We are hoping that they will be able to fix the issue. Please stay tuned, I will let you know what we find out.

I am sorry for the inconvenience."

Last edited by max4677 : 04-30-2012 at 11:35 AM.
max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:20 AM   #14
techmonkey
Registered User
 
techmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 156
Well I did have a episode of Destructoid waiting for me this morning
techmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 03:06 PM   #15
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
I'll have to check mine later. I just turned in my cable boxes and disabled the passes on the basement TiVo. We might be switching to Amazon Prime so the old S2's will still have some use left (the lifetime subs help).

I just found out that I can get them on my WD TV LIVE PLUS via the Flingo app. The interface is a little rough, but they are there.

Good work on getting everyone to work on the goof.
max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:43 AM   #16
max4677
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
Yup, I have a D-toid show waiting for me as well.
max4677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:32 PM   #17
TiVoStephen
formerly TiVoOpsMgr
 
TiVoStephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alviso, CA, USA
Posts: 2,478
Hey folks, sorry to take so long to reply here, and sorry for the problem.

Revision3 changed the format of the URLs they were using to a format that wasn't compatible with our system. We're still working on adding support, but in the meantime, we've worked with them to revert their change back to the old format. (Thanks, Revision3 folks!)

The fix went in around Wednesday. Sorry again for the problem.
__________________
E. Stephen Mack, Director of Operations at TiVo (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoStephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |