TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2012, 09:51 AM   #1
zukdj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
WinMFS

Just got a series 2 TIVO for free with lifetime subscription, it has an 80GB drive in it so I wanted to back it up and restore it to a 250GB Western Digital IDE drive I have available. I loaded WinMFS 9.3beta, plugged the Maxtor into a USB to IDE adapter (changed it to master), it doesn't seem to see the drive, I even tried different jumper settings. My desktop is 100% SATA so removing a drive in the machine to do it is not possible. Any suggestions so I can back this up and change it to the 250GB drive? I'm a noob, but computer literate.
zukdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 10:33 AM   #2
vectorcatch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
Are you running Windows 7 or Vista? If so, you will need to run WinMFS as administrator for it to see the drives.
vectorcatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 12:28 PM   #3
zukdj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Running Vista and running WinMFS as administrator (right click, run as administrator), I am also an administrator of the box.
zukdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 02:25 PM   #4
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
Test the adapter using the spare 250G drive.

Depending on the vintage of the drive there may be 2 master settings "Master" and "Master with Slave". Check the adapters manual.
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 03:33 PM   #5
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by zukdj View Post
Just got a series 2 TIVO for free with lifetime subscription, it has an 80GB drive in it so I wanted to back it up and restore it to a 250GB Western Digital IDE drive I have available. I loaded WinMFS 9.3beta, plugged the Maxtor into a USB to IDE adapter (changed it to master), it doesn't seem to see the drive, I even tried different jumper settings. My desktop is 100% SATA so removing a drive in the machine to do it is not possible. Any suggestions so I can back this up and change it to the 250GB drive? I'm a noob, but computer literate.
You shouldn't have to change the drive jumper settings at all, in my experience. Did you try clicking on the "Show mounted drives" in WinMFS? Windows should not have mounted the drive if it was already in Tivo format. What model is your S2 box? I may be able to send you an image. Don't forget to check out the IDE to SATA sticky in the Upgrade Forum for an adapter that Tivos like (if your 250GB drive is a SATA).
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
zukdj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
TCD24008A is the model # I didn't see the drive in WinMFS no matter what I did, including showing mounted drives.
zukdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by zukdj View Post
TCD24008A is the model # I didn't see the drive in WinMFS no matter what I did, including showing mounted drives.
Assuming that the spare 250G drive is IDE I would use that drive to test the configuration with the USB adapter with the PC and WinMFS before going any further.

As bshrock pointed out the drive jumper configuration can be tricky.
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 08:42 AM   #8
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by zukdj View Post
TCD24008A is the model # I didn't see the drive in WinMFS no matter what I did, including showing mounted drives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeUser View Post
Assuming that the spare 250G drive is IDE I would use that drive to test the configuration with the USB adapter with the PC and WinMFS before going any further.

As bshrock pointed out the drive jumper configuration can be tricky.
Yeah, check with another drive just to make sure that the adapter cable is working. I do have an image for that model I can point you to. I'll send a PM.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:56 PM   #9
ss_sea_ya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 82
check out this thread linked in the WINMFS web page under "Windows Vista"

http://www.mfslive.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=341
__________________
DirecTV HR24-500 (hi-def)
DirecTV R15-100 (SD)
DirecTV R10 (Tivo version, SD)
DirecTV Hughs HDVR2 (Tivo version, SD)
(original 40G good drive but replacement 320G drive now "under repair").
ss_sea_ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:05 PM   #10
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
I have run WinMFS successfully using Vista 32-bit and Win7 64-bit. All I do is the right-click to run as administrator. I have done all of my imaging (S1, S2, S2DT, S3HD) using a USB to IDE/SATA adapter cable. Just make sure that Windows has installed the driver for the USB adapter and that it is recognized in Device Manager. I will also repeat my statement that I have never had to change the hard drive jumper setting for any Tivo IDE drive to get WinMFS to work properly.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 07:02 PM   #11
zukdj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
I think I've figure this out, the USB to IDE adapter may be bad out of the box.
zukdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |