TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2012, 03:08 PM   #1
Grandpasteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
can tivo premiere support the weight of a television

The television is a tube 25" and it has been sitting on top of a series 2 DT for years. The Series 2 DT is being replaced by a premiere - will the premiere support the TV?
Grandpasteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,257
It feels sturdy enough but, and I'm probably in the minority here, I wouldn't do it. One of the things I try to be careful of is not contributing to the possibility of overheating of my Tivo units. So I put them in situations where they don't have anything on them (well, one of my new Premieres has one of those stoopid cable company adapter things on it, but it's very small-still bugs me, though) so they can enjoy as much air circulation as possible.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:25 PM   #3
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
i would agree from a heat perspective also
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
jmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 217
If your Series 2 DT was fine, the Premiere will be fine as well.

Not suggested, but it will work.
jmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:48 PM   #5
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,461
A 25" tube TV is going to weigh about 75 pounds!

ummm... No, I would not do it!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:49 PM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,582
The Premiere is a smaller box than S2 TiVos isn't it?(I know it is smaller than the S3 models) If it were a small LCD set I would do it, but not with any tube set. Those are heavy.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:45 PM   #7
smbaker
Registered User
 
smbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
A 25" tube TV is going to weigh about 75 pounds!
I just took my old S3 off the shelf and stood on it (I wont say how much, but I weigh more than 75 lbs). Granted, I was careful to put my feet one the edges of the case rather than standing in the middle.
__________________
1 Roamio Plus
2 Lifetime Premieres, 2 HDs, 2 S2DTs
1 Original Philips S1 from all the way back in 1999!
smbaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:49 AM   #8
WestTx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Texas
Posts: 33
I was reluctant to sit a TV on my Premiere so I bought a monitor stand that works great. I bought the OFC Express Monitor Stand from Amazon but I see that it's currently unavailable. If you can find one (they're about $50) the 20.5 x 11 x 5.25 size is perfect.

Les
__________________
Roamio Basic x 1
TivoHD x 2
Premiere x 1
dead Tivo Series 2 w/Lifetime
WestTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 10:12 AM   #9
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,461
Unlike the S3 and earlier models, the Premier box has very little extra clearance between the top of the hard drive and the top cover. It would not take a lot of deflection in the cover to come in contact with the hard drive. What's going to happen when the top cover touches that drive board sitting up on top???

BAD IDEA!



__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 04-17-2012 at 10:58 AM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 10:53 AM   #10
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestTx View Post
I was reluctant to sit a TV on my Premiere so I bought a monitor stand that works great. I bought the OFC Express Monitor Stand from Amazon but I see that it's currently unavailable. If you can find one (they're about $50) the 20.5 x 11 x 5.25 size is perfect.

Les
That's a good idea! You can find all kinds of monitor stands at every price level. That gives you a 'shelf' for your Tivo. I also have swivel stands that have a shelf below. These allow even more versatility so you can move the tv around for better viewing.

Truly, though, at this point I would probably just replace that little tv with a flat screen. (AND get a monitor stand). In that same size range it will take a lot less space and be way lighter. Plus you will have a better picture from your Tivo.

I recently (last year) replaced my 32" CRT bedroom TV with a flat screen in the same size and it was amazing the difference made by getting that dinosaur out of there. I swear, the whole room looked better. Plus it made it possible to move around the piece of furniture it was on so that I could clean back there.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 06:17 PM   #11
smbaker
Registered User
 
smbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Unlike the S3 and earlier models, the Premier box has very little extra clearance between the top of the hard drive and the top cover.
What are those weird black spots in the picture? Photoshopped out serial numbers? or is some metal parasite eating the Premiere's internals?
__________________
1 Roamio Plus
2 Lifetime Premieres, 2 HDs, 2 S2DTs
1 Original Philips S1 from all the way back in 1999!
smbaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:23 PM   #12
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
I wouldn't feel comfortable using a Premiere as a CRT TV stand. Not at all.
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:13 PM   #13
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
rather than spend $50 on a monitor stand- I'd spend $40 at amazon for the tivo slide bluetooth remote and just stuff the tivo box out of the way someplace so it doesn't need to be out in the open anyway. better remote and problem saved for $10 less.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:14 AM   #14
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The Premiere is a smaller box than S2 TiVos isn't it?(I know it is smaller than the S3 models) If it were a small LCD set I would do it, but not with any tube set. Those are heavy.
It's much smaller in fact its probably small enough to sit on the tv almost.
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:26 PM   #15
JPS10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 23
Heck, even though it may not be pretty, I would use 2 bricks and a shelf board with the TV on top and the Premiere below before I ever put a TV on top of a Premiere.

With a little effort, you could easily build a very cheap stand if you don't want to buy one.
JPS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:19 PM   #16
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,249
I used stacks of cheap poker chips has feet for a TiVo which sat on another.
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:41 PM   #17
Grandpasteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks for the replies - I guess I will know when I see the Premiere. The TV is weighs much less than 75 lbs, but It sounds like the Premiere might fit on top of it. I agree that updating the TV makes sense, but it works fine for the bedroom until it dies.
Grandpasteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:07 PM   #18
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,249
Grandpasteve I would not do that unless you glue something has a shelf on the TV.

If the TiVo gets knocked off it could damage the Hard drive.
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:07 AM   #19
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpasteve View Post
The television is a tube 25" and it has been sitting on top of a series 2 DT for years. The Series 2 DT is being replaced by a premiere - will the premiere support the TV?
I vote for TiVo on top of TV if the TV has much weight at all.

http://woodworker.com/fullpres.asp?P...9&LARGEVIEW=ON

They don't seem to have much of a selection left but they do have pictures.

We've got a black one (bought at big lots a while back) sitting on top of our TV with an S2, S3, and VCR stacked on it.

Here's a picture of a double decker version.

http://www.amazon.com/Computer-Monit.../dp/B0028TH41O
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 01:17 PM   #20
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon WIlkinson View Post
I used stacks of cheap poker chips has feet for a TiVo which sat on another.
Ha! Water bottle caps work well too. I had both of my old Series 2 Tivos sitting with water bottle caps under each foot to allow for more air circulation. Haven't done it yet with my new Premieres...still considering it, as the aesthetic isn't that great but I'll do whatever I need to, in order to keep them cool.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:15 PM   #21
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,582
Plenty of air circulates when the TiVos are placed on top of each other without adding additional height. I had three S3 boxes and then 3 Premieres stacked and never had any temp issues with them.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:14 PM   #22
djwilso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 575
About the only thing I would allow on top of the TiVo is the Tuning Adapter.

I wouldn't want to test the weight limit on either of my TiVos.
__________________
Philips Series 1 HDR212, Nov 2001, never activated (retired)
Original OLED Series 3 (Lifetime) - Nov 2006, upgraded to 1TB in 2009
Premiere Elite/XL4 (Lifetime) - Oct 2011
djwilso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |