TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
hybucket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 477
Best Premiere pricing/lifetime around?

Found some older postings on this but nothing current. I have a TiVO HD and think it's time to go to Premiere (too much rebooting...). I have a lifetime on the HD. Anyone have any luck transferring the Lifetime to the new Premiere? The site lists $399 for lifetime..that seems high. That's about 2/12 years at their 12.95 level. Do they bargain?
hybucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:47 PM   #2
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,339
In my experience, no, they don't bargain. From what I also understand, you cannot transfer your Lifetime to a new box. Sucks, I know. I just replaced my two old Series 2 with two Premieres and I had to think about it for a week or so before I went ahead and got Lifetime on both. I asked about any discounts or multi-purchase discounts (since I was going to add Lifetime to both new boxes) to no avail.

They didn't reduce the monthly to $12.95 until shortly after I purchased mine so the numbers I had were a little better, in terms of how long it takes to pay for itself. ha! way to rationalize, eh?
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:14 PM   #3
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
Sell that Tivo HD on Ebay and make some money toward lifetime on a new box. HD's with lifetime on them are going for between $300 to $375 on Ebay these days.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:56 PM   #4
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
Sell that Tivo HD on Ebay and make some money toward lifetime on a new box. HD's with lifetime on them are going for between $300 to $375 on Ebay these days.
I would think the OP would need to fix the rebooting issue first to get those figures.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:00 PM   #5
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
I would think the OP would need to fix the rebooting issue first to get those figures.
Not always true. I've seen some with problems go for around that same amount, maybe a little less. The lifetime is what sells them.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:17 PM   #6
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,487
Your rebooting is LIKELY just the hard drive.. Get a new hard drive, copy your existing stuff to it (or not) with existing relatively easy to use tools... and most likely, your rebooting problems will be fixed.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |