TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2012, 01:36 PM   #1
robkon
Just a Geek
 
robkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Posts: 5
Smile My 3 week old new Tivo froze

Hi all Bob here,

I really enjoy the newest (gadget) toy to be in use here in my home!

Last week i was going through my "to do list" and all of a sudden my Tivo just froze! The night before I had purchased the slide remote w/built in key board (very nice) and the Tivo froze while using that new remote. I picked up the original remote and no difference!

The one function available to me was TV Power switch which allowed me to lets say reboot the TV and power back on the Tivo. the screen went on to display what was frozen before. I removed the power cable for about 30 seconds then replugged back in but went out for the day so i'm not certain what in fact removed the frozen state of my Tivo.

Two days later I was playing Pandora and after a good while of entertainment it started sounding staticy and only after many (4) recycling of TV Power did it play normally! with my technical back ground I don't feel these two problems are related but then again who knows.

As a side note both of these issues had only happens that 1 time each a couple days apart but never repeated! I checked to make sure the the Cable TV connector was tight to the connection and it was!

Any thing come to mind? were these occurrences ill not see again or is this the start of something i need watch more closely?

BTW Hi and thanks for this Blog so we can exchange ideas!

Newby Geek Bob
robkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
rogmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 175
Yeah. Freezes are not uncommon, particularly with the Bluetooth remote.
rogmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:38 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,555
Unplug the Bluetooth USB dongle when it freezes, and plug back in.
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:00 PM   #4
robkon
Just a Geek
 
robkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Unplug the Bluetooth USB dongle when it freezes, and plug back in.
Thanks I will do that when and if it reoccurres!
robkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |