TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
cglenn42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Series 2 Stuck on Welcome Screen - Fix

I started a new tread because the last one was in 2008!

After a 2 second power surge my Tivo was then stuck on the
"Welcome, Powering Up" screen for over 1/2 hour.

This is how I fixed the problem. WARNING - be sure you follow these steps or you will end up reformatting your Drive.

(1) Unplug the TIVO power cord

WARNING - be sure you perform step (1) before going to step (2) or you will end up reformatting your Drive.

(2) On the right side front of the TIVO is the 'Format' button
Hold the button in for about 30 seconds

(3) Let go of the button and plug the TIVO power cord back in

These steps drained the power from my TIVO

After a few minutes I was back watching my TIVO programs
cglenn42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:21 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,897
Are you sure its a Series 2? because they do not have a FORMAT button on the front.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:57 PM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by cglenn42 View Post
I started a new tread because the last one was in 2008!

After a 2 second power surge my Tivo was then stuck on the
"Welcome, Powering Up" screen for over 1/2 hour.

This is how I fixed the problem. WARNING - be sure you follow these steps or you will end up reformatting your Drive.

(1) Unplug the TIVO power cord

WARNING - be sure you perform step (1) before going to step (2) or you will end up reformatting your Drive.

(2) On the right side front of the TIVO is the 'Format' button
Hold the button in for about 30 seconds

(3) Let go of the button and plug the TIVO power cord back in

These steps drained the power from my TIVO

After a few minutes I was back watching my TIVO programs
As said above, the Series 2 Tivos do not have a format button.
The TivoHD has a format button on the front to the right side, but that button doesn't do what you think it does.
All it does is change the output resolution of the video.

Most likely, just the act of rebooting your Tivo fixed it.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 08:36 AM   #4
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
Is this post supposed to be a joke? April fools day was April 1st.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:12 AM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by cglenn42 View Post
I started a new tread because the last one was in 2008!

After a 2 second power surge my Tivo was then stuck on the
"Welcome, Powering Up" screen for over 1/2 hour.

This is how I fixed the problem. WARNING - be sure you follow these steps or you will end up reformatting your Drive.

(1) Unplug the TIVO power cord

WARNING - be sure you perform step (1) before going to step (2) or you will end up reformatting your Drive.

(2) On the right side front of the TIVO is the 'Format' button
Hold the button in for about 30 seconds

(3) Let go of the button and plug the TIVO power cord back in

These steps drained the power from my TIVO

After a few minutes I was back watching my TIVO programs
Do you perhaps have a replacement hard drive in that TiVo? A Western Digital Caviar Green, perchance? The one that has a problem with soft re-boots if you haven't disabled Intellipark on the drive before installing it in the TiVo?


If you want to drain the power from the TiVo, unplug the power cord from the wall socket and short the 2 prongs together, being absolutely certain you are not still in contact with the house's electrical system in any way.

This will drain off any charge on the capacitor(s) on the input side of the power supply.

(It's also quite unneccessary)

The motherboard and hard drive will have drained any charge off of the caps on the output side of the power supply.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |