TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2012, 08:53 AM   #1
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Faster HD

I tried searching to this but could not find it..

Has anyone upgraded there Premiere HD to a Faster Drive instead of a Green Drive? I am curious if there are any improvements or issues upgrading to a 7200k drive and one with larger cache....
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:02 AM   #2
oViTynoT
Obvious Forum Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 341
What would be the point?
oViTynoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:22 AM   #3
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by oViTynoT View Post
What would be the point?
I am curious if the faster spindle or larger cache would improve any speed times.... perhaps transferring shows it may improve or stabilize network speed... or increase boot times. what brought this up is there is alot of people having speed issues with Direct TV's new interface and this is having people wonder if a faster HD would help things out for them
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:04 AM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,226
The answer is that a faster HD does not help, there have been many threads over the years here, and the consensus is that the way the Tivo OS and filesystem deal with drives and cache speed of the drive never enters into it, thus why 5400RPM drives handle things fine.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,153
this has been asked and answered in the past. Someone once even tried a SSD just for kicks, I seem to remember he felt menus were a little quicker, but he did not benchmark.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:15 PM   #6
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 21,141
TC CLUB MEMBER
The slow menus are because of the slow Processor. If you can find a way to upgrade THAT you'd probably see some improvement. Not sure why TiVo is so stubborn about putting in such weak processors, but it is what it is. Hopefully the NEXT generation of TiVo will have better hardware.
__________________
Need a new sig...
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:20 PM   #7
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,747
...and the transfer speeds are not bottlenecked by the hard drive.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:27 PM   #8
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 21,141
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
...and the transfer speeds are not bottlenecked by the hard drive.
Yes. True. Although I do have to say, they have made a fairly noticeable improvement in MRV transfer speeds on the Premiere boxes vs. my Series 3 HD's. It's faster going both directions (pulling AND pushing videos). I'm pretty satisfied with that. It's faster than real time and that's all I usually need.
__________________
Need a new sig...

Last edited by bareyb : 04-26-2012 at 05:32 PM.
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:04 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,579
Series 3 to Series 3 was faster than real time.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:05 PM   #10
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 21,141
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Series 3 to Series 3 was faster than real time.
True. The new Premiers are noticeably faster though... that's all I was saying. They load super fast.
__________________
Need a new sig...
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:53 PM   #11
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb View Post
True. The new Premiers are noticeably faster though... that's all I was saying. They load super fast.
Yeah, my Premiere is faster than my S3HD which is faster than my S2's. Rumor has it that the Elite is so fast that the transfer is almost complete before you even request it.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:39 PM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb View Post
The slow menus are because of the slow Processor. If you can find a way to upgrade THAT you'd probably see some improvement. Not sure why TiVo is so stubborn about putting in such weak processors, but it is what it is. Hopefully the NEXT generation of TiVo will have better hardware.
TiVo's in sort of the same boat as NASA.

By the time they pick a CPU and make sure it's bulletproof and design around it and get to production, there are newer, faster models on the market that weren't there when they started or were there but were too expensive to consider at the time.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:49 PM   #13
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
By the time they pick a CPU and make sure it's bulletproof and design around it and get to production, there are newer, faster models on the market that weren't there when they started or were there but were too expensive to consider at the time.
A VCR never had "slow menus".. at least not to the same degree.

Heck, the menus on the S1 were actually what I'd say "more complete" (fewer UI glitches), and fairly fast, EXCEPT getting into Now Playing. So they sped that up on later Tivos by making Now Playing "fill in" (but be FAR worse UI-wise, IMHO).

Basically, you should design to the hardware you have, and make things less fluff-filled so they're faster.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 03:35 PM   #14
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 21,141
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
TiVo's in sort of the same boat as NASA.

By the time they pick a CPU and make sure it's bulletproof and design around it and get to production, there are newer, faster models on the market that weren't there when they started or were there but were too expensive to consider at the time.
I think that's the key sentence right there. They basically cheaped out thinking the lower price would increase sales. I think a better product would increase sales. So it's a matter of priority. I know it's thier choice, but I think they could take a lesson from Apple here.
__________________
Need a new sig...
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |