TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2012, 01:38 AM   #1
sean33
Registered User
 
sean33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14
Broken Remote - Is this a good time to upgrade

I think my remote hit the ground one too many times so now a few select buttons won't work. I took apart the remote and cleaned with alcohol but no luck.

I've been toying with the idea of upgrading to the Premiere but I'm not sure if I should or not. I'm not on a lifetime, so I am paying $12 a month but I have upgraded the HDD. Looks like I can get service for $14 but I am leaning towards lifetime because I've kept my HD box for 4 years.

Should I just cough up the cash for a remote, or is now a good time to just make the plunge into Premiere? I can't decide.
sean33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:58 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,646
If you replace you old Tivo with a Premiere, you could be paying $19.99 for the subscription, if you buy a $99 Premiere (no lifetime). But on a $299 Premiere, you can get lifetime for $499.99.

It would be cheaper to get a replacement remote for about $20 or so, on the cheapest model.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:57 AM   #3
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,526
You can buy Tivo remotes on ebay for less than $10 shipped.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:53 AM   #4
Joe01880
I love my TiVo
 
Joe01880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
You can buy Tivo remotes on ebay for less than $10 shipped.
I have a lot of components in my H/T system. I find a Harmony One does a nice job of working eveything seemlessly.
__________________

Roamio Pro- $99 yearly grandfathered MSD
Premiere- 2TB w/PLS
TiVo HD- 2TB w/ PLS For Sale $350
Series 2- Just sittin around
DVR40- yours if you want it
Connected via Ethernet
FiOS

Joe01880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:45 AM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
If you replace you old Tivo with a Premiere, you could be paying $19.99 for the subscription, if you buy a $99 Premiere (no lifetime). But on a $299 Premiere, you can get lifetime for $499.99.

It would be cheaper to get a replacement remote for about $20 or so, on the cheapest model.
I don't think this is accurate for an existing customer. The OP can get a $99 premiere with lifetime for $399.

Plus, when they try to cancel the old one, they will likely get a $99 lifetime offer for that. Bonus, and great for selling or putting on a slightly used TV.

If they keep the old one in the same room, they can use the one remote for both.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:29 PM   #6
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe01880 View Post
I have a lot of components in my H/T system. I find a Harmony One does a nice job of working eveything seemlessly.
It's what I use as well. The Tivo remote is fine for controlling a Tivo and maybe a TV. It's neither practical or flexible enough for use with more than one or two components. Most Tivo remotes I've ever owned have never been taken out of the plastic bag.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:52 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean33 View Post
I think my remote hit the ground one too many times so now a few select buttons won't work. I took apart the remote and cleaned with alcohol but no luck.

I've been toying with the idea of upgrading to the Premiere but I'm not sure if I should or not. I'm not on a lifetime, so I am paying $12 a month but I have upgraded the HDD. Looks like I can get service for $14 but I am leaning towards lifetime because I've kept my HD box for 4 years.

Should I just cough up the cash for a remote, or is now a good time to just make the plunge into Premiere? I can't decide.
If you have a TCD652160 or TCD658000 you may be able to call TiVo and threaten to cancel and get lifetime on it for $99, there's a whole thread about this around here somewhere.

That will considerably increase its resale value.

Or you can keep it as a backup machine and to qualify you for the Multi-Set Discount on subscriptions on any other TiVos you acquire.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:36 AM   #8
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
... If they keep the old one in the same room, they can use the one remote for both.
Trying to use the remote that comes with the TP to control two TiVos in the same room would be a major PITA. No 1-2 switch.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 10:55 AM   #9
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,393
I don't do this. From the descriptions I have read it takes extra steps, but would not be in the "major PITA" category. It is button pushing, yes?
__________________
TiVo Owner

Last edited by jrtroo : 03-09-2012 at 03:56 PM.
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 11:07 AM   #10
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,028
Cover up the front of the remote, hold down pause and TiVo buttons until the LED comes on, then hit the number button corresponding to the remote code to which the TiVo you want to control is set. Which, IMHO, constitutes a major PITA.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:02 PM   #11
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Cover up the front of the remote, hold down pause and TiVo buttons until the LED comes on, then hit the number button corresponding to the remote code to which the TiVo you want to control is set. Which, IMHO, constitutes a major PITA.
Or you could simply program two Tivo remotes to control each Tivo individually. The best approach is to use a universal/programmable remote that you can teach the codes for each Tivo. You have to assign a specific code to each Tivo when using multiple Tivos in the same room because the default code witll override any other codeset and control all Tivos simultaneously.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:06 PM   #12
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Or you could simply program two Tivo remotes to control each Tivo individually.
Uh, yeah. But that would require having two working remotes. If you look at the title of the thread and the initial post, the OP's existing remote is broken.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:59 PM   #13
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Uh, yeah. But that would require having two working remotes. If you look at the title of the thread and the initial post, the OP's existing remote is broken.
Yeah, but I was responding to your post, not his. I've already posted a solution for the OP with regards to finding a replacement remote. Your post dealt with using multiple Tivos in the same room using a single remote.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 04:07 PM   #14
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Yeah, but I was responding to your post, not his. I've already posted a solution for the OP with regards to finding a replacement remote. Your post dealt with using multiple Tivos in the same room using a single remote.
And I was responding to a post addressing the OP's idea (in the initial post) of upgrading to a Premiere. jrtroo suggested he could keep both TiVos, have them in the same room, and use the new remote to control both TiVos.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:07 PM   #15
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean33 View Post
I think my remote hit the ground one too many times so now a few select buttons won't work. I took apart the remote and cleaned with alcohol but no luck.

I've been toying with the idea of upgrading to the Premiere but I'm not sure if I should or not. I'm not on a lifetime, so I am paying $12 a month but I have upgraded the HDD. Looks like I can get service for $14 but I am leaning towards lifetime because I've kept my HD box for 4 years.

Should I just cough up the cash for a remote, or is now a good time to just make the plunge into Premiere? I can't decide.
If some buttons quit due to impact rather than use, get a bight light and a magnifying glass and inspect all the soldered joints.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 06:53 PM   #16
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,966
It's as good a time to upgrade as any, but a broken remote is not a good reason, nor even a convincing excuse.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:50 PM   #17
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,646
Use the Remote, Luke!
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:11 PM   #18
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
It's as good a time to upgrade as any, but a broken remote is not a good reason, nor even a convincing excuse.
Hush, he's almost got his significant other talked into it.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |