TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2012, 01:01 PM   #1
ed3120
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Scheduling Automated Tivo Transfers

I'd like to set up some automated transfers for some shows and have them automatically converted for my iPhone. I'd like to have this happen automatically each night, overnight, so as not to disrupt my PC during the day.

Can I schedule these Tivo Desktop Plus transfers to start at midnight each night and stop at 8AM? Can I do this via running a Windows Scheduled Task that launches a command or batch file that manually starts or stops a Tivo Desktop service? Or is there a better way?

Does KMTTG support this functionality? Would I be better off with it for this purpose?
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,243
I use kmttg for this on my Linux box. kmttg has a -b command-line flag that will run it in batch (it starts, executes any auto-transfers, and then shuts down). I run this nightly so that downloaded shows are available for streaming via AirVideo to my iPhone or iPad.

I'm guessing you could accomplish the same thing in Windows using the Task Scheduler to run the kmttg batch file (with the -b flag). The same goes for TiVo Desktop, but kmttg is probably the more elegant solution in this case (just for the available options for matching auto-transfers alone).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:45 PM   #3
ed3120
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Hmm...I launched KMTTG to try this, but it doesn't detect my Tivo. Nor is there a button to tell it to search for my Tivo. I even tried manually adding my Tivo's IP address and still, nothing changed.

When I first loaded it, it downloaded the helper files, and then I entered MAK. I'm not sure what to do next to get it to list the recordings on my Tivo.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:13 PM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,243
It's been a while since I've had to set it up from scratch, but look under File - Configure and then the Tivos tab. You can tell kmttg to search for your TiVos, or try using the TiVo Beacon instead of Bonjour.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:08 AM   #5
ed3120
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Unfortunately, I tried that with both the beacon and bonjour...no luck.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:44 AM   #6
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,243
Does TiVo Desktop see your TiVos? Do you have transfers enabled (via your tivo.com account)?
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:50 AM   #7
ed3120
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Does TiVo Desktop see your TiVos? Do you have transfers enabled (via your tivo.com account)?
Yes. I have no problem with Tivo Desktop.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:48 AM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed3120 View Post
Unfortunately, I tried that with both the beacon and bonjour...no luck.
My guess would be a firewall issue. Make sure Java is not being denied network access.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:21 PM   #9
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,243
I was going to suggest the same thing.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |