TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2012, 05:45 PM   #1
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,923
daily manual recording shows up 15 times in history..why

every day 530 for 5 min i have a channel set so it's on that channel when i get up. yes i know i could just record that show but thats not the point

going ahead in the history to check out conflicts, i've noticed some days the manual recording shows up 15 times, sometimes 3 sometimes any assorted number of times....the few i've checked says program no longer in guide data

i didnt think guide data mattered and even if it did, why does it show up in the history about 15 times every day.


EDIT, I DO NOT HAVE NEW SOFTWARE
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter

Last edited by newsposter : 01-13-2012 at 06:59 AM.
newsposter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:12 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
Yes it's a new "feature" of 20.2 software. I posted about it in "The 20.2 changelog thread" as a bug but it went pretty much ignored:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...30#post8891130

I think perhaps not too many people have/use repeating manual recordings which is why it hasn't been posted about more. It definitely is a bug though and an annoying one at that. It basically makes Recording History even more cluttered that it already traditionally was and all but useless now with this added bug.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:47 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
Has anyone tried canceling and the resetting up their repeat manual recordings? I'm wondering if this bug is related to the upgrade process and might be fixed by deleting and resetting the manual recordings.

If not then I might try this on mine and see if it helps. (although I may have to wait a couple weeks for the recording history completely cycle before I see results)

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:04 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Has anyone tried canceling and the resetting up their repeat manual recordings? I'm wondering if this bug is related to the upgrade process and might be fixed by deleting and resetting the manual recordings.

If not then I might try this on mine and see if it helps. (although I may have to wait a couple weeks for the recording history completely cycle before I see results)

Dan
Haven't tried that but sounds like something worth trying. In my case there's only 2 such recordings to setup so not too difficult to do.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:55 PM   #5
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
OK, just removed my repeat manual recordings and set them up again. As mentioned it will probably take a while to clear out the current screwed up history if it does indeed work (which I have my doubts about).
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 02:03 AM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
Let us know

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:59 AM   #7
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,923
i do not have new software
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:40 AM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
It may have been a bug introduced in 14.9.2 software.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:01 PM   #9
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
It may have been a bug introduced in 14.9.2 software.
i do not wish to be introduced to any bugs, how do i opt out?
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 02:37 PM   #10
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsposter View Post
i do not wish to be introduced to any bugs, how do i opt out?


you can't
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 05:28 PM   #11
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost View Post
you can't
the delivery of my joke didnt come thru well
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:05 AM   #12
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
Well re-entering repeat manual record only seems to have made things worse. In fact I entered a new repeat manual record for Merlin once a week on Fridays (since guide listings list Original Air Date when aired in UK and hence SP without repeats won't record them) and now I see 33 consecutive entries in "Recording History" stating that "won't record because no longer in guide". Ridiculous bug...
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:30 AM   #13
Dr_Diablo
Dr_Diablo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Has anyone tried canceling and the resetting up their repeat manual recordings? I'm wondering if this bug is related to the upgrade process and might be fixed by deleting and resetting the manual recordings.

If not then I might try this on mine and see if it helps. (although I may have to wait a couple weeks for the recording history completely cycle before I see results)

Dan
Yovo says this is a signal strength too high and or a defective cabkecard..

Personally I feel they have no clue an are just told this BS to get cusomers off there back side
Dr_Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:56 PM   #14
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,923
a week ago i made 6 new manual recordings, forgetting about this issue..checked history and wow...pages and pages of each recording and why the same one isnt recording
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:57 PM   #15
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsposter View Post
a week ago i made 6 new manual recordings, forgetting about this issue..checked history and wow...pages and pages of each recording and why the same one isnt recording
Yes this issue really blows. Makes the Recording History screen all but useless... I only have 2 repeat manual recordings but 1 of them is every week day so my Recording History is inundated with crap.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:39 AM   #16
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,923
i now have new software and same issue remains
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:51 AM   #17
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
Because of this bug I actually gave up using repeat manual recordings and went back to using season pass set to record "first run & repeats". It's not as effective but I'll learn to live with duplicates and old shows I've already seen. I only did this a couple of days ago so my Recording History is still polluted with a bunch of junk. Hopefully in 2 weeks time it will clear up and look reasonable again.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |